We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful haven from the hustle and bustle”
other travelers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mandy C
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful haven from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We wish that we had found this wonderful B & B years ago. It is close to all that the Yarra Valley offers but far enough away from towns to offer absolute peace and tranquility. The cottage is extremely well appointed with a comfortable bed and the fabulous hosts provided so any extras- a fridge full of food, nibbles waiting for us on arrival, quality toiletries and wonderful hospitality. The grounds which include a private lake and entrancing birdlife were a great setting for afternoon nibbles and local bubbly. We would have liked a longer stay just to spend more time at the Burrow itself!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thank you for your lovely warm review. We are truly thrilled that you discovered The Burrow and clearly enjoyed the chance to get away from all the pressures of normal life; as well as some take home memories of bubbles by the billabong on a long and lovely, peaceful summer afternoon.

We do hope that you can find a chance to return for a bit more exploring of Wombat Bend too. The lights will be on !

Warmest wishes, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B
1 review
“relaxing peaceful and takes you back to nature,”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

its was great staying at Bill and Sue's place. The hard work they have spent creating this oasis, allows their guests to be to chill out from the hustle of the real world. made you appreciate the nature around you. and it was nice to be able to slow down.

thanks again Bill and Sue

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2017
We loved having you to stay, and we also appreciated your enjoyment and interest in our sanctuary that is Wombat Bend ... a place of quiet nature for humans and wildlife to live in harmony. Thank you for being such wonderful guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfaRomeo...
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful country retreat surrounded by nature.”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

An idyllic wooden cabin beside a billabong surrounded by native flora and fauna. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. The location is within easy driving distance to wineries and restaurants if you want to indulge and also to the shops at Yarra Glen for supplies if you prefer to do your own catering and have a relaxing night in. If you like cycling then the Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail and the Yarra Ranges National park are nearby. Our hosts Sue and Bill were extremely welcoming, kind and generous. We hope to return to explore the area in greater depth.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review of your time in The Burrow, and may we say what a great pleasure it was for us to have you to stay for four nights. That length of stay does give a much better chance to not only relax, but to also explore some of the many wonderful special places in the Valley.

It was extra special that you also brought your bikes ! there are so many bike-friendly places to ride throughout the region, and we hope you'll make a return visit with your bikes soon ... autumn is a fabulous time for riding the Warburton Trail.

Many thanks and warmest regards
Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Homey comfort, hide-away serenity and wetland bird life in the beautiful Yarra Valley”
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

If you're looking for a hide-away in the Yarra Valley only about an hour from Melbourne, you couldn't find a better B&B self contained cottage than The Burrow at Wombat Bend, at Dixons Creek near Yarra Glen. The accommodation for two provides rustic homey comfort overlooking an extensive lake wetland which attracts many varieties of birds and other unique Australian wildlife. Breakfast provisions are delicious and more than generous, and full kitchen amenities enable self catering with ease. Sue and Bill offer warm and gracious hospitality, and are an amazing source of knowledge about the Australian bush and wildlife. Visit wineries, beautiful gardens, a chocolate factory, and a quick trip to Healesville sanctuary - there are copious things to see and do and places to eat. We love returning to The Burrow to rest and recharge in this lovely Aussie bushland setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
Thank you for your truly lovely review and thoughtful comments ~ you've encapsulated everything and more that our guests love about The Burrow. We feel very lucky that you choose to come back so often, and on this occasion to celebrate a special anniversary.

We are glad that you were able to catch your breath after a seriously busy year, and we thoroughly enjoyed the chance for conversations on our many mutual interests, books included !

We'll look forward to seeing you again when city life gets a bit too much.

Happy Christmas ~ Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby_Scot...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location, wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed there for one night with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. One night simply wasn't long enough, the property is so beautiful and peaceful you really need more than one night to unwind properly! We had a wonderful stay though, Sue was absolutely lovely (even gave us an anniversary card on our arrival), the grounds were stunning and the food was delicious we honestly couldn't fault a thing if we tried. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from everything for a few nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
We were charmed to have you stay at Wombat Bend, and to have you celebrate your first wedding anniversary here was extra special ~ and we hope it will hold a special place in your memories. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and I can assure you we'd love to welcome you again .. so would the King Parrots ! Our very best wishes for all your future years and lots of happiness to come. Sue, Bill and the Airedales (and the King Parrots)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S...
1 review
“A Perfect Sanctuary”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at The Burrows for a couple of days to celebrate our birthdays. The cottage is cosy, warm, inviting and the view overlooking the cottage is magnificent. Sue and Bill are wonderful hosts that put in much effort to see to our comfort and needs. We had a wonderful time lazing around in the cottage, walking around the beautiful grounds, feeding the birds and ducks, and playing with the two adorable Airedales Chili and Beckham. It is a sanctuary of peace and tranquil - a perfect getaway! We left the place feeling relaxed and refreshed. We could not ask for more!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you for such warm and lovely comments, and for enjoying your time here so thoroughly. It was such a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to know that your special birthday celebrations were so memorable ~ and that your own lovely family had organised some surprises for you both. We feel very privileged that people choose to have a celebration of a special occasion here at Wombat Bend, and that your take-home memories stay in your hearts for a long time. Thank you for sharing time with us and for loving Chilli and Beckham too. They love being included! warmest regards, Sue & Bill, Chilli and Beckham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We came back from Hong Kong, truly a real Retreat again!”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We kept missing this homely cottage since last visit in December 2015. With no regret in making the come back in 10 months, and wholeheartedly feeling stay at home sweet & relaxing home. We stayed 2 nights again this time, which is never enough for the reunion moment in seeing Sue, Bill and Airedale Terriers again. They always give you 5 stars warmest welcome gesture and provided all we needed for our stay. The cottage offers beautiful landscape view from inside, sound of nature music like hearing rain drop from the super comfortable bed at night, and birdsong wake up call in every morning! We hope to come back soon again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The genuine Human Touch from Owners & Homely Cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
It is such a great joy for us to know how much you love being here at Wombat Bend, and to welcome you home again to The Burrow is the icing on the cake. You are like precious family to us, and the Airedales are nodding in agreement.

To make the long journey once from Hong Kong to the Yarra Valley is amazing enough, but for you to choose it again in less than a year is just incredible. We do truly hope to see you once again at Wombat Bend ~ that will be wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing