We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant
Reserve with
De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Winery & Restaurant
Williamstown, Vic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant is not the only attraction. An extensive range of wines to taste in the tasting room prior to lunch is a great way to heighten the senses. They also have a selection of wines at bargain prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nukle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    87
    24
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had Easter lunch here. Food was very average! And the wines on offer were terrible!
Staff were grubby, and venue is dated. Absolutely not worth the high rating. Much better alternatives available in the Yarra Valley to eat at.

Helpful?
Thank Kikikerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Owner at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Good afternoon ,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself upon your recent lunch with us.
We do pride ourselves on setting a high standard in the food we offer to diners to make their visit here a memorable one. It is also disappointing that you did not enjoy the wines either.
I will certainly pass on your comments to our Chef and Restaurant Manager.
We appreciate hearing from our customers, whether the comments are positive or otherwise as it helps us to maintain our high level of service and quality.
I do hope you will consider returning to our restaurant some time in the future
Kind regards,
Leanne De Bortoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch with Friends”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Four of us recently had our first taste of the restaurant at De Bortoli's. We had not been there for years. For those not familiar with the area it is approximately 1.5 hours north east of the CBD. Well what a delightful experience! The staff are attentive, the menu comprehensive, in that one would be hard pressed not to find something to suit all persuasions - vegetarian, fish lovers and the meat and pasta fanciers. We all opted for the generous Antipasto platter; one to share between two people. One of the best I have had anywhere. We particularly loved the smoked mozzarella stuffed with mushrooms. Plenty of fantastic sourdough bread to accompany this. Three of us choose the duck combo. Duck breast on finely shredded cavolo negro and baby dutch carrots with a confit of duck in a light spring roll like pastry. One of our party had the fish which was also excellent. We didn't have room for desserts but we were tempted! We all shared a bottle of La Boheme Syrah Gamay. ( A Shiraz mellowed with the addition of the Gamay). Good choice we all thought, even with the fish. But then we are red lovers! We have already recommended the restaurant to others and we will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Sounds like your visit to 'Locale' restaurant after many years was well worth the wait! Scrumptious food, great wine with views to match makes a lovely day spent with friends in the valley, I'm sure you will agree. We look forward to you visiting us again and enjoying more of the same experience. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Reason to return”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It has been some time since we visited De Bortoli's, but going back again was well worth the effort
This well known Winery offers great service, atmosphere and excellent food.

We enjoyed a great lunch starting with a shared Antipasto plate followed by a excellent Striploin that melted in your mouth. My wife selected Gnocchi con Ragu di Maiale, and being a lover of Gnocchi, she said it was the best she hadever tasted. All was washed down with excellent De Bortoli wines and finished off with dessert & fine coffee.
For authentic Italian cuisine De Bortoli's would be hard to beat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NovaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are thrilled that you had such a lovely day out here when you visited us last week. The chef's seasonal antipasto is a great starter with a fantastic selection of salumi, cheese, olives to name a few. I am sure our chef will be happy to hear about your wife's comments on his handmade gnocchi!!

Look forward to having you out here again in the valley sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding for friend”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful location, friendly professional staff. Wonderful wine and food catered even to my difficult dietary requirements without issue. Will be back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your evening spent with us at a recent wedding held here. We hope you are able to come and visit us again soon to enjoy some more great food and wine with us. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing