We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but that is all”
Review of Adara Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adara Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Quest Richmond for 1 night during a recent trip to Melbourne, and I'm thankful that it was for only 1 night.

The property is in a great location just off Bridge Rd, so is close to trains and trams. You have all sorts of options for eating/drinking on Bridge Rd, with the CBD, Swan St and Victoria St also just short trips away.

What is disappointing is the state of the property. The only way I can describe the room I was in is dirty. Mould around the window frames and in some of the kitchen cupboards, balls of hair and dust in the corners of the bathroom, the back of the bathroom door looked like it had not been cleaned in a very long time, some of the cups had not been properly cleaned and the oven tray had to be washed before I could use it.

In addition there was not a full set of coat hangers, dishes left in the dishwasher and a compendium that told guests how to buy a metcard (a system that has not been in operation for over 6 months) and gave tips of things to do in 2009.

Overall a very disappointing stay, and in no way up to the normal Quest standards

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. If that is important to you make sure you request one
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We are appreciative of your feedback following your recent stay at Quest Richmond and are disappointed that our standards did not provide the level of service we strive to achieve.

We regret your poor experience in our apartments, please rest assured your observations have been shared with our housekeeping team leaders to address accordingly with our team. We have also increased our room audits to ensure that the standards that have been set from when training has been conducted, continue to be met.

With relation to the feedback for our compendium, this will be passed on for our Front Office Team to update, so that it includes information regarding Myki, to reflect the changes made in our public transport system.

We are pleased to hear that you found the location to be of use to yourself and hope that during your time with us, were able to enjoy all that Bridge Rd and Richmond has to offer.

We wish to welcome you back to Quest Richmond to ensure you receive the correct level of service you had intended.

If you would like to make contact with myself directly, I will be sure to help you.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
03 9267 1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Adara Richmond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 weeks. Very comfortable and close to Epworth Hospital. I felt safe and could cook a meal and wash and dry clothing. Apartments are not serviced on Sundays and sheets were charged around every 4 to 5 days unless requested. It was reasonable, friendly and well located. When paying bill watch that you are not charged for extras that you didn't have. Extras that we're overcharged added up to around $80. They did adjust on checkout after I pointed out that we didn't have parking, extras etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blossie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest R, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of Quest Richmond. It’s great to see that you chose to stay with us here, as we are in such close proximity to the Epworth Hospital, it would have taken the stress out of the daily commute I’m sure.

As you mentioned, we are an ideal option for a longer stay as all apartments are equipped with private cooking and laundry facilities, which is very cost effective for guests. As we are a smaller team, guests will often see the same faces at both reception and working in housekeeping. This really helps to create a relaxed, ‘Family like feel’, similar to what you might experience at home.

It is Quest standard that each apartment is provided a major service every 4 days (beds sheets changed, floors vacuumed), with minor services being completed daily (Rubbish bins and towels changed). We can certainly alter this to accommodate specific guests requests. Please let us know the next time you stay with us if you would like your room servicing altered.

As we like to remain cost effective and competitive within the property market, we often release quite a few packages that offer inclusions such as late check out or internet access. In line with this, we have also introduced a new procedure within our front office operations in which we need to adjust the final invoice, to make sure that your inclusions are not charged. It’s good that the additional charges were brought to our attention so that we could take them off and ensure you were not charged for these.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Richmond, Hopefully for a leisure stay next time.

Kindest Regards
Kirsten Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Do not disturb sign up and staff just walk in twice. King bed was two singles zipped uncomfortable and old or cheap. Was on the second floor but the reversing beeper from trucks and forklifts next door was to much.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madman187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest R, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property online. Feedback from our past guests is a pivotal part in ensuring that our property continues to grow and improve in anyway that we can.

We apologise that the team at Quest Richmond entered your room twice, as the sign that you displayed on your door is to indicate otherwise. This is certainly not the standard that we set for ourselves. Your feedback will most definitely be passed on to our team at the next meeting.

Please contact me directly to secure your next reservation so that I can ensure that your next stay is more comfortable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Good value hotel code to the city - 10 min tram ride to centre of Melbourne - so nice and quiet but close to everything. Staff were friendly, rooms very clean and modern. More like serviced apartments - mine had a washing machine and dryer. Great cafe's just around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest R, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property online.

It's great that you found our staff to be friendly as we always aim to provide outstanding customer service.

All of our apartments have private laundry and cooking facilities, which make for a stay that is convenient and "stress free". This is a great option for families (not to mention cost effective) in particular as our guests do not need to dine out every night of their stay.

The location of our property is fantastic in relation to Bridge Rd and close proximity to trams that commute directly into the CBD.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Kirsten Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Quest Richmond for 4 nights. Self contained accommodation is difficult to find in Australia but Quest is a reliable provider and the standard of our 1 bed apartment was pretty good. Comfy bed, good cooking facilities, washing machine and dishwasher. The location was great, very close to shops, restaurants and to transport links to the City. There is parking available but it is limited and at an extra charge
What really makes the place however is the staff who were unfailingly helpful and friendly.
Not the cheapest by any means but worth it!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second storey to help reduce traffic noise. Book parking when you book your roo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest R, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review Quest Richmond online, this is one of the key factors in finding ways to improve our business.

I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you had time to soak up all that Richmond has to offer. The team members of Quest Richmond pride ourselves on providing our guests with outstanding customer service, to ensure a ‘home away from home’ feel is provided. This is also reflected with the facilities of our apartments. As you mentioned your apartment (as all our apartments) are equipt with private laundry and cooking facilities. If you don’t feel like cooking, there are is plethora of eateries within close walking distance to our property.

It’s wonderful that you found our staff members friendly and helpful as we love to work in such a great place. It’s good to know that it’s displayed in our actions/services towards our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming another regular of Quest Richmond back with open arms.

Many Thanks
Kirsten Wheeler
Front Office Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Several members of my family stayed here while my son was a patient at the Epworth Hospital.
The location of the Quest Richmond is in a very convenient location and the Quest and surrounding businesses provided us with all that was needed.
The housekeeping staff were particularly helpful, polite and friendly.
There were two things which we found quite annoying though........one was that there is a 1.5% surcharge added for the use of a credit card, and this mounts up when you already have a large bill........and the second was when we were contacted the day after we had checked out to ask if we had used a cereal pack which was apparently missing from the fridge(?). I didn't realise that one of the other members of my family had used it before the rest of us had arrived.
I realise too that one has to pay for what you use, but I paid out almost $4000.00 in accommodation for the twelve days we were there, and this query over a $10 (plus 1.5%!) breakfast pack seemed nothing short of trivial and greedy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taurus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback to Quest Richmond with relation to your stay with us. We appreciate guests feedback to our property as we can continue to imrpove our services and ensure you leave with a great impression.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The 1.5% credit card surcharge has been a hotel standard since 2011 and is in place at all major hotels and hotel chains around Australia. This is not stricly a hotel surcharge, unfortunately it's more so a passed on fee that we incur from financial institutions. There is no surchage on EFTPOS payments, or on cash payments, which again is consistant in hotels around the country.

It may not have been evident to the team member that had contact you, the value of your stay with us. Please contact me personally on 03 9267 1000 as I would like to discuss this further.

Thank you
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If your looking for a place to stay where you can go to the footy, go shopping, have a great meal then you would be staying at the right place. The hotel isn't fancy, but you get what you pay for. It is clean and has everything you need.We stay there several times a year to visit family. With a family the 2 bedroom suites are fabulous. The trams are 200 metres away which takes you straigt to the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fantastic sights and sounds of Richmond. As you mentioned, we are just a hop, skip and jump away from the entertainment and sporting precinct.

As serviced apartments, we pride ourselves on offering a place suitable for families, as well as being cost effective. As all of our apartments have private laundry and cooking facilities, this a great option for those who want to save a little extra by cooking their own meals, particularly families.

It’s fantastic to see our guests return year after year and are looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Kindest Regards
Kirsten Wheeler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
215 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 160 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#78 of 160 in Melbourne
958 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 160 in Melbourne
1,659 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Richmond

Address: 185 - 191 Lennox St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Quest Richmond)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $93 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adara Richmond 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adara Richmond is the epitome of contemporary and spacious inner-city serviced apartment living. Located along the Bridge Rd fashion and cafe strip, and only a five minute tram ride from Australia's premier sporting precinct and the CBD, you will be immersed in true Melburnian culture. Directly opposite the Epworth Hospital, Adara Richmond is the accommodation of choice for hospital guests and visitors. We have studios, one and two bedroom and executive apartments with full kitchens, washers and dryers, and high-speed WiFi in every room. Our highly trained staff are on call to arrange pantry shopping, fax and photocopying services, and car and taxi hire. Got a special request? All Adara Richmond apartments can be configured to suit your specific living requirements. We're proud to show off our newly updated gym to all Adara Richmond guests, and business travellers will have access to our exclusive corporate lounge and conference room. Adara Richmond has everything you need for business and leisure, allowing you to create your ideal home away from home. As many of our guests are corporate travellers we provide exclusive services to help you do business. With fast WiFi and easy-access power points in every apartment, our rooms were created with contemporary business needs in mind. Adara Richmond features a conference room and corporate lounge which can be booked upon request and customised to suit your needs. Meetings and events Adara Richmond can cater for events of all types and sizes. Our large, light-filled conference room can be set up in boardroom, classroom or theatre style, while accommodating up to 70 people. We can assist in your event planning by providing fresh, high-quality catering options and by supplying AV equipment, in addition to the in-room projector and screen, upon request. The adjoining business lounge is open for breakfast between Monday-Friday 7am-9am for corporate guests, and can be booked at all other times. The lounge features several sofas and a large screen TV, and is the perfect place for sports and business groups to unwind. Hotel Features Getting around is easy when you stay with Adara Richmond. Stroll through the Treasury Gardens, take a short taxi ride, or jump on the 75 or 48 tram to travel into the CBD. Make sure you purchase a Myki public transport card at reception prior to using trains or trams in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adara Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Richmond Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing