We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary”

De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant
Reserve with
De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Winery & Restaurant
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I cant believe all the 5 reviews. I thought it was very average. The menu is very limited - and not really expensive. The mains and entree was Ok but the dessert was poor. No way was it a creme brûlée. The ice cream was nice and the wine was pretty good. The room itself (apart from the view) is totally ordinary.
I would certainly not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Owner at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear AussieAnge,
Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry you did not find the restaurant to your liking. We do try to offer a range of interesting and delicious items on our menu and have received many favourable comments.

We appreciate your comments as we welcome all feedback from our visitors, positive or otherwise, as it helps us to maintain the high standards that we strive for in all areas of wine, food and service.
Regards,
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    87
    24
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing venue and food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was gobsmacked when I arrived at the vineyard with its stunning rows of grapes and rolling hills that is unique to the Yarra Valley.

My fiance and I went for a 3 course $65 dinner set which it not only great value for money but was absolutely scrumptous. I must've devoured the steak in record time. Service was great as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hectic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The yarra valley is a spectacular place to visit this time of the year - green and lush! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit wih us and hope you visit us again soon to enjoy more of our scrumptious menu items we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“surprisingly great food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The food was spectacular. I had not expected the food to be so well presented as the wine would normally be the feature. Service was good and we could not believe how close it was to Melbourne and such an easy day trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good morning

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent visit to our winery and restaurant. Only one hours drive from Melbourne CBD does make a day visit to the yarra valley very easy. We are pleased you enjoyed our cuisine at Locale restaurant as much as the wines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went for lunch and had a wonderful time. Each course was absolutely superb. So wonderful to be treated with such professionalism by the staff. We had a bottle of Phi sauvignon which was great, loved it. Also the creme brûlée which I had, probably the best ever. We didn't know about the wine tasting, so will do that next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maeveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback about your recent visit with us. The creme brulee is a relatively new addition to our dessert menu and definitely a favourite of our guests. We're pleased you enjoyed your experience in the yarra valley & our restaurant and be sure to visit our cellar door and cheese shop next time you are out here. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This restaurant just gets better and better”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

De Bortoli Winery and Restaurant is in a picturesque setting. We sat on a balcony and listened to the birds in the nearby trees as we ate. Service was excellent. We were given time to enjoy a relaxed experience but a waiter appeared whenever needed. The antipasta put most Italian restaurants to shame with its high quality ingredients and variety of ingredients. De Bortoli's wine is very good and good quality wine is served by the glass. We finished our visit by going to the wine tasting room and buying a fine liqueur. Cheeses, nibbles and souvenir gifts are also available for purchase.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbyarravalley, Guest Relations Manager at De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful time dining on our balcony... a great way to enjoy a lovely Spring afternoon. We hope you visit us again soon and indulge in more cheese and wine from our cellar door also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to De Bortoli Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing