We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent; a quiet residential area with restaurants and cafes nearby. The public rooms are lovely and the breakfast was an added bonus. The rooms were clean and quiet. The only downside is that the room included no phone and I was not clear on how to operate the TV and cable (both had separate remotes). I chose the non-ensuite option, but the bathrooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the building and an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is in Church Street between Bridge and Swan Streets Richmond. If you want to shop or eat or to sightsee Melbourne you could hardly be better situated. We took a room with an ensuite, which I'd recommend. The room was plain but comfortable and very quiet. The building is historic with some lovely public rooms. There is a generous continental breakfast and the staff couldn't be more pleasant. There are 3 tram lines and 1 railway line within easy walking distance and numerous routes. It's only a couple of kilometres into the centre if you prefer to walk. That will certainly be my base on future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bariloche48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My Husband and I were down to Richmond from country vic to see a Gig and wanted somewhere close to the main street and somewhere to 'crash'. The hotel was excellent value for money, clean, tidy, friendly staff, parking and breaky included. It was on the main st, yet very quiet and for $130 bucks it was ideal. Great place to stay overall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We chose the Richmond Hill Hotel for it's location.

The hotel is an easy walk to Bridge road, bargain shoppers paradise! Also a short stroll to Swan Street for our friend's birthday celebrations at Agapi Greek Restaurant.

Reasonably priced but at AUD$155 a short tram ride to the city, may have paid around the same for a larger room.

Our room was quite away from the front of the hotel so the busy traffic could not be heard. Huge King size bed and very comfy.

The bathroom is compact, step through the door and swivel left to the shower or swivel right to the toilet or just half a step further to the wash basin. Small desk with the tv above it as well as tea and coffee making facilities but a kettle that actually fits beneath the tap would make the process a lot quicker.

The Hotel itself has a lovely lounge area with open fire where we sat and enjoyed a drink after checking in. The bar is quite tiny but the beer was cold and is also opened until around midnight. Guests are also welcome to help themselves to the complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge area.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the front rooms with balcony, especially in warmer weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaldricandBaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel itself is nice looking from the outside but its average on the inside.
The staff are friendly, helpful and my room was clean and quiet. I would stay there again as its a 2 min walk to Pubs and Restaurants and very close to the AAMI stadium and the MCG.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 221MikeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed with my young daughter and found the accommodation was great. Perfect for our needs. At $139 for a twin ensuite room, including b'fast and free parking, I couldn't fault it. Located between Bridge and Swan Streets, lots of dining options within a short walk. Rooms were all we needed - comfy beds, kettle, small fridge, ceiling fan, quality reading lights - and very clean. Lots of storage in the bathroom area. Yes, an older style property so 'a bit of a rabbit warren', and up and down stairs to our room, but that added to the charm. Thick walls meant road noise for us wasn't a bother. Breakfast was fabulous - yummy porridge, an array of preserved fruits, great selection of breads and jams, quality tea etc. Friendly staff who were most helpful.
Would recommend it to others who are after something 'not too flash' but certainly not dodgy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryandTheGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you are looking for well located budget accomodation in Melbourne, you cant go past this hotel. The rooms are plain, basic but comfortable and importantly, very clean. The bed is comfortable, pillows average and towels are the small kind. There are no hairdryers, irons or ironing boards in the rooms but when I called down to reception, a hair dryer was delivered to my room before I could blink! There are also communal ironing rooms/laundry.

It is a large rambling building with a very pretty facade with endless corridors and some stairs so it does take a little time to find your way around. There is also some free off-street parking but of you miss out on those spots you can park on the side of Church Street opposite the hotel where there are no meters/time limits. So few inner city hotels have free parking so this is a big plus as I drive in from the country.

The staff are great -- very friendly and better service than you get in most 4+ stars.

Breakfast is served in a large room that spills out on to the attractive ground floor terrace. It's a very generous continental breakfast with cereals, juice, tinned fruit, a selection of bread for toast, waffles, tea and coffee. There is a choice of spreads and if you look carefully, you will find a treasure like Yackandandah Raspberry jam. Yumm!

Location is great with a tram stop almost outside. On this tram you can go south to trendy Chapel Street or north to bridge road for outlet shopping or a few minutes further north, Victoria Street - home to a gazillion Vietnamese restaurants and food stores. I walked a few minutes down the hill and had a lovely dinner in a French restaurant in Swan Street. On Swan Street you can also catch a tram direct to the heart of the city - only about 10 minutes away.

I thought it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property if you are sensitive to traffic noise - Church Street is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
395 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Court Boutique
#145 of 161 in Melbourne
229 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing