We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, recommended just east of city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spacious, recommended just east of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'd recommend this hotel if you are happy to be a bit east of the city. Location is important and this is in an area with not a lot of other hotels around, but that could be an advantage. It is on one of the multitude of tramlines to the city.

I arrived from another hotel which was dour and had small depressing rooms. This was the opposite. The room has a separate living area and is well and tastefully appointed. There are small but usable balconies, but most rooms look into the central gardens. There are some cooking facilities including a microwave and portable hot plates.

The breakfast was standard hotel fare and their is also a cafe for those who want light meals. Walking up the street towards the city will lead to dozens more restaurants giving you a lot of choice in cuisine, quality and price.

I'd recommend Amora if the location suits you.

Room Tip: The top (4th floor) rooms are more like penthouses and the ones on the north side give some views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Your review will be very helpfull for other travellers considering staying in Richmond.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    404
    107
    22
    27
See reviews for
169
435
49
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

A great place to stay in terms of value for money and one I would definitely stay at again next time I'm in Melbourne. In fact, I'd rather stay here a little outside of town to be comfortable than stay in town stuck in an air conditioned building that you can't open the windows for some fresh air.
Service was wonderful. Difficult to fault this place.
Close to shopping too :)

Room Tip: Try and ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for posting the glowing review on the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne.

We aim to exceed our guests expectations & I am pleased that we impressed you.

We hope to welcome you back at some time in the future.

Kind Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The staff at the Amora Hotel Riverwalk have really brought up my rating. They were six star. Nothing is too much trouble and they are very pleased to help in any way. There are little luxuries which are quite nice, like a pillow menu, slippers and dressing gowns, and lovely big balconies that overlook a beautiful courtyard and water feature. I should state I just had a basic room (Deluxe Courtyard Queen), which is the cheapest room on offer.

For the central location, it's exceptionally quiet, even on the balconies, which face inward overlooking the courtyard, and away from the road. The curtains are really thick too which means the rooms are pitch black even in daylight. Great for a sleep in.

It really is a good location if you want to shop in Melbourne. Bargains galore in Bridge Road and all the shops, cafe's and restaurants are a short walk away. Trams outside the door easily take you to the city if you want.

I particularly liked the 11am check out, and the buffet breakfast was reasonably nice. Not outstanding, but yummy enough.

The rooms are made up beautifully, with comfy beds, and stylish bedding and furniture. But when you look closer, the bathroom could do with a make over, there was some shoddy plasterwork and attention to detail in the construction could be better. And my bathroom looked a bit dated. But it was very clean and neatly presented.

Overall, totally fine and very good value for a weekend away, a girls shopping trip, business trip, or extended holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the review that you posted for our hotel Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. I was very pleased to read your review, particularly your comments about our staff.

We are always looking to exceed our guests expectations. I will follow up your comments with regard to our bathroom product also.

Again thank you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Riverwalk often as the locality suits us as our daughter lives in river st.we have stayed in a variety of rooms and found all very comfortable.The main difference between this hotel and others we have used is the standard of staff service.at all times we have found the service is five star A special mention has to go to the reception desk staff and in particular to Mr John Tolis we have been fortunate enough to have been helped by John during most of our stays at the Riverwalk.This gentleman is truly a great asset to you as he has mastered the art of customer service and satisfaction.If there was a black belt award for keeping customers happy then Mr Tolis would have one.John is a great credit to you're establishment.Whilever this standard is maintained we will be you're continued happy customers and would be happy to recommend the Riverwalk to all our friends.

regards Brian Huxley and Family. Baulkham Hilss N.S.W.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvisghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Barry (and Family),

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. It was great to read your review. Mr John Tolis is an excellent team member & he leads our front office staff very well.

Your review will certainly assist people in decinding to stay with us

We look forwad to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is my first trip back to Australia in 2 years and am simply amazed at how expensive everything has become. For this aged hotel in the old city area, the price simply does not justify value. Moreover, internet access costs $29AUD per night! Btw, don't try the restaurant either, just had the worst sirloin ever. Stay here only if you are desperate and have no other options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodbury729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thak you for review our hotel the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne.

I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our hotel & service generally do meet our guests expectations.

We are looking at providing a portion of internet free, either a speed or an allocation of data. We hope to have this set up by 2014.

I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your steak. I have followed this up with the Hotel Executive Chef & the Chef has follwed up with the supplier also. We continue to aim to have excellent meat & produce.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again. I would be happy to personally make a booking for you. Please feel free to contact me directly.


Yours Sincerely


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ph 03 9246 1200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We attended a 50th birthday party in a private function room last night. The wait staff were excellent the food was lovely. Would have loved to have stayed the night but commitments next day would not allow. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a function again. No complaints only compliments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel The Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne.

Functions are a large part of what we do here & it was great to read that your experience was a pleasant one.

We also offer a Jaz lunch in our Restaurant Fresco Dinning on Sundays. You may want to book in?

Again thank you for your feedback. It means a great deal to our team & your reveiew will also assist other people who are considering staying with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards


Tim Bilston
Genael Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed two nights and had a townhouse which was very nice - comfy beds, choice of pillows, robes and slippers etc. Wanted to cook a meal in and understood the room had cooking facilities but two burner portable hotplate and microwave was the only cooking facilities and the utensils were very minimal. Had a few problems - slow check-in for other guest, a staff member walking in unannounced a noisy party next door and small glitches with parking and movie technology. Staff were great and did all they could with very good grace - I would go back and recommend it (so long as you dont want to self-cater)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcheeks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. These reviews mean a great deal to us & we act on all of the points raised. The Microwave is in fact a griller a convection oven & a microwave. We proably need to comunicate this better. We will review the utensils tht we offer.

I apologise that there were some minior issues that affected your stay. We will follow these up.

I was pleased to read that our team did all that they could to assist.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back in thenear future.

Regards

Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#69 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Property: Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Address: 649 Bridge Rd, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing