We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge with fireplace, flatscreen TV and comfortable furniture.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with fireplace, flatscreen TV and comfortable furniture.
Spacious Lounge/Dining area Bedroom with king size bed.Silk doona in summer, down doona and electric blanket in winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lounge with fireplace, flatscreen TV and comfortable furniture.
Spacious Lounge/Dining area
Bedroom with king size bed.Silk doona in summer, down doona and electric blanket in winter
Secluded cottage by the lake
Bathroom, with twin basins and double spa. Separate shower
Fully equiped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, fridge/freezer, cooktop and oven
Have some nibbles on your private deck, looking over the lake.
Cozy fireplace for the colder months
Wake up to the reflection of the gum trees on the lake.
Private garden by the cottage
External
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
favourite...
Ashburton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Idyllic stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Surrounded by farmland, grazing cattle including young calves, and views out to the dam with ducks and other birdlife, Glenlowren is the perfect place for a rest. On the site of the original settlers cottage, Glenlowren is furnished to a high standard with a very comfortable bed, nice quality linen and generous breakfast supplies. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything for a self catering holiday.

Glenlowren is conveniently located for touring the Yarra Valley being about 15 minutes from Healesville. There is a wonderful farm butcher close by, whose pies in particular we can definitely recommend.

A DVD player, particularly for cold nights in front of the fire would be nice, as would a BBQ.

All in all, a lovely stay and we will definitely return as it is convenient to Melbourne for a long weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable homely cottage
Liked least: Lack of BBQ and DVD player
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The best villa we ever stayed in Australia”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The location is excellent, the villa is so well managed in every detail. It is not just homely, but so well equipped.... from the kitchen, to the bathroom, to the sofa area and even the carpets. The villa got great views and it is so quiet and comfortable. Our 3 days stay was really relaxing. We were busy sitting there doing nothing but watching the scenery, enjoying the sunset, wines, beer, cheese..... Thanks Tinne for all the works to make our stay such a memorable one.There is a neighboring farm, Yarra Valley Custom Meats, that sells meats, excellent quality.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2016
To see people enjoying their stay at Glenlowren gives us an enormous amount of satisfaction, as we love the beauty and serenity of this place so much ourselves. We are glad that Glenlowren was able to show you what relaxation is all about, before your return to a busy life in Hong Kong. We would love to see you again, next time you are in the Yarra Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoElle888...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Two nights doesn't feel like long enough to slip into relaxation and escape the routine of city life. At Glenlowren this happens within the first 30 minutes. If the serenity of the rural setting framed by vineyards, pastoral paddocks and grazing kangaroos isn't enough to lower the blood pressure then inside the cottage will surely do the trick. The owner's eye for detail is exceptional - candles above the spa, complimentary chocolates and port and a fire ready to go (yes, we lit it even in December). Not to mention a breakfast that will keep you keep you going all day. We asked for vegetarian options and Tinne was more than happy to oblige. Although I think the cherry on this amazing weekend was waking each morning to drifting mist across the lake as the sun gently rose for yet another perfect day in the Yarra Valley. We will definitely be back - 5 star all the way - it really is an exceptional romantic getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the bedroom
Liked least: Saying goodbye
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2015
To slip into relaxation the moment you arrive at Glenlowren is exactly what we are striving for our guests to experience. Thank you for your spontanious confirmation, indicating we are on the right track! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Glenlowren and we would love to welcome you back at some stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThisisBen...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Magical, a perfect country get-away”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Outstanding. Could not find anything wrong. Beautiful location, regardless of rain or shine the scenery is perfect. Cottage was very well maintained, a touch of vintage being brought into the 21st century. Kitchen was stocked with more than enough breakfast supplies, and a complimentary glass of Port on arrival. Wi-fi available and apple TV, we ended up staying in watching Netflix and enjoying some wine. Owners are very accommodating and give you all the space and privacy needed. Perfect for romantic weekends away, will be keen to come back. 10/10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We had to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that the cottage met with your expectations and that you were able to enjoy that what Glenlowren has to offer. We would love to welcome you back at some stage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen g
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful and well cared for”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were very pleased with the peaceful beauty of the well appointed cabin. Brilliant views and very helpful owners. We plan to return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
We are glad you were able to appreciate the peacefulness of Glenlowren. It does replenish the soul. We would love to welcome you back! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damiano I
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best BnB we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I have been to a number of BnBs.. and this place is by far the best we've stayed in. The cottage was much bigger than we expected, and everything was new, while still retaining charm. New kitchen and bathroom, and heated bathroom floors. Fireplace with plenty of wood. Lots of attention to detail, and little things like giving fresh oranges and a juicer instead of orange juice so you can squeeze your own juice for breakfast. Nespresso machine with free pods. Even the snack/mini-bar was very reasonably priced (I'd say almost cost price). The view from the bedroom is incredible. A wonderful romantic experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No DVD player, but had an AppleTV instead and we connected with our own netflix account.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Wow, the best you stayed in! Very happy to hear that. We certainly try to make our guests' experience at Glenlowren a special one and it is great to hear that we are hitting the mark. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we would love to welcome you back next time you are in the Yarra Valley. All the best, Pieter and Tinne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had such an amazing time at Glenlowren. The cottage is lovely and the views of the farm and lake are wonderful to wake up to. We were greeted on arrival and the fire was already going making the whole cottage warm and cosy.
The cottage is set away from the main house making it feel like you're completely secluded. Lovely fresh local produce was supplied for breakfast on both days of our stay.
Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.
I would recommend Glenlowren to anyone wanting a lovely get away in the Yarra Valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Glenlowren. Yes, the view to the lake from the bedroom is indeed magical, especially when the mist is doing its dance on the surface. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Glenlowren and we would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing