We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find on Church St” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Paddock

Top Paddock
Ranked #1 of 311 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find on Church St”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I organised a breakfast here with some work colleagues. What attracted me to try here was the size and set up of the place. Most church st cafes are very small. I was not disappointed. The venue itself is very open, airy and modern. We booked a spot outside since it would was going to be a hot day. It was wonderful. The staff were friendly and prompt. Our food came out quickly and was presented well. I had poached eggs on toast with a side of bacon and i didnt leave feeling greasy as you can at some venues. Overall i would highly recommend this place. I will definitely be going back with hubby. All my work friends commented on what a great find it was!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RissyJonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    171
    42
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top paddock???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went to top paddock with my best gal pal. We we're at a small table near entrance on window. The waitress stormed which rudely interrupted us that "the table would be easier to serve our orders without things being in her way" We quickly put our sunglasses and mobile phones to the side. Immediately we realized we were just at another expensive yet average and hyped up cafe.. aggressive staff just too caught up in their own little dramatic superficial worlds. Servings were small and trimmings to all day breakfast were minimal.. No spinach or something to indulge, just straight forward. Although the multigrain bread they have makes nice toast. Coffee,. Eh..not that amazing. Small cups.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went here based on a recommendation by a friend, it was a very popular place to go as there was a queue outside (which I hate) BUT within 3 minutes we were given a table. I ordered the drunken gingerbread which was 2 slices of gingerbread, chocolate marscapone and berry sauce - absolutely divine! The interior was great for breakfast/brunch as it was light and airy. In fact, loved it so much I went back there the next morning and got the Oat Porridge with strawberry & rhubarb compote, violet sugar and pistachios - once again, divine!!!
Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“More yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took my mum for brunch for her b'day. She ordered the snapper which looked the best out of all the meals that were ordered that day.
Service was good, staff were knowledgeable and food was nicely presented and tasted good.
Definitely recommend going there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonsterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
564 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Taking a walk up Church Street last week and I walked into this inviting establishment and was not disappointed with the service, food or the coffee. In fact all three were very good. The decor is lovely and you can sit at the windows and watch the world go by or watch the passing parade of people coming in for take away coffees. A real vibe of a place and the menu is innovative. Will be going back this week for another brekky treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Paddock also viewed

 

Been to Top Paddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing