We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I chose to stay at the Richmond Hill Hotel when I visited Melbourne in August 2012 as it was very close to where my son lived. I looked at the photos and read the reviews on Trip Advisor and was very impressed when I got out of the taxi on arrival. I checked in and was lead through a labyrinth to my room at the back of the hotel. It reminded me of Prisoner!! I was devastated. The bed almost filled the entire room, there was no wardrobe, only a hanging rack and the window was difficult to open. The bathroom was reasonable but again, not to my standard. I also worried about being trapped in the bowels of the hotel if there was a fire! I spent a sleepless night waiting for dawn so I could relocate which I did after a meagre and noisy breakfast. I would rate this hotel as a backpackers only and there were quite a few backpackers staying there at the time. The outside of the building is lovely but is let down by the dinginess of the rooms within.

Room Tip: Choose carefully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    98
    36
    16
    12
See reviews for
39
76
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't expect the Hilton, it used to be a grand Melbourne home so a lot of the rooms are small but it is clean and friendly place to stay. We stayed with our 15 year old sun for the tennis and we had a connecting room with a small ensuite and it was perfect. It's close to bargain shopping in Bridge Road and you can walk to the sports precint, tennis, AFL, football etc. There is a tram stop outside the rood which takes you to South Yarra and St Kilda. The free continental breakfast is also good, fruit, porridge cereal and toast with juice and coffee is really all you need in a hurry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booyaka619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Firstly, staff were lovely, location not bad, front view of Hotel "classic aussie home" beautiful. That's where it ends, stairs to room nightmare with bags, it's a maze to find your room. We were in room 64, it had sash window that didn't close properly, no air conditioner, room very small. It was clean and we new we had to share bathroom, but it was so noisy at night, we had drunk women outside our window or sounded like she was anyway. Cars could be heard to in early hours of morning. We didnt sleep well so asked for another room but no luck. So took a risk and did a mystery room and for $30 extra a night got an apartment in the Melbourne CBD, minus breakfast but hey we had a kitchen and a washing machine we didn't need breakfast. Be sure to check out other property deals before booking this hotel. Sorry to be so harsh but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe an ensuite front balcony room would be better, but didn't get a chance to view but looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked a room without ensuite and were given a small studio with an ensuite. Although the room was small-ish, it was comfortable, clean and felt like a spare bedroom in someone's home, not a motel. It had character! The location is fantastic, less than 10 minutes by train from Melbourne CBD, and between Swan and Bridge sts which have endless shops, bars and restaurants. The 78 tram runs straight by as well, which takes you to Chapel St and St Kilda. Our room at the back of the hotel was extremely quiet and the hotel is set amongst leafy trees and plants.
The continental breakfast was outstanding, delicious breads and jams. Don't hold your breath over the coffee though!
The staff were always helpful and cheerful.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as it was central to our needs as we were attending a 60th birthday function. Price wise it was very reasonable for city accommodation and suited everyone's budget. The price also included a hearty continental breakfast. Rooms were a bit on the small size but were adequate although a bit dated. There are apparently different standards of room depending on how much you were prepared to pay. The few days we were there temperatures varied between 12 and 32 degrees and while our room had aircon we could not use it as the control units were held by management because "it wasn't summer". This was our only complaint.

The hotel is close to all amenities and the city and also includes free car parking. An excellent location for anyone visiting Melbourne and not wanting to stay in an upmarket hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back part of the hotel which appeared to be the quietest part of this establishment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have stayed here about 5 times with family and friends.Perfect for all types of accommodation from backpackers to private rooms.Have stayed in all types of rooms within the hotel and have never had a problem.Quite location and close to the city.Tram outside the door takes you to St Kilda via Chapel Street ..or go down to Bridge street and after doing some shopping and eating just catch any of the trams into the city.Being a muisc nut it is close to the corner hotel great place to see a band and in the summer try the beer garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are good ones upstairs at the front do have a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a really great value comfortable place with a lovely common room including a fireplace together with the absolutely best continental breakfast you'll ever find.

The staff are friendly and willing to help to make sure everything goes well and always have a welcoming smile and 'hello'.

There's a city tram just down the street so it's very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Adara East Melbourne
#113 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#67 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing