We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverwalk every morning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Riverwalk every morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel was about 5 km from my meeting venue in the CBD. I initially stayed at a CBD hotel. Then changed to be closer to some friends. You can catch a tram into the city easily. Coming back the trams are not as frequent if it is not the rush hour. No problem for me as I put my jogging shoes on and got to the Amora in quick time. Wish there was a gym in house. The scenic Yarra river makes up for it. The pool & gym is out of the hotel but I did not get the time to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the courtyard for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Fitfun F, thank you for your review. We are very lucky to have a tram stop directly on our doorstep. The Yarra River bike trail is also another way of getting in to the city, though much more picturesque and only 25 minutes via bike. Unfortunately we do not have gym/pool facilities on site, however free access is available at the Richmond Recreational Centre.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
John T, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    404
    107
    22
    27
See reviews for
169
435
49
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great Hotel, rooms reasonably sized even with three adults in it! We have just come back from staying here after two nights in Melbourne.
Staff was really friendly and helpful.
Location is excellent numerous restaurants to eat just down Bridge Road, tram line directly in front of the hotel to get into the city.
Reasonably priced parking with in and out privileges.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Idodsy, thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. There are some great local eateries and we always love trying each new place that opens up in Richmond. So the next time you stay be sure to check them out. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
John T, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woori Yallock, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I just had our third stay at the Amora Riverwalk hotel in Richmond. We just LOVE it! The staff are always so friendly and helpful. The rooms are just spotless. Even though you are surrounded by traffic you just cannot hear it. We elect to have the buffet breakfast when we stay. The selection is fabulous! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the self serve pancake maker! YUM!
We have a couple of times sat down in the lobby and enjoyed reasonably priced delicious cocktails before heading off to see a band or a movie. Speaking of movies, last nights stay for us was for relaxation and the price included a free in room movie but to our utter delight at the moment there is a special where you pay $14.95 and can watch as many movies as you want while you were there......which we did!
The Yarra river is a short walk across the lush lawns and if you are so inclinded you can use the mountain bikes provided by the hotel to go for a ride on one of the tracks alongside the river.
As I said the Amora is our go to relax hotel, we will def be back!

Room Tip: If you want just a little bit more the Spa rooms are soooooooo amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassFulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi CassFulford,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the pancakes and the movie deal. We are always trying new promotions and the movie deal is very popular at the moment!
A large number of our guests really enjoy the bikes and walking paths along the Yarra River too.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
John T
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently had our third stay, this time for eight nights. As a base for a visitor, this place makes a lot of sense. Easy access to the city and suburbs, good parking, plenty of eating options nearby and large comfortable rooms. However, what makes this a nice stay are the staff. With one minor exception (night manager!), they are helpful and do what needs to be done to make your stay work. We are former residents in suburbs east of here. Try going to dinner by tram to Kew or Camberwell - plenty of really good choices and no drink driving issue. Current favourite Bangkok Terrace (takre Camberwell tram), fantastic food and BYO!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are proud of the team we have here and receive many compliments about the staff and the service they provide. I must also let you know that we have since replaced our night manager. We welcome back a previous night manager, Judy, who will no doubt look after you with the same level of service you would expect from any one of our great team here.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
John T, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have just checked out of the Amora, booked two rooms and could not fault either of them. Location was excellent staff were fantastic. Excellent location. Brian the duty manager could not be more helpful and also Mac his assistant. Told us great places to eat. What to see.
Would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. We aim to exceed our guests expectations & it seems that we have achieved this with your recent stay.

These reviews mean a great deal to us & we share them with all of the team here.

Again thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Most of the rooms are arranged around a central courtyard which makes them a little dark, but they are quite protected from any traffic noise. The rooms are a generous size and quite comfortable. Choices in the restaurant were limited. Quality was acceptable, but not exceptional given the price. After eating there for two nights, none of us wanted to rush back. The breakfast menu was one of the most boring that I have seen. Limited range of cereals and no weetbix two days in a row! Fruit was either tinned fruit or fresh fruit salad which was solely different types of melon. It was $23.50 for a continental breakfast and an extra $4 for an espresso coffee.
Phone reception and consequently internet reception was very poor. I was not able to get reception in my room and had to go on to the balcony to use the phone/modem. The clerk at reception couldn't have cared less.
One night one of our group returned to find that someone had taken a bottle of wine from his minibar and the bottle and empty glass were left in the room. The clerk at reception said that it must have been house-keeping and just laughed it off. Another of our group was annoyed that someone had been to her room and turned her air-conditioning on and set it to 15 degrees. When she complained the clerk at reception gave her a lecture about how a thermostat worked and completely missed the point. There was certainly no apology, just that is must have been housekeeping.
I think that this hotel has the potential to be really good, but the attitude of staff and the bland restaurant choices make it only average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne on your recent stay.

I apologise that we did not meet the expectations of you & your fellow travellers.

Our breakfast buffet does generally have weetbix, fresh fruit platters & six types of cereal. I have addressed your comments with the Executive Chef & Food & Beverage Manager.

With regard to your phone reception, Telstra works fine however the Optus network is not 100%. We have contacted Optus on numerous occasions & they have not responded. Our internet had recently been upgraded & the wireless strength is now excellent across the whole hotel. We have also recently improved the control all accommodation rooms air-conditioners.

I can assure you that the security of our guest's rooms & guest property is of the utmost importance & I have followed up your comments with the management team. Again I apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

I am confident that we can meet & exceed your expectations in the future & we would really like you to give us another opportunity. I would be happy to make a booking for you. Please feel free to contact me directly via the hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked this accommodation as it was a late decision and there wasnt anything reasonable closer to the city for a flight the next day. The taxi fare was a bit steep but if you like to get up and go for a jog or a nice long walk it is a great place along the river. Didnt have time to look at the shopping in Bridge Rd but will do that another time. Accommodation very neat and compact with a balcony that we did not use, but at least nice and quiet without a function on below. Shower screen a bit on the short side with water going all over the place and once again the toilet roll holder in a very tight spot, not planned very well for use. The buffet breakfast was nice and easy and we also dined on the night we arrived. Not a fan at all for the steep surcharge for using a credit card, this is a rort with many Hotels and should not be allowed. They do tell you that you will be charged the 3.5% I think it was and if you dont have cash handy then you dont have a choice. Staff were pleasant, although we did not require any assistance as it ws only one night. Would I stay again???? It is probably just that bit far from Southern Cross and Skybus for the usual travel requirements and the taxi fare a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Maybe check and see if there is a function on so you can request a quiter option but we did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Jenny,

Thank you for your review of our hotel Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. We are pleased that you had a good experience. We take your feedback on board & we will attempt to improve based on your comments.

The 75 & 48 trams both go direct to Southern Cross Station, where the Sky Bus can be caught. This may assist in future.

Again thankyou for your valuable feedback.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#69 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Property: Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Address: 649 Bridge Rd, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing