We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on the Vespa”
Review of Union Dining

Union Dining
Ranked #17 of 324 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on the Vespa”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Probably somewhere between very good and excellent but the last dinner I had there makes me want to be a bit generous. The Atlantic salmon and crumbed veal main were terrific - maybe not the most exotic dishes you'll find but just what I felt like on the night. They also did a very good Vespa cocktail that I'd forgotten existed (it was invented by Ian Fleming for James Bond in Casino Royale and its named after Bond's love interest at the time). Make sure you have one (or two). The room has a good feel and the staff are attentive and friendly. Watch out for parking though - even though its in Richmond you can find yourself walking a long way.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurent”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are after a restaurant that has brilliant charming service with food passionate staff (but not over the top) with fresh innovative produce ....Union Dining is for you.
The bill adds up, but for once I didn't mind paying the bill - 6 adults 3 bottles of good wine for $550 inc tip.
Will go back again...soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The world in union”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Wow - Arrived with out a booking on a busy Saturday night and invited to the bar whilst a table was prepared. We had a couple of beers from Lebanon no less - they actually very good and the ladies a cocktail consisting of spivey rum and maple syrpe - very very nice!
Great waitress who was clearly passionate about the food - this was backed by excellent service and superb food. Richmonds liitle diamond in the rough.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hodgey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice but not amazing”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful dining room with a relaxed formal vibe. The service is great. Some of the best I've had. Unfortunately the food isn't as good. Don't get me wrong it's still nice. But no where near as good as the service or the diving room suggests.

Helpful?
Thank mistajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, very fresh and quick!
Terrific staff - great attention to detail and great attitude
Expensive but well worth it
Will go back!

Helpful?
Thank KL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Dining also viewed

 

Been to Union Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing