We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Sanctuary”
other travelers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael S...
1 review
“A Perfect Sanctuary”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at The Burrows for a couple of days to celebrate our birthdays. The cottage is cosy, warm, inviting and the view overlooking the cottage is magnificent. Sue and Bill are wonderful hosts that put in much effort to see to our comfort and needs. We had a wonderful time lazing around in the cottage, walking around the beautiful grounds, feeding the birds and ducks, and playing with the two adorable Airedales Chili and Beckham. It is a sanctuary of peace and tranquil - a perfect getaway! We left the place feeling relaxed and refreshed. We could not ask for more!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you for such warm and lovely comments, and for enjoying your time here so thoroughly. It was such a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to know that your special birthday celebrations were so memorable ~ and that your own lovely family had organised some surprises for you both. We feel very privileged that people choose to have a celebration of a special occasion here at Wombat Bend, and that your take-home memories stay in your hearts for a long time. Thank you for sharing time with us and for loving Chilli and Beckham too. They love being included! warmest regards, Sue & Bill, Chilli and Beckham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We came back from Hong Kong, truly a real Retreat again!”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We kept missing this homely cottage since last visit in December 2015. With no regret in making the come back in 10 months, and wholeheartedly feeling stay at home sweet & relaxing home. We stayed 2 nights again this time, which is never enough for the reunion moment in seeing Sue, Bill and Airedale Terriers again. They always give you 5 stars warmest welcome gesture and provided all we needed for our stay. The cottage offers beautiful landscape view from inside, sound of nature music like hearing rain drop from the super comfortable bed at night, and birdsong wake up call in every morning! We hope to come back soon again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The genuine Human Touch from Owners & Homely Cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
It is such a great joy for us to know how much you love being here at Wombat Bend, and to welcome you home again to The Burrow is the icing on the cake. You are like precious family to us, and the Airedales are nodding in agreement.

To make the long journey once from Hong Kong to the Yarra Valley is amazing enough, but for you to choose it again in less than a year is just incredible. We do truly hope to see you once again at Wombat Bend ~ that will be wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKAbbott
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Australian sanctuary.”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re looking for accommodation that will make you feel as though you’ve finally returned home from a long and arduous journey, then The Burrow at Wombat Bend is the place for you. The guest cottage is warm and inviting, the food generous and delicious, and the treed property, with its tranquil billabong, is a testament to a long-held vision and thirty years of hard work by hosts Bill and Sue, who are both genuine and welcoming. We couldn’t have picked a more perfect retreat for a quick getaway, the only regret being that it was quick, and we very much look forward to another visit. Just beautiful. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the tranquility, and meeting owners Bill Molyneux and Sue Forrester
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
There must have been some good spirits abroad that sent you our way, I think .. .. or the stars were aligned perhaps. Either way, it was a great pleasure to welcome you and, within a few moments of chat, discover layers of empathy in so many topics. To know that you felt immediately at home gives us even greater pleasure, and the icing on the cake would be to have you stay a little longer next time so you can immerse yourselves in the sanctuary that is Wombat Bend. Come back soon .... Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafaelaGu...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Relaxing and cozy Nature Sanctuary”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The first thing I told Sue when we arrived at The Burrow was "I could live here!"... Everything is so perfect! The place is beautifully decorated, with everything you need to cook, the bed is very comfortable and shower is good, with heaters all over the place, even in the toilet.
Just few minutes by car from many wineries and Yarra Glen restaurants, this is a perfect location, in the middle of the beautiful Yarra Valley!
There is an amazing view to the lake and you feel in the middle of the nature, waking up with birds having their breakfast on the balcony. Sue and Bill are amazing, they make sure to make your stay even more perfect. And there are 3 lovely dogs!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but most about the nature.
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
We did so enjoy welcoming you to The Burrow and to see how much you loved everything at Wombat Bend was a great pleasure for us. Your love of Nature and your sensitivity to the natural world is very heart-warming and very real. Thank you for choosing to stay with us ~ we would love to see you again, and of course so would the Airedales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G
1 review
“Absolutely Magnificent!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I LOVE staying at The Burrow!!! This was my second visit within a short time and I will definitely be back.
I recently went with my husband for a couple of days and then stayed on for the week by myself.
It is warm and cosy inside the cottage and has a magnificent view out over the lake.
Bill and Sue have created a haven. The birdsong in the day and sound of frogs at night is just wonderful.
And of course their adorable Airedale dogs are a complete delight!
It's the perfect retreat.
As well as enjoying walks around the property - I loved walking in the surrounding area - lots of cows, sheep and horses to say hello to!
Plenty to do in the Yarra Valley - but I preferred to just hang quietly at The Burrow.
Looking forward to returning soon.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
And you know just how much we love having you stay in The Burrow. Each time you come, you have immersed yourself in Wombat Bend, learning its light and shade, absorbing its ever-changing life, and finding all the quiet places in which to connect with the deep peace of Nature.

We are very much touched that you have connected in such a spiritual way with the soul of Wombat Bend ~ a 'retreat' in the best sense of the word, a place of restfulness, calm and quiet that strengthens one's own spirit.

We look forward to your call to say that you are coming back soon.
Sue, Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie An...
Seminyak, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thank you Sue and Bill for yet another perfect getaway, this time with mum in tow. We arrived needing a night away from the hectic pace of the city. We yearned to be surrounded by nature and peace. We found ourselves on an unusually mild afternoon, sitting on your balcony watching the birds on the lake whilst sipping a local pinot. BLISS! It was also lovely to see your gorgeous Airedales frolicking around the property. Mum was thrilled with the accommodation, the super comfy bed, warm furnishings and delicious bread, cheese and breakfast provisions. She said is was one of the best getaways she has had. A credit to your hospitality. We plan to return! Thanks again x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outlook and views
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you so much for such a warm and lovely review. It was a great treat to have you return, and to bring your beautiful Mum this time. We shared a lot of gardening chat and could have continued for hours ... it's such a pleasure to know our guests immediately feel at home and start to breathe more slowly, even before they know it. I'm delighted you both felt at home .. but without the pressures of home. Do come back again soon. The Airedales will love to see you again too !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family stayed at The Burrow for the long weekend - our two girls aged 9 and 14 were with us. It is a space of infinite grace and friendship. Sue and Bill are wonderful warm souls and this is reflected in the place they have created. We cooked, sat and pondered the ducks and talked. Reading was high on the list, wrapped in blankets on the veranda or inside in the coziness. Lots of special cuddles with the dogs esp Mr Beckham. Cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Such a special family ! we adored having the girls, loved that you rugged up and filled your lungs with fresh Wombat Bend air, gave the Airedales their full measure of attention, and altogether shared your pleasure in so many simple and natural enjoyments. A time to relax, a time to breathe, and a time to remember. Come back soon. We miss you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing