We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, good service and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good service and comfortable room”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I returned to this Hotel for the 2nd time and we weren't disappointed. We were upgraded to a bigger room which was very nice as they were painting the rooms that we had booked. The room had nice big king bed, very comfortable the bathroom although somewhat small mainly because of the very large spa bath. Very quiet and restfull. The staff very very pleasant and helpful and the location was great as you walk out of the hotel and there is a tram stop right in front which takes you down Bridge road and on to the city etc. Highly recommend anyone to stay there reasonable rates. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    404
    107
    22
    27
See reviews for
169
435
49
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Make sure you request a room away from Bridge Rd as the trams are very noisy. We could even hear them from the quieter rooms at the back of the hotel. We stayed on a Saturday night and a wedding was being held there. The foyer was very busy and the marquis was set up in the courtyard in the miidle of the hotel. It was very noisy until 11 pm but it didn't worry us as we went out.
The bed is comfy and the rooms are fine. It rained all weekend but it would have been great to use one of the bikes on offer to cycle along the river. Not a bad position - a bit of a trek to the main shops and restaurants along Bridge Rd. Paid $150 a night which was about all it is worth. Ok but not memorable !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I will happily recommend this hotel to my friends. The best was the hot buffet breakfast. Lots of variety and food was yummy. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful too.
The only problem with my room was that the bathroom didn't have bath tub. so, i suggest everyone to ask for the room with bathtub if you want to have a relaxing bath :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneysider13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Chose this hotel as we wanted to be close to the city but also explore the Eastern suburbs such as Richmond & Hawthorn. The Hotel was really easy to find and in a great location with the tram right outside. With the price we had paid I expected free parking but instead we were charged $15 per day, I felt with the hotel price that parking should have been included. The room was really nice. Nice balcony and facilities. It was however overlooking the courtyard which seemed to have elevator type music playing for atmosphere all day long and into the night. It wasn't especially loud but a bit annoying after a while. We had a mini bar etc in the room which we never used but we did have coffee & tea making facilities, we were charged $8 for using the coffee!!!
For the price I expected more but overall it was a nice hotel, good service and most importantly a great location for someone wanting to see the suburbs as well as the city. If you want to see Richmond and the eastern suburbs of Melbourne then its a great choice otherwise I think you could get more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel was reasonable and was good for getting to the conference I was attending. The service offered was very good as a general rule. Would stay at this hotel again if I was attending an event nearby, however for a general trip to Melbourne i would rather stay closer to the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have always found it perfectly adequate for my needs.

The rooms are confortable, but the ones overlooking the bridge can be very noisy due to the trundling trams. Weekend guests need to be prepared for the wedding party revellers.

The staff are courteous and professional; and breakfast is fine. The hotel lacks a gym but the tow path along the river is great for runners. The hotel also has bikes for use by guests.

Parking is free and the CBD is about 20-25 minutes by tram or 10-15 by taxi.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Rooms a little small but OK.
However, service in the restaurant and bar is extremely poor. Not enough staff/experienced staff. The location is very pretty but the poor service clearly puts off alot of people from using the al fresco bar as its always empty!

Lots of weddings are undertaken at the weekends so can be noisy during these events.
Not a first choice hotel for me.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D4T4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
204 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#68 of 158 in Melbourne
849 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,458 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Property: Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Address: 649 Bridge Rd, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing