We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Appreciation Lunches”
Review of Union Dining

Union Dining
Ranked #16 of 322 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wine Appreciation Lunches”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been to three of the Sunday Food and Wine lunches. Brilliant food and wines to match.
The last we attended featured produce from the Yarra Valley and wines from Gembrook Hill Vineyard. 6 course degustation menu with matched wines. Buxton smoked trout, quail rillettes, rabbit and also baby heirloom produce from Yarra Valley Gourmet Greenhouse (as written up in Epicure The Age). French breakfast radishes, pencil leeks, tomatoes in various extremely tasty forms and colours all complemented the dishes. Dessert was Silvan berries and tiny Alpine Strawberries with roasted peaches on shortbread. Care is taken with every dish here and service is always attentive. Keep an eye on their website for the next "specials" but go there anyway for the great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngridaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I loved the ambience, decor, location, menus, service.
Went to Union Dining on 8 December for Saturday lunch and found the experience to be pretty near perfect.
From the Kingfish Carpaccio, seared sardines, Terrine I'd MAISON to the Crab Risotto for mains it was excellent.
Intend to return for dinner and would wholeheartedly recommend Union Dining to everybody looking for a great lunch experience in Richmond/Melbourne.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunchclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tick All The Boxes”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have now been to this restaurant on two occasions. Here is a place that ticks all my boxes: you can make a reservation, you don't have to share any dishes, tables are well laid out and so you are not sitting on top of each other, acoustics are great - you can actually have a conversation without shouting and the menu is able to be understood. The food is very good, plenty of choice and the wine list is very comprehensive. Above all the staff are excellent, very attentive without being all over you. I hate when you have to keep asking for your own wine to be served, the staff here keep a close eye on when drinks need a top up. All in all this place represents very good value for money - a refreshing change from some of the new "trendy" places opening all over Melbourne.
We will keep going back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Union Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had dinner at Union Dining for our 10th wedding anniversay. The service was great, although you were appointed your table waiter, all staff would be helpful and always smiling. The food was incrediable, a real dining experience, they would help you in choosing and would recommend dishes that complimented each other, especially if you were sharing (which they do recommend). Reasonably priced for 5 star food and service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank elle2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best on Swan St that I have been to”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Great restaurant. Awesome food catering for all tastes & thorough, attentive service.

Can be a bit noisy but don't let this put you off.

If was in the city would be a hatted restaurant. Might in fact be anyway but nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmalcolm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Dining also viewed

 

Been to Union Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing