We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A serene haven - everything we hoped for.”
other travelers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JoyH1667
1 review
“A serene haven - everything we hoped for.”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of our engagement and The Burrow was everything we hoped for. Sue's welcome was very warm and friendly, and the cottage was full of character and charm. We were delighted by the books, pictures, CDs and DVDs. It felt like a home. We loved sitting on the verandah watching the birds, especially the little blue wrens darting about, and the water birds on the billabong. Another delight was seeing the Airedales happily rollicking on the grass. There was such joy in it!
There is total serenity and tranquility here yet the wineries, art galleries and gardens of the Yarra Valley are really close by. We hope to return and it would feel like visiting friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2018
Thank you for your beautiful review and for feeling so much at home in The Burrow. It was a privilege to have you stay to celebrate your wonderful fiftieth anniversary, and we hope it remains a very special memory and way to mark such a milestone. Clearly you have a very special relationship that deserves every way to cherish it.

Our very best wishes, and we do look forward to welcoming you again.
Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dogs on Tour in the Yarra Valley ...”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent 4 lovely days at The Burrow over the March long weekend. Great space to return to each day after visiting dog-friendly wineries and cafes around the Yarra Valley. We spent a lot of time just sitting on the verandah watching the lake and listening to all of the birds. Plenty of reading materials and brochures available, wonderful local produce provided - even personalised treat bags for the dogs. Sue and Bill are very generous in sharing their slice of paradise.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Thank you for your warm review and for sharing your two lovely dogs with us. It was especially good that you found so many places that welcome dogs ~ even our nearby De Bortoli Winery and Rochford Winery ~ in addition to some local great parks and riverside walks.

It was a great pleasure to have you. We hope you feel nicely relaxed after your visit to the Yarra Valley and to Wombat Bend.
cheers, and pats for your two beautiful furries.
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Tranquility”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

If you are in need of peace, quiet and tranquillity and simply to just re-charge, The Burrow at Wombat Bend is the place to be. Without a doubt this beautiful little Cottage with the billabong and surrounding grounds is the best way to get back to nature. Just sitting on the verandah having breakfast and listening to the birds, ducks and wild life is food for the soul.
The Cottage is so cosy with everything you could possibly need. The fridge and pantry is stocked, there are shelves of books and dvds, beautiful toiletries, well equipped kitchen, aircon and heating….everything has been thought of. I loved taking one of the deck chairs down to the edge of the Billabong and just sitting, or reading and breathing the beautiful fresh air…. The perfect tonic for a City girl.
Sue and Bill are perfect hosts with so much knowledge of the local wildlife and vegitation. An extra special bonus for me were Angus and Beckham, Sue and Bill’s two beautiful Airedale Terriers who gave me lots of cuddles. What more could I ask for!
I had four nights at The Burrow and they were perfect. Would thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2018
Thank you for your special and beautiful comments about your time in The Burrow. To know that you found the peacefulness that you craved, and the freedom to just 'be in the moment' is music to our ears. It is so necessary to re-connect with nature ~ something that city living drains away without you even noticing its effects, until the day comes when you know it is the most important 'must have now' or your soul will die.
And what a wonderful experience we shared on your final morning here, watching the flock of Musk Lorikeets descending on the flowering eucalypts in an early morning frenzy of feeding. There's nothing quite like being in the moment when that happens !

Angus and Beckham are missing you already, as are we. Come back soon.
Sue & Bill, Angus & Beckham ~ and the birds of Wombat Bend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S
Melton West
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil retreat”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Sue and Bill are the perfect hosts. We enjoyed a one night stay but wished it had been longer. A tranquil setting where you can relax and enjoy the nature around you. The billabong, the wildlife and a wonderful breakfast. It was good for the soul. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
Thank you for your warm review, it was such a pleasure to chat with you. Even just a night away from the hustle of the city, and a quiet leisurely country breakfast in the sunshine can make the difference to one's soul. We hope yours stays calm and happy for a good long time.
Warmest wishes
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
2 reviews
“Paradise in the Yarra Valley”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The perfect place to stay for a relaxing weekend in the Yarra Valley. The Burrow is truly a ‘home away from home’. Sue and Bill do a fantastic job at welcoming you to their corner of paradise; giving fabulous recommendations and making sure the fridge is well stocked with all sorts of goodies to enjoy during your stay!

If you’re looking to experience some true Australian hospitality in such a peaceful setting you can’t go past The Burrow at Wombats Bend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Thank you for your great review of your stay in The Burrow. We loved having you, and your planning to make the most of every moment was impressive. But it was so good that you also made special time to just be in the moment, and enjoy watching the birds on the billabong as they potter about feeding and resting ... and just 'being birds'. We hope that all the memories you flew home with will entice you back again to our little bit of paradise.
Cheers, Sue & Bill, Beckham & Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
134juro
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Writing Retreat”
Reviewed February 9, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I stayed two whole weeks at Wombat Bend and fell in love with it.

It's the perfect place for focussed work and quiet contemplation. The Burrow is a spatious, lovingly decorated & very well equipped cottage: the kitchen is stocked to suit a serious cook; aircon & heating are working well; there are books, videos, music and even binoculars for bird watching - it's a home away from home.

For writers, there is peace, reliable internet, a great coffeemaker, a reading nook and a desk overlooking the billabong, which is shaded by gum trees and inhabited by a rather entertaining flock of coots.

You can take a stroll around the property if you need a break from work & I had breakfast on the verandah and listened to the frogs at night. A walk up the dirt road leads to a hill overlooking the Yarra valley with terrific sunsets among the vinyards.

Sue & Bill are wonderful hosts: generous to a fault, considerate and with a genuine concern for the well-being of their guests. With their deep knowledge and love of nature they have created a little oasis on their property.

I got some serious work done and came back a (slightly) better human being.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Thank you for such wonderful review of your two weeks here in The Burrow.

We are full of admiration for the dedication with which you worked (as you said, deadlines are a great incentive) but it was also lovely that you gave yourself daily permission to absorb the life of Wombat Bend ~ something that is possible when time is slowed and the rhythm of each day takes on its own familiarity.

It was a privilege to have your company ~ and we miss you very much.
We wish you great success with the current project and hope that the need for a future writing retreat will emerge, so you will return.

Or even just come back for some Wombat Bend time ~

Warmest wishes
Sue & Bill, Angus & Beckham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Burrow is at Dixon's Creek. The accomodation is a generous, one-bedroom house with all the amenities one could want. The supplies are generous and thoughtful and there is a wonderful supply of booklets on the activities of the area, wineries, art galleries, outstanding bush walks and hot-air ballooning for starters!

The proprietors, Bill Molyneux and Sue Forrester have developed the site from plain farming land to the outstandingly beautiful treed billabong beside which The Biurrow sits. They are experts in land care and knowledge of native flora and fauna. If that is an area of interest the The Burrow is THE PLACE you must stay. My wife and I will never forget the beauty there.

It is recommended without reservation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2018
Thank you for your very generous review of The Burrow, and for making it clear how very much you enjoyed your experience here. It was such a pleasure engaging with your enthusiasm and keen interest in our environment, and to talk further on topics of mutual interest.

We loved having you, and congratulate your family in knowing just how perfect a Gift Voucher to The Burrow would be for your birthday gifts.

We hope too there may be an opportunity for another visit and more exploration of the Yarra Valley and its other treasures.

warmest wishes
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing