We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy retreat to unwind with nature (and drink...”
other travelers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kristen G
1 review
“A cosy retreat to unwind with nature (and drink great wine!)”
Reviewed September 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Had a great time with Sue and Bill. They've created an oasis for wildlife from the ground up, and the effect is a homely atmosphere, immersed in nature with lots of additional touches for comfort. (Sheriden towles and linen sheets, amazing shower and gourmet breakfast goods, coffee machine etc.)

Close to wineries and food spots to go out, or additionally great place to pick up your own artisan bread and gourmet cheese, smoked meat and of course some great wine, to have your own picnic overlooking the lake. Beautiful spot either out on the balcony or in the warmth of your cosy lounge with big windows that look out to lake and all the lovely birdies. :)

Hosts are friendly and knowledgeable without being overbearing... My only advice:

*You must like dogs! There are 4 friendly and energetic Airedale Terriers; and like to be around for pats!! My partner and I love dogs so we enjoyed when they came to say "Hi."
However, If you have a nice car perhaps ask in advance to lock the younger girl dog "Jemima" up when you are first arriving. She was a fantastic welcoming party! :) However, she jumped a lot on my partners new car as we were driving in and left some deep scratches behind. This would be the only negative of the stay and could be easily fixed with some advanced notice of arrival. *

Very enjoyable, highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2018
Thanks so much for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your time in the Yarra Valley .. you certainly made the most of your time and energy, with lots of exploring and walking.

I also offer an extreme apology for young Jemima's enthusiasm ... we do try to ensure the dogs are well secured before guests arrive (hence asking for an ETA) but on this occasion, she slipped out too fast. I was mortified, and very sorry indeed that this happened.

Thank you again
warm wishes
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinkychi...
2 reviews
“Blissful Burrow at Wombats Bend”
Reviewed September 8, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This charming, cosy cottage set in stunning grounds, overlooking a lake, was a delight to experience.The peace and tranquility in serene surroundings made us feel more than just one hour away from busy Melbourne. We learned so much about the vast variety of plant species and wildlife lovingly nurtured by Sue and professor Bill; they really are two of the most amazing people that have lovingly cultivated a thriving ecosystem. Our dogs spent hours trying to keep up with ducks and the resident Airedales it was a shame to bring them home. The cottage was warm and cosy with thoughtful additions such as pure wool blankets, and crisp pure linen sheets on the bed; we couldn’t have been more comfortable. The gorgeous bathroom was spotlessly clean with a huge shower and fluffy towels; we were even provided with bath robes making it easy to pop outside to drink coffee and watch the early morning bird life.Sue provided fabulous breakfast ingredients (strawberries included) and Bill was kind enough to give us a guided tour of our surroundings; such genuine and warm hospitality is hard to find. Waking up to King Parrots outside your window and falling asleep to the sound of frogs and crickets makes this place hard to leave and we can’t wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2018
Oh my goodness ... what a fantastic and much appreciated review. We just loved the way in which you melted into Wombat Bend and I think in your first two minutes you said you were staying forever !

It's always so pleasurable for us when our guests fall in love with the bird life and the frog songs ~ a different kind of music. Next time we'll make sure there's a wombat ..

Your pair of Border Collies were equally charming, and were so easy and well behaved ~ and such fun to watch as they romped in the billabong and found all the yummy smells that must make any dog's nose go into overdrive.

Thank you for being such fabulous guests .. and becoming 'old friends' in such a short time. We also can't wait for your return.

Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steadlind...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Highly recommended midweek package.”
Reviewed August 25, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Romantic, mud brick character-filled cottage, walks around the marvellous lagoon or sit under the trees watching the wildlife, what's not to love about this gorgeous place!

We took a winter break and the cottage was warm and cosy from the moment we arrived. Food provisions were appetising and generous, fresh fruit, cheese and nibbles, a bottle of wine and chocolates awaited us. The breakfast food was yummy, appetising and plentiful and we enjoyed the homemade preserves and good fresh coffee.

The cottage itself is clean, well equipped and spacious, the surroundings are idyllic
and our hosts and their fabulous dogs were delightful.

We particularly enjoyed the Monday to Thursday package staying two nights at Yarra Ranges and two nights at The Burrow. We took a leisurely trip between the two places stopping along the way to explore some of the walks, cafe's and the magnificent forests. Moving from one to the other is an easy distance and because it is well organised between the two locations the transition was seamless.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and lovely review. It was extra special to know that you enjoyed our mid-week package that we combine with Yarra Ranges Apartments, and explored our region so thoroughly.

Being able to taste both locations so easily really does offer the best of both ~ the Yarra Valley and the Dandenong Ranges are so complementary and full of interest and charm.

Best of all, we love that you were so comfortable and happy in The Burrow ~ it was a total pleasure to have you.

Warmest wishes,
Sue & Bill and the Airedales of Wombat Bend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriany...
1 review
“Nature's Perfection”
Reviewed August 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

What an amazing beautiful place!
We had such a wonderful stay surrounded by natures.
A lovely detailed care of the fresh cut flowers placed around the cottage and freshness of the food & fresh produces provided.
A pet friendly paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review ~ your happiness and pleasure really shine in your words. We loved having you and little Princess Apple, and are delighted you enjoyed exploring the Yarra Valley, as well as spending time here at Wombat Bend. Thank you !
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, peaceful nature paradise”
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Spent a night at Bill and Sue’s. The communication with Sue leading up to our stay was spot on. The accommodation perfect with everything you would ever need supplied. A great location for visiting all the wineries. Sue and Bill were extremely accommodating and approachable and supplied a great breakfast too. You couldn’t ask for a better more peaceful place to stay in the middle of a nature oasis. Thanks again Bill and Sue!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2018
It's great to know everything was perfect for you, and you felt at home so easily. Lovely that you enjoyed the up-close contact with all the wildlife who share Wombat Bend with us, and you also had a chance to explore some of the Yarra Valley .. hopefully enough to entice you back for more next time you visit Victoria.

Thanks also for being such great guests. We really loved having you to stay.
cheers
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nir L
1 review
“Perfect country escape, nature, relax and recharge”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

What a Gem!!! Sue and Bill created a lovely spot, surrounded by birds and nature sounds - time to breath and enjoy the billabong and views around.
The attention to details is amazing, we were spoiled with great breakfast and much more, will be happy to return for longer time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2018
Thank you for your gem of a review ! we really loved having you, and finding the extra connections between us has made your stay even more special and memorable. We really hope that time will permit another visit and you can relax for longer.
Warmest regards
Sue & Bill and the Airedales of Wombat Bend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara T
Hawker
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tranquil pet friendly perfection”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Located nestled in a valley with a beautiful outlook on to the lake filled with bird life.
Sue and Bill were the perfect hosts. Accommodation very comfortable with delightful treats to enjoy. Walking around the lake seeing the bird life was a delight.
We will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
Thank you for your lovely thoughtful review .... we really enjoyed having you to stay, and hope that there's another opportunity for a longer visit in the future.

Warmest wishes
Sue & Bill & the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing