We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Union Dining Experience”
Review of Union Dining

Union Dining
Ranked #16 of 322 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Union Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had dinner at Union Dining for our 10th wedding anniversay. The service was great, although you were appointed your table waiter, all staff would be helpful and always smiling. The food was incrediable, a real dining experience, they would help you in choosing and would recommend dishes that complimented each other, especially if you were sharing (which they do recommend). Reasonably priced for 5 star food and service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank elle2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best on Swan St that I have been to”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Great restaurant. Awesome food catering for all tastes & thorough, attentive service.

Can be a bit noisy but don't let this put you off.

If was in the city would be a hatted restaurant. Might in fact be anyway but nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmalcolm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great but ...”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great meal and superb knowledgeable staff who were friendly but not obtrusive. We did find the noise in the dining room overwhelming and as a result felt our evening was less than comfortable. Great for food but not conversation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillypops55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic imaginative food backed up with attentive service”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We enjoyed a great dinner here for a birthday celebration. Nicki Reimer (chef) opened this restaurant just on a year ago and she has a great cooking pedigree. Adam looks after front of house with Greg Lightfoot (Sommelier) who has put together a really interesting wine list. We shared appetisers - mussels with fennel, tomato and sherry were sublime plus 3 types of oysters. We all had our own entrees which were very generous serves to say the least - baked goats cheese and caramelised onion tart, terrine of duck and ocean trout with creme fraiche provided clean delcious flavours. Main courses tried were rabbit with olives (beautiful but very filling), veal schnitzel served with a traditional dry coleslaw, abbacio of lamb and beautifully cooked scotch fillet. We managed to finish their supply of DiStasio Chardonnay which was excellent on the palate with buttery and caramel flavours. Some of the party shared chesses, a tangy raspberry sorbet and a sliver of chocolate tart which definitely lived up to expectations. The birthday girl managed to get through a tiny cupcake with coffee! This is a large room and for a Thursday night it was very busy but had a great atmosphere. In an easy location to get to on Swan Street Richmond just near the corner of Church Street. Only little gripe are the chairs - not that comfortable for a long night! but that's minor as its the food and wine you should be going for.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service - good for a winter lunch”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This restaurant has pedigreed melbourne front and back of house staff and should not be missed if choosing a restaurant in the Richmond area. Close to Church St, on Swan Street Richmond, Union Dining has a comfortable dining space and the staff went out of their way to look after our 3 year and we had a very relaxing and long lunch. The cauliflower and fig salad starter and crab rissotto were reasons in themselves to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arija03Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Dining also viewed

 

Been to Union Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing