We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pasta Adagio

Pasta Adagio
Ranked #91 of 312 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $45 - $113
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In a warm and friendly ambience, Carmine Costantini, Head Chef and owner of Osteria la Passione wants to share with our patrons a unique Italian traditional culinary experience with a touch of modern cuisine.
Agnes Water, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Small restaurant, that simply does absolutely everything wonderfully well. YOU WILL NEED TO BOOK. The menu is created daily around the best produce available at the time and from this the chef makes a 6 course dining experience that rivals the best in Australia. Osteria does not require the theatrics of multi hatted venues like Vue de Monde it just lets the food do the talking and it yells. We had a crab course, a vegetable, cured meats, astonishing home made pasta, each with a different bread baked on the premises followed by the most mouth watering mint panacotta all with some beautiful italian wines. The service was perfect, the venue though small is still intimate, all put together makes this a must return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent with minor qualifications.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed our meal their and will go again. We had the six course degustation menu and the food was outstanding. We could have been in Italy. The decor was appealing without being over rthe top and the wine list catered for all tastes with an impressive array of Italian wines. Service was attentive and engaging. Cost was upper middle range but worth every cent.
Qualifications? There were three:
Firstly, when we arrived we noticed that the window table was free and we enquired as to whether or not it had been reserved. We were told that it had been booked, but two and a half hours later, when we left, it was still empty. Rather irritating!
I was looking forward to a decaf espresso at the end of the meal, but was told that decaf was not available [nor was skinny milk]. Disappointing!
Finally, the six courses defeated us. Next time we would go with the three course degustation.
In the whole scheme of things these were minor points. We will be back.

,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albertcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An experience worth trying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went as a table of 6 over a week ago and I'm still trying to make up my mind about la Passione. Its a smallish but comfortable Osteria nicely laid out and furnished with produce (for sale) from around the owner's farm near Yea. Best of all, its quiet enough that you can actually hear your companions and chat easily whilst dining. The waiters knew their stuff and were prompt and friendly.
The food comes as a 3 or 5 course degustation menu which changes daily according to the whim of the chef. We went for 3 courses. The first was an excellent octopus salad, the second fresh pasta with a rather average rabbit ragu and the third a lamb sausage (excessively salty) with beans in a very good sauce. Serving sizes were simply a bit too small to really satisfy.
So food wise, a bit of a mixed bag and on the expensive side for what you get, and the wines are similarly a bit on the steep side.
However, we nevertheless came away having enjoyed the evening but with some niggles about the food. When a restaurateur is supplying his own food ingredients and wines its understandable that you pay for it, but in this case he needs to deliver a little bit more for the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Interesting old building, small, but disappointing. The degustation menu, insufficient food and expensive. Bossy chef.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go, You'll like it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Visited the restaurant in January. The quiet unassuming vibe was a real treat after too many overly crowded and noisy restaurants. Produce, mostly sourced from "our farm" , was simply cooked but clearly very fresh. And ... it was all delicious. The fixed price menu took the uhmming and ahhing out of the evening and the wait staff were lovely. I'd love to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Adagio also viewed

 

Been to Pasta Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing