We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adara Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adara Richmond
Ranked #1 of 3 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I can only say that our recent stay in a one bedroom apartment was a most disappointing experience. The size and comfort of the bed was our greatest concern. The bed was extremely small and the mattress was hard and uncomfortable. When combined with the noise from Lennox Street our sleep was anything but restful. A further factor that did not enhance our Quest experience was a bathroom door that was incredibly difficult to open and close. I had to continually call out to my husband for help sliding open the door. This issue was of course promptly reported to the reception desk. We were informed that housekeeping would look at it first and it would be reported to maintenance. The matter was not attended to during our stay. Unlike other reviewers I can only state that our bathroom was very small and compact.
On a more positive note the location is great for shopping and eating on Bridge Road. We are frequent visitors to Melbourne but will choose other accommodation in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoochAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you like Quest Richmond's location. Indeed, Bridge Road is a fantastic shopping and dining street, only 15 minutes away from Melbourne city.

We are sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us whilst staying at Quest Richmond and are disappointed that we have not been able to provide you with a satisfactory experience.

Firstly, we will like to highlight that we have various rooms categories and our spacious one bedroom executive apartment may suit your needs better. Further to your feedback, we have reviewed the mattress and the bathroom sliding door and have scheduled for works to take place. As part of our refurbishment program, mattresses will be progressively changed over from February 2013.

In addition, we have also reviewed our internal communication process to ensure that all maintenance are promptly followed up with.

Please feel free to contact myself at T: 039267 1000 when you next plan to return as we will take to take this opportunity to welcome you back to the property to experience our true level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
33
78
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed for four nights here, as I was attending a course in Abbotsford, and couldn't be happier. My accommodation package included free wifi, which was perfect as I was travelling with my ipad, and was also a very short walk to Bridge Road.

On a side note, I was a little concerned that there seemed to be quite a high number of empty retail spaces along Bridge Road, which ruins its reputation as being a shoppers paradise (I believe). I didn't have a lot of time for shopping but noticed this lack whilst walking around in the evenings.

My room was very spacious and I enjoyed having a separate living space and kitchen to unwind at the end of each day.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Property Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent feedback that you posted after your stay with us at Quest Richmond.
I am pleased that the accommodation package including the free wi fi was of good use to yourself. It’s our pleasure to offer this service to our guests!

I’ve also taken note of your comments regarding the empty retail spaces along Bridge Road.

It’s true that within the local community, Bridge Road is known for being a shopping Mecca. Offering many visitors discounts on an array of different items. At this time of year, we often see shop fronts (particularly the retail) changing to keep up with the latest trends in Melbourne to ensure that Bridge Road maintains it’s healthy reputation. This is an ongoing transformation throughout the area, which can, at times, mean , fewer shops are open.

I hope that during your stay here, you were able to find a few items that suited you and who knows what treasures you might find the next time you are here at Quest Richmond with Bride Roads ever changing culture.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
03 9267 1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose to stay here because we needed to be in Richmond - the location is fine and handy to tram stops although there were some downsides to it such as a lack of good cafes for breakfast nearby (the good one we found didn't open until 8.30, which was inconvenient) and the noise from Bridge Rd and the apartment building next door. Our room wasn't on the Lennox St side it faced right out onto the apartment building so not the best outlook.

We had a one bedroom apartment and it had everything you could need and would expect from a serviced apartment. The room was tidy and modern although lots of signs of wear and tear like marked furniture and greying tiles in the bathroom. The room was kind of dark too with no natural light in the bedroom.

We had free wifi with our room package which was handy.

Overall the reasonable price makes it an appealing, good value option and I'd stay there again if I needed to be in that part of town. It's a good solid four star but don't expect anything more than that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnynz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, General Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill in the Trip Advisor feedback.

We do rely upon guest feedback to ensure we can always better our service and facilities at the property.

We currently are running through a mini refurb program which involves repainting the rooms and corridors.

If you are to visit Quest Richmond again, I would be more than happy to help with choosing the best room suited to your requirements.

If you would like to get in contact with me I will also mention in your guest profile the room type/ style you prefer. That way whenever you need to book with Quest Richmond your guest profile notes will state your preferred room.

Once again thank you for providing feedback and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
0392671000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend away in Melbourne. We stayed at the Quest Richmond apartments for two nights. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The facilities are modern and fresh, the apartments are quite spacious and very comfortable. Check in was smooth and all staff we dealt with for the duration of our stay were friendly and helpful. Our room fronted onto Lennox St and as we were on the ground floor there was a little bit of noise outside, but it didn't go through the whole night. The apartments seemed to be well sound proofed as we hardly heard any noise from other guests. The rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom and kitchenette, although my only complaint is that there was no toaster provided. The location is ideal, shops and restaurants are literally at your doorstep. Whilst car parking is limited, we had no trouble booking a spot. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
As we are currently undergoing a mini refurb, your feedback is appreciated as you may have stayed in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

We thank you for the feedback with relation to the team and I will be sure to pass this onto all team members.

Many Thanks,

Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Quest Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this time in a 1 Bedroom apartment on 2nd floor once again facing Lennox St The apartment looked like it had just been refurbished and was very spacious modern and clean Even though we did not cook there the kitchen had everything in it that you would need. The balcony with the table and chairs was nice especially in the afternoon sitting there in the sun with a wine.The lounge had a lovely big TV and there was a smaller one in the bedroom as well. Bathroom was spacious with shower over bath and also washing machine and drier in there. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us Met the manager Renee who was very courteous and professional She even left some chocolates and small bottle of red wine to welcome us back which I thought was a really lovely gesture. As I have said in my previous review the location is great and if ever we are in Melbourne would certainly stay without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you once again for providing a raving review.

It was great to meet you upon your check in and be able to accommodate all your needs and requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
284 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Like other reviewers I had a couple of minor issues - a badly stained carpet and the lack of a plug for the sink, but the added extras that come with a studio apartment - like a DVD player, toaster etc more than made up for this in a three day stay.
Staff at reception were friendly and professional both on the phone and in person. The location for anyone doing business near Richmond is terrific. The room was quiet at night. Cafes nearby, and of course, if you are that way inclined - lots of factory outlets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for filling in feedback about Quest Richmond.

We strive to provide the best customer service possible to all our guests who stay at the property and really appreciate the time you have taken to do so.

Currently the property has ongoing mini refurbishment works which will incorporate all your concerns you have raised.

We thank you for your support and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the property.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were met with very polite friendly staff, the rooms are clean, modern and very spacious, we had a room with a balcony facing Lennox St, the balcony with its table and two chairs was a great place to relax and unwind at the end of the day with a glass of wine. If you like shopping apart from being a 10 minute tram ride from the city, the hotel is right next to Bridge Rd a very lengthy shopping area to suit all needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Lennox St with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Quest Richmond.

I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and were able to relax and enjoy the advantages of having a one bedroom executive room with a balcony.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property, hopefully in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Richmond

Property: Adara Richmond
Address: 185 - 191 Lennox St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Quest Richmond)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adara Richmond 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adara Richmond is the epitome of contemporary and spacious inner-city serviced apartment living. Located along the Bridge Rd fashion and cafe strip, and only a five minute tram ride from Australia's premier sporting precinct and the CBD, you will be immersed in true Melburnian culture. Directly opposite the Epworth Hospital, Adara Richmond is the accommodation of choice for hospital guests and visitors. We have studios, one and two bedroom and executive apartments with full kitchens, washers and dryers, and high-speed WiFi in every room. Our highly trained staff are on call to arrange pantry shopping, fax and photocopying services, and car and taxi hire. Got a special request? All Adara Richmond apartments can be configured to suit your specific living requirements. We're proud to show off our newly updated gym to all Adara Richmond guests, and business travellers will have access to our exclusive corporate lounge and conference room. Adara Richmond has everything you need for business and leisure, allowing you to create your ideal home away from home. As many of our guests are corporate travellers we provide exclusive services to help you do business. With fast WiFi and easy-access power points in every apartment, our rooms were created with contemporary business needs in mind. Adara Richmond features a conference room and corporate lounge which can be booked upon request and customised to suit your needs. Meetings and events Adara Richmond can cater for events of all types and sizes. Our large, light-filled conference room can be set up in boardroom, classroom or theatre style, while accommodating up to 70 people. We can assist in your event planning by providing fresh, high-quality catering options and by supplying AV equipment, in addition to the in-room projector and screen, upon request. The adjoining business lounge is open for breakfast between Monday-Friday 7am-9am for corporate guests, and can be booked at all other times. The lounge features several sofas and a large screen TV, and is the perfect place for sports and business groups to unwind. Hotel Features Getting around is easy when you stay with Adara Richmond. Stroll through the Treasury Gardens, take a short taxi ride, or jump on the 75 or 48 tram to travel into the CBD. Make sure you purchase a Myki public transport card at reception prior to using trains or trams in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Adara Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Richmond Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing