We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Adara Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adara Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Richmond B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed here only for 1 night on business but wished it were longer. The hotel is just off Bridge Road where all the great shopping is and is close to cafes & restaurants too.

The staff were very friendly and more than happy to help with anything which was also great to see.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, well equipped with kitchen and internal laundry. The rooms themselves were very quiet even though you are located close to all the action.

A couple of small things in the rooms which were a little odd - the iron doesn't fill easily with water at all and the soap dish was broken but all very, very minor things in an otherwise fantastic stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    92
    31
    17
    11
See reviews for
38
83
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

If you are in Melbourne on a family holiday (to watch an AFL game for instance, like some of the customers here), or for work (like myself and a few others), I would highly recommend the Quest in Richmond.
First off, the location is perfect. You are about 20 minutes away by walking from Federation Square, 10 minutes away from the Melbourne Cricket Ground and right in the heart of Richmond, possibly one of the cuttest area a city can offer. You are close to the tram and the metro, as well as plenty of pretty good restaurants. The general feeling of the area is probably better than the Quest on Lonsdale (in the heart of the city, but in the shade of the tall modern buildings).
The hotel itself is great, very modern, the service is perfect, the personnel is discrete and helpful (they were ready to print about 30 pages of documents for me, and they had prepared my arrival for 5 am).
The suite I was in was particularly nice. I had a fully equipped kitchen with a dishwasher and a washing machine and dryer, as well as a living room with a comfortable couch and a clean well equiped room adjacent to a bathroom. Also clean and equipped.
Really, the only detail that bothered me was the minibar. If you have any self respect do not touch any of it. For 25 dollars you can buy much better wine down the street (Trentham Pinot Noir, 12 dollars, very decent), for a quarter of the price you'll get the same cadbury bar, and if you go a couple of streets away you will find a top notch beer store with "Murray's Grand Cru" which blasts anything they dared put in my fridge. Really. Just go buy Murray's Grand Cru. It'll blow your mind.

So Quest Richmond: great location, great standard, clean, good service, but lame minibar. However the neighbourhood makes up for it. And go to the beer store down Bridge road.

Also when getting to the hotel, if you have time and are travelling alone don't waste your money on a 20 (or is it more?) dollar coach when you have a perfectly good bus going from the Tiger Terminal to the metro station. Then you take the metro into the city, change at Flinders Street and take any train that stops at Richmond. You walk ten minutes and you're there.

Room Tip: Ask for 216, you'll get the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorSeptimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Having written a previous review in which I expressed disappointment with my treatment at this hotel, I have since received a letter of apology and a voucher for a free night 's stay. I am pleased that Quest have looked into the problems and are going to rectify the inadequacies I experienced. A good outcome for all!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salpal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The building is good in many ways but the overall experience is marred by avoidable problems. Some staff were helpful and tried hard. Others made serious mistakes (over charge on bill or mixed up dates) and a couple were rude. It was surprising not to be greeted as you walk through reception, as if the guests are invisible. Most serious problem is the bathroom - high bath, marble-type floor, glass partition, no hand rail. This is the main reason I don't return - it's seriously likely to result in real grief without a hand rail. One room smelt of very strong chemicals. Also, no noise policy to protect guests. Very unfair when people have a party in the room next door and you are paying top dollar for their noise. Cleaners did not lock room properly on some occasions. No clothes drying racks in the rooms so if your clothes can't go in the clothes dryer, you have to dry them on the furniture - quite extraordinary lack of consideration of guest's needs. It gave the impression of a stressful work environment. Overall, it's ok-good but in real need of much better management and staff training.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setanta1975, General Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Hello,

Can I please clarify when you stayed? You claim to have stayed in July 2010, then you became a Trip Advisor member in September 2010, then in January 2011 you posted a review of our property?

The reason I seek clarification is that I have turned over the team that was here in July. They are no longer here, instead replaced by an experienced and willing group of people.
But i am puzzled as to why you waited 6 months to post a review?

Paul Neilsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Made the booking over the phone for two days and was offered a "special rate" - can understand why! Beware room 15 located on ground floor overlooking back lane and goods delivery for Thomas Dux supermarket. Woken early morning when a large truck pulled up outside my room window and unloaded goods with much noise. Room was gloomy and windows very dirty. Bed was uncomfortable and had a ridge down the middle where two single beds had been joined together. Clearly best rooms are overlooking Lennox Street. Lesson learnt - beware of specials!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We chose Quest Richmond due to having a medical procedure at the Epworth Hospital. Nice room but the bed, in our opinion, was very uncomfortable. We both woke with sore backs the 2 nights we stayed. Also, if you are considering staying here, try to avoid room 223. It is located right next to the adjoining dentistry practice's sign that, for some reason, is turned on from 8pm to 6am every night and shines brightly into the rooms windows. Very annoying.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin425452w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The only thing that this establishment has going for it is its location!
The staff were so appalling, words can not explain. I'm not a rude or pushy person, just like to get what I'm paying. The attittude on the the staff here, including the manager, left a lot to be desired. Very unprofessional- using the computer & not even acknowledging that we were standing there, finish off talking amongst themselves before serving, giving us attitude & excuses and making it out like it's our problem when something was wrong (and there were quite a few things).
Dirty room on arrival, problems with broken equipment in apartment which were not fixed, noisy, very sterile, very basic/uncomfortable bed and the staff that were more than unhelpful.
Keep your things packed away at all times, staff enter the room without permission!
Wouldn't recommend it except for the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setanta1975, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I have now taken over as Property Manager at Quest Richmond and I can assure you that the customer service culture at our hotel has changed dramatically. From what I can see on your response, the hotel itself was largely to your liking but the manner in which you were treated was not acceptable. I would like the opportunity to remedy this.
Please contact the property on 03 9267 1000 and ask for Paul Neilsen so I can discuss further with you and invite you back to the hotel.
Once again, thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
211 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
909 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
1,478 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Richmond

Property: Adara Richmond
Address: 185 - 191 Lennox St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Quest Richmond)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adara Richmond 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adara Richmond is the epitome of contemporary and spacious inner-city serviced apartment living. Located along the Bridge Rd fashion and cafe strip, and only a five minute tram ride from Australia's premier sporting precinct and the CBD, you will be immersed in true Melburnian culture. Directly opposite the Epworth Hospital, Adara Richmond is the accommodation of choice for hospital guests and visitors. We have studios, one and two bedroom and executive apartments with full kitchens, washers and dryers, and high-speed WiFi in every room. Our highly trained staff are on call to arrange pantry shopping, fax and photocopying services, and car and taxi hire. Got a special request? All Adara Richmond apartments can be configured to suit your specific living requirements. We're proud to show off our newly updated gym to all Adara Richmond guests, and business travellers will have access to our exclusive corporate lounge and conference room. Adara Richmond has everything you need for business and leisure, allowing you to create your ideal home away from home. As many of our guests are corporate travellers we provide exclusive services to help you do business. With fast WiFi and easy-access power points in every apartment, our rooms were created with contemporary business needs in mind. Adara Richmond features a conference room and corporate lounge which can be booked upon request and customised to suit your needs. Meetings and events Adara Richmond can cater for events of all types and sizes. Our large, light-filled conference room can be set up in boardroom, classroom or theatre style, while accommodating up to 70 people. We can assist in your event planning by providing fresh, high-quality catering options and by supplying AV equipment, in addition to the in-room projector and screen, upon request. The adjoining business lounge is open for breakfast between Monday-Friday 7am-9am for corporate guests, and can be booked at all other times. The lounge features several sofas and a large screen TV, and is the perfect place for sports and business groups to unwind. Hotel Features Getting around is easy when you stay with Adara Richmond. Stroll through the Treasury Gardens, take a short taxi ride, or jump on the 75 or 48 tram to travel into the CBD. Make sure you purchase a Myki public transport card at reception prior to using trains or trams in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adara Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Richmond Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing