We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid Melbourne hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice hotel I stayed at on a work trip to Melbourne. Was there for two nights in a 4th floor loft room (surprised when I saw a flight of stairs when I opened my door after check-in. The hotel is well maintained, very comfortable (although some may say drab). The room from the balcony along Bridge Road was interesting and I loved the sound of trams passing.

Good features
-Free bike hire - amazing to ride along the Yarra River both upstream and downstream on some of the best bike paths I have ever ridden on
-Lovely staff - efficient and unobtrusive, professional and friendly
-Good location on the tram line and tram stop -easy access to MCG and city
-Lovely sound of rain on the roof when it was wet

Irritating features
-bed could be more comfortable
-smoke alarm goes off if you leave the bathroom door open (steam)
-Conference facilities were a little old and the catering could have been better

Room Tip: Loft rooms are 1 bedroom and very nice -rainwater shower [no spa] Other rooms apparently have a spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor.
I am pleased that we met your expectations during your stay. I will certainly share your coments with the team here at Amora Hotel Riverwalk.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visited the hotel for a work trip. Stayed for a four days. Staff were friendly and professional. Rooms were clean and well presented. Breakfast buffet was large and well managed. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank CoupleDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are glad that you had a good stay. I will certainly share your comments with our staff.

Once again thank you for posting the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Riverwalk in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great staff - terrible conference venue - loud, dark and expensive.
Constant noise - they were fixing the outside of the building for the whole day right outside our room. Could barely think let alone plan.
Nice restaurant but not nice morning and afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

I apologise that your conference experience was not a pleasant one. Yes we were doing some essential works to the outside of the building. We attempted to take every care to not disrupt our guests. If we were made aware about the conference being affected by noise, we could have asked the builders to stop the noisy parts until your scheduled break times.

I am pleased to report that the works are now complete.

Please feel free to contact me should you wish to clarify any of the above. Again, I apologise that these works negatively affected your experience here at the Amora Hotel Riverwalk.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Everything about the Amoral hotel was great. The room was very nice and clean. Went down to the bar for a few drinks and coffee. Great serivce all through the motel. Also had a meal at the restaurant 10/10. Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kclovesjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for posting a positive reveiw about your recent stay. We are delighted that the hotel met your expectations.

I will share your comments with our staff.

Again thank you & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Hotel Riverwalk in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great night here last weekend. The hotel is cozy, good amenities and we honestly can't critize it for the room, as it was fine. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good too. Only thing was the loudness from across the street bars which kept us awake until 4.30am and we had an early flight the next morning :( BUT that's not the hotels fault at all. My only recommendation is they consider sound-proofing the windows or something, to block out the noise. Something for them to consider. Overall we would stay here again, everything was good, no problems. Love the spa too and thanks for the upgrade!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blang2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are in the process of working with the Bridge Hotel to better sound proof our rooms.

This should be completed in the next 2-3 months. We do have as many rooms away from Bridge Rd also.

Once again than you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Riverwalk in the near future.

Regards

Tim Bilston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Amora for one night at the end of June and had a lovely time. We had the package which included breakfast and parking. The room was lovely and huge. The bath was nice and the balcony facing the road with a little bit of a city view was great.
Though if you can't sleep because of a small amount of road noise I would recommend getting a room facing inwards.
We went and had dinner at a delicious lebanese restaurant down the road although food was available at the hotel as well.
The breakfast was really nice small but well stocked buffet. We were hoping to stay and extra night but they were fully booked.
Overall a nice stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Riverwalk in the near future.

Regards

Tim Bilston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Being upgraded to a king spa suite was a pleasant surprise when I checked in for 3 nights to attend a conference. The spacious and extremely well appointed room with a view was a delight. The only fly in the ointment was the very noisy heating/cooling vent near the bed which I had to turn off in order to sleep. The conference facilities were excellent including the catering. Walking up Bridge Road was a useful exercise opportunity. The hotel airport transport option was very expensive at $72. In the end I decided to take a taxi to the Sky Bus terminal which costs about $15 by cab plus the $17 Sky Bus fare. Fortunately my cabbie wanted to go to the airport too & gave me a special deal of $40 all up. A smooth end to a pleasing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you're staying more than a couple of nights. Bargain with your cab driver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicaltraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look into the noise from the air-conditioning.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Riverwlk in the near future.

Regards



Tim Bilston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
217 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 161 in Melbourne
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,777 reviews
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Address: 649 Bridge Rd, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $114 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing