We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously good food in a very relaxed informal setting!”
Review of Noir

Noir
Reserve with
Noir is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 322 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $76
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Noir. French inspired, Modern cuisine in an elegant, informal environment. Noir is the first venture for partners Peter Roddy and Ebony Vagg, food and wine lovers as well as hospitality professionals who together with their dedicated team bring a little old world romance to Swan Street. A combination of quality produce and classical technique with a generous spirit and a warm welcome await at this boutique neighbourhood restaurant.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously good food in a very relaxed informal setting!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great choice for a night out beautifully presented and well cooked food in a no fuss trendy setting - well worth seeking out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent - Fine Dining”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dinner here with friends. The setting is black of course!! and ever so chic. The natural wood finish and light fittings are a great foil for the black on black decor. The wine list is good - but not inexpensive. Short but with a good example of a number of varieties from a number of global locations.
We ate from the A La Carte. Luckily I managed to get a taste of most of the dishes on the table. The Tartar was very good for entree - good flavours - I know there are those you mix yourself, but here the hard work was done for you and very well indeed. It came with a fancy waldorf salad stacked vertically between apple slices. Great presentation. A friend had the oysters with a champagne sorbet - pronounced delicious. Another had pork belly with prawns, excellent twice or thrice cooked pressed pork belly with little fat. I had a summer salad, wonderful smoky paprika dressing and lovely presentation.
The duck was excellent - confit leg and crispy breast with fig - extremely well done - the "best duck I have ever eaten" was uttered by this diner. Scallops with cuttlefish on squidink risotto - plump and juicy scallops - no wow's for this dish though. The rabbit and pepper pot pie was very good - lovely pie meat flavour with a presentation of heirloom and baby carrots. They turn the lid upside down and spoon out the pie on your plate. Nice, but I wonder if it would have been better to spoon out the pie and then return the lid to the top of the meat, so it stayed crisp - you loose that textyral benefit a bit with this French presentation. Still a most delicious meal.
Dessert was very good - potted chocolate with salted caramel and chocolate mousse. Excellent - small and delicious - I could have eaten more of this really tasty combination. The berry crumble with macaron was also delicious. Interesting deconstructed presentation. Great way to complete the meal.
The coffee was a little bitter after my dessert, but still well made.
Overall a good place for a special meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samiseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Park, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attention to detail.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent service and brilliant food. The only reason I didn't make the 5 dot rating was portion size - needed slightly more of the fantastic combination of flavours prepared for each dish! Thoroughly enjoyable experience with friends for about $90/head, including drinks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A wonderful place for food. The degustation dinner is superb for a special night out and their $35 lunches are great value. I recommend this place highly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing food and good service”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I finally made it to noir!! What a lovely night we all had! The food was really really good, excellent actually! One of the best meal ever! I will definitely go back to try their testing menu!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JVerne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noir also viewed

 

Been to Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing