We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resturant needs to vastly improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Resturant needs to vastly improve”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

The Amora Riverwalk hotel is situated on a Tram Line about 8 kms from Melbourne city centre. The hotel was formerly Rydges Riverwalk Hotel and has been recently renovated to about a 3 .5 star rating. The breakfast in the resturant is not value for money and really needs improving. Do not bother having dinner here as the standard of food is very poor. Since the renovations have occurred the room rates have increased to nearly as much as you could get a 5 star hotel for in the city. The management at this hotel really needs to vastly improve the quality of prepartion and presentation of food served at this hotel.

  • Liked — Watching the hotel disappear in the rear view mirror on departure
  • Disliked — food quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RexVictoriaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    415
    115
    25
    27
See reviews for
176
457
50
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

Stayed at the Amora for 2 nights over easter for a wedding. Upon arrival, we asked if it was possible to have a room wih a king bed. The feller at reception searched and offered us a free upgrade. Room was large, bed was great, room service outstanding. The buffet breakfast was average. Worth trying one of the cafes only minutes walk away. I took advantage of the free bikes available, and rode along the river. Beautiful. Worth a stay!

  • Liked — Room, room service
  • Disliked — Water pressure was sporatic
Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SamoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

The car parking was excellent and the room was lovely but that is where to good parts stop. Nicely furbished room with a little balcony that looked onto the roof of a marquee and everyone elses balcony. Not much was complimentary with the room. Minimal personal goods were supplied. The worst part of the room was that the toilet was left soiled. It then had me wondering about what else housekeeping had forgotten.
That aside, I was expecting big things considering their prices. There was never any staff around. We had free breakfast with our deal. The food was shocking so if you are booking a room, opt for breaky at a nearby cafe and save yourself some money. As for the location, it was brilliant. Nice little pub across the road and the tram stop was outside the hotel. Lots of shops about. Very convenient to get around and about town.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — overall experience
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chabby73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Amora for one night in a court yard room. It is definately above average for a hotel located out of the City. It is close enough to the city for you to catch a tram and be in the heart of the CBD in 15 mins (located just out front door). I only have a couple of complaints. The bathroom mat was either dirty or stained (small oversite from houskeeping). Hard to get the shower temp warm (either freezing cold or boiling hot, I got it right eventually) The reception is not visable from the front door and is located around a corner which made us think we entered the wrong door. Ending on a positive note the decor is very nice, staff friendly, secure parking, great views and every room has a balcony. If you are staying in Melbourne and will be hiring a car to do traveling around Victoria and the CBD this would be a great base.

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased that you had a good stay. I have addressed the issue of the bath matt with our housekeeping team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Amora Riverwalk Hotel June 2007 My husband and I stayed in a spa suite and it was fantastic! The elegantly furnished suite consisted of a huge bedroom with a king size bed, lots of pillows and cushions,
lounge chair with ottoman, TV, spacious bed-side tables with reading lamps and 3 (opening) windows with views of the Yarra River and gardens.

A beautiful bathroom with spa bath for two, separate shower, robes and slippers and plenty of storage under the hand-basin. There was a separate lounge area with a sofa, ottoman, TV, lamp table, coffee table, mini bar, desk and chair. This room also had lovely views and 3 (opening) windows.

The lighting was superb – lots of down-lights and lamps. Furnishings and fixtures were all first class and in excellent condition, and the room was quiet. Room service was excellent. Very nice restaurant/
coffee shop and beautiful foyer area. Security under cover parking. A short tram ride to the city, and on the Yarra Trail bike path.
Checking-in and out was a breeze. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful – absolutely faultless! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Spacious room and friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

I was booked in for 3 weeks, and had to move rooms after 2 which was a bit of an inconvenience.

The rooms were reasonably sized, though INCREDIBLY dark. As I had a room (or 2 rooms) facing into the centre of the complex, no sun got through to my room whatsoever, which is a shame in the middle of and Australian summer.

Also, my balconies both had gutters running into them - All water from above balconies ran through to mine, which made it very hard to sit there, let alone walk onto without shoes on.

The location is close to Bridge Road, though as far up Bridge from the city as you can get and not full of a lot of action. However, the tram ride is only 10 minutes from the city. The good thing though is that it is right on the river, handy if you want a walk.

The restaurant had a fantastic menu and breakfast, and I had several meals there at a great price - Great bar called The Bridge right over the road also.

And the staff were fantastic. Always smiling and happy to help. One thing - Use your "Do Not Disturb" sign if you don't want any knocking on the doors earlier than 8am!

All in all, a nice hotel, great staff, close to the city, and my rooms were well sized but very dark and generally felt quite 'cheap'.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timother1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2006

Room was clean and of a fair size. Although some of the fit-out was a bit worn.

The hotel had all the standard equipment for a Australian hotel - decent bathroom, average beds, tea and coffee making equipment.

The prime advantage of this hotel is its location on the Yarra River in Richmond. It is very close to the Bridge Road discount shopping area, and was only a short tram ride into down-town Melbourne and the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank greg-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
210 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,034 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,412 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Property: Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Address: 649 Bridge Rd, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing