We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, nice wine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Bortoli Winery

De Bortoli Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.89*
and up
Gourmet Vineyard Lunch and Yarra Valley Winery Tour from Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poor service, nice wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

As one of the few cellar doors that charge for tastings in the region, It was disappointing that they provided only one glass to share between us - which would have been awkward if we weren't a couple.

The various staff weren't particularly interested in explaining or discussing the wines, even though we were one of three small groups/couples in the room.

It was as though they treated everyone who walked in the door as free riding drunkards- rather than potential customers.

Really disappointing service from a cellar door that we'd been recommended to try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbieandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a cold rainy July Saturday lunch here. They have a set menu on weekends but it covers almost everyone's likes.
The service was great, stunning view, amazing wine and of course the food was simply delish!
We had no plans to purchase wine and of course left heavy handed lol.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loumartin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

De Bortoli never disappoints. A fantastic place for luch of dinner at very reasonable prices. 3 course lunch is filling and tasted great. Good selection of there own wines as well as a few french ones. Staff were friendly and attentive. Overall a get place that caters for couples familys or bigger get togethers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jace1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely winery and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved this winery. It is one of the wineries in the yarra valley that does a great sparkling. We stopped and had a chesse platter with our wine tasting, and the cheeses were lovely.
One of the better stops in our weekend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a fantastic winery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

DeBortoli was chosen by "A Day in the Valley" tours and we were rapt in Brians choice. We were lucky enough to see the vineyard in its Autumn colours and the long drive to the cellar door was brilliant. Again Yarra valley people made us feel very welcome ( West Aussies take note) and treated us like we were the only people there (we weren't). Staff very knowledgeable on the wines and their Pinot was just brilliant. Cheese and biscuits were provided during tastings and while there was as a small charge of $5 it was taken off when buying any of their products which we thought was fair enough.Please visit them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 05Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bortoli Winery also viewed

Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley
Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to De Bortoli Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing