We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, dated but priced as a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warrenmang Vineyard & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moonambel
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I said in my restaurant view that this place has awesome potential but it's heyday was probably back in the 90's. The older generations staying there seemed to like it but I chatted with others around my age (mid 30's) and they all agreed it wasn't what was promised on the website.

Great location but the rooms were very dated and need freshening up. Everything about the placed seemed tired and worn but it's priced as if it's a 5 star resort, I'd say 3.5 at best.

Although everyone was very nice I wouldn't recommend it to anyone or return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiArrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Warrenmang.  It was the third time we have visited and everyone went out of their way to be helpful.  From Polly at bookings/reception to the very bubbly Linda and, of course, Athalie and Luigi, everyone just makes you feel very welcome.

We stayed in the penthouse (#27), which was very nicely decorated. Not sure what others are saying about "being dated".  The decor goes with the period and matches the rustic/farmhouse setting.  The view over the vineyard is very peaceful.

We enjoyed the spa on both days we were there.

Luigi was unwell for the winery tour (we hope he is on the mend), so Athalie took over.  Her anecdotes were terrific and, combined with her obvious love for the place, made the tour memorable.

The food was lovely but the barramundi and duck were slightly overlooked and we thought that the menu could have more variety to it.  5 salads as entrees and just 2 desserts could be expanded on (although the liquid passionfruit tart was to die for!).  As well, there's only 2 side dishes, but you can ask for mash and they'll make it!  We had steaks on the 2nd night and they were done to our liking.  The cheese platter was fantastic though and really complemented the meals.

People booking meal-included packages need to be aware that the amuse bouche is counted as course.

The wine list is, understandably, Warrenmang-biased, but the 2 bottles we bought were excellent, although, paying "full retail" at dinner when you are a resort guest and "Warrenmang club" member might seem a bit pricey.  Nonetheless, Athalie was extremely generous at the cellar door, so we have absolutely nothing to complain about.

In every way, Warrenmang is value for money and we can recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Having been excited to stay at what we expected to be a resort styled winery, with associated accommodation and a top rated restaurant, we were very disappointed.
The rooms are extremely tired and dated.
Perhaps some draft seal could stop the wind blowing in.
Clean though.
A pink wc and linen surprised us..
The hot tube/spa was out of action.
From a luncheon to the breakfast, we could not understand, for a venue with such an alledged reputation, why half of the items on the menue were off.
For the money I would look at what is offering from the close by other wineries.

Room Tip: Checkout the surrounding new venues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dallas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Little bit over priced but we had a very pleasant stay, the owner Lugi is very pleasant and hospitable . Breakfest is great I suggest the eggs benidict and the restaurant is first rate. The wine is not bad as well. Service is great staff are helpful and friendly. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do the wine tour with Lugi and have a steak sandwich at the local pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I recently had my wedding here. We booked accomodation through a voucher with both sets of parents. It was lovely and peaceful and the breakfast was amazing!! BUT the dinner meal which we paid $35.50 for was too small just a teaspoon of this one carrot a whisp of chicken the sirloin dishes had even less, this and the entrees were 24.50. Would it hurt to put a tiny bit of mash and some beans on the plate??? for no extra, considering we dropped a substantial amount of money in their place on a very quiet tuesday night! Their Wine is amazing and good value the staff are great especially sheryl the breakfast lady we love you!!! Considering all other rooms were empty the wedding couple could have been offered a honeymoon suite for minimal or no charge instead our wedding night was shared with our children and our parents as we could not afford an extra $240 on top of the extra $1000 plus we had already spent this does not include the voucher money Although in saying that they let us use their cellar for photos that are perfect. I loved this place and would stay again and will next year but there are a few things that need changing!!! Also the doors need some screens and dead trees need cutting back!!!

Room Tip: If you have a group booking and need time to get to know each other in comfort the lodge or the gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldreamer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had a lovely weekend at Warrenmang and I was very impressed by the service. We met a friend and his family and had adjoining chalets with fabulous views over the vines back towards the small town of Moonambel. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and it is very easy just to kick back, read the paper, play board games (if the weather is not great) and just chill out.

The chalet we stayed in was a bit dated with a king size bed with another bed up stairs. Although the curtains on the ground floor were properly lined and kept out the morning light, upstairs the curtains were thin and it got bright quite early. I was banished upstairs because of snoring but as it is really a mezzanine floor it did not help reduce the noise much.

I have eaten at Warrenmang on several occasions but never stayed before. I have always enjoyed the food and although the wine list is limited in options other than Warrenmang wine, there is good selection of cellared wines at reasonable prices. Breakfast was excellent as well but I did not try lunch.

The service at Warrenmang was excellent. Very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We felt very well looked after. After dinner my mate and I had a few drinks in the bar and one of the staff stayed there as long we were there chatting and serving. I finally left at 3 and my mate left at 4am. When we have eaten there in the past staff have given us a lift back into town to where we were staying. There are no taxi's in Moonambel so we were very grateful on that occasion.

We had children along this trip and although there is plenty of space to run there is little else for them to do. There are no TV's or DVD's (some see this as a bonus) but we took our lap tops and DVD's for the kids to watch. There is no playground but there is a smallish pool for the summer months, and a communal hot tub with excellent views across the vines and valley.

Moonambel is quite isolated and you definitely need a car. You can walk into Moonambel where there is quite a good pub, shop and a couple of cellar doors but little else. The main attraction of the area is the wineries and you definitely need a car to get to those. There are some good walks in the local state forrest as well.

Luigi Bazzani built and still runs Warrenmang and you are more than likely to run into him either in the restaurant/bar or down at the cellar door. The cellar door has a number of the Warrenmang wines for tasting and we received a 20% discount as guests.

We really enjoyed our weekend at Warrenmang and we are looking forward to getting back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrScotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I had been given 2 nights at warrenmang for our 40th birthday so were really looking forward to a couple of nights away without the kids.
Our first impressions were of the incredible views and peace surrounding the resort. We were a disappointed in the decor of the rooms as they are very dated but found them absolutely spotless.
The dinner at the resort was terrific with fantastic food and great service from the wait staff and the somelier. The menu was small but truly scrumptious.
Breakfast was really enjoyable with the homemade meusli, fruit and yogurt, followed by the cooked traditional course.
My husband is a coeliac and having sent an email ahead of time they had gluten free bread available to him for each meal without having to ask. That's great service.
Our wine tour with Luigi on Sunday morning was real highlight for us, particularly hearing him talk about the process involved in hand made wines and his obvious love for what he does.
Over all we had a really lovely time, the decor faded into the background after the high level of service and food that we received.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEEJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moonambel
1.1 mi away
Summerfield Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Moonbeam Cottages
Moonbeam Cottages
#2 of 2 in Moonambel
19 reviews
24.8 mi away
St Arnaud Old Post Office Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moonambel Resort Hotel
Moonambel Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Moonambel
10 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eco-luxe @ Mount Avoca
12.2 mi away
Avoca Motel
Avoca Motel
#1 of 1 in Avoca
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrenmang Vineyard & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrenmang Vineyard & Resort

Address: Mountain Creek Road | Pyrenees Wine Region, Moonambel, Victoria 3478, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Moonambel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moonambel
Hotel Class:3 star — Warrenmang Vineyard & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warrenmang is a charming little wine village nestled amongst vines and mountain ranges in the Pyrenees Wine region of Victoria. Owned and operated by Luigi and Athalie Bazzani,winemakers, restaurateurs and "Legends of the Melbourne Food and Wine Festival. Warrenmang pioneered winery tourism in Victoria with the building of rustic cosy and relaxin chalet style cottages, designed to let you relax and unwind with balconies to enjoy the view across natural bushland or manicured vines. Television, entertainment and telephones don't exist in this country hideaway(except for one TV in the main complex for diehards). The fine dining restaurant has been recommended by The Age Good Food Guide for 22 successive years and Maitre d'Hotel, Kevin Buckle recently won the prized first place for Best Front of House Service in the Regional Gold Plate Awards. Warrenmang is a relaxed but professional retreat,a haven away from the stresses of city life.... just over two hours from Melbourne, you will find that a warm welcome awaits you. Winner of Gourmet Traveller Wine Australia's Best Cellar Door Award... Best Cellar Door with Food 2015. The winery is rated 5 Stars by James Halliday, the hospitality is legendary and the experience exceptional. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing