We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Conference Food and Conference Room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dixons Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yarra Valley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dixons Creek
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have conducted a number of leadership programs at this venue. The location is lovely with plenty of opportunities for pleasant walks nearby. The main conference room is one of the best that I have encountered- lots of natural light, space and technical gizzmos if needed.

The best thing about the venue though is the food. Simon is an amazing chef and there is plenty of variety and quantity of food. His buffets are fantastic and he caters well for participants who have special diets. It is worth coming here just for this as I have found that some venues seem to be more interested in cost cutting than in providing good tucker.

The bedrooms are not luxurious but they are comfortable and adequate for what is needed.

The owners support a number of charities including medical expeditions to Papua New Guinea.

I often recommend this venue to clients and will keep returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

This venue had the best staff and service I have experienced. Wonderful woodland location that's great summer or winter. Chef Simon runs a fantastic kitchen and the ran a great team building event with mystery boxes for each team. The dishes were great and shared by everyone. The centre is also good for individuals or couples wanting a retreat from the busy city. About 45minutes from Melbourne and miles away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheryleMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I spent 3 days here on a work conference. Great rooms with ensuite and air-conditioning - no tv in rooms but there are in the various communal areas. Very clean and servicing is great. All staff are friendly and hospitable. Food is fantastic - best conference food I've had. Really peaceful surrounds with some lovely walks if you get time. There is an outdoor pool which opens in summer - a bit cold for now. The climbing wall also looks great. Separate wings for various conferences - you have your own space but all congregate in the main dining area for lunch and dinner. A fantastic open fire which we all sat in front after the day and before dinner with some great wine. Free wi-fi in some areas but all rooms have free broadband. All up - great place with lovely hosts.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank 1310Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My second time at the Yarra Valley Conference Centre (for work) and i continue to be impressed.

The chef produced 3 main meals and two 'teas' every day, all tasty, nutritious and varied in style, he happily accommodated various different dietary requirements in our group with either enough variety of choices at the buffet style meals and/or substitutions for particular restrictions (gluten free/dairy free/no pork etc)

Good clean basic rooms, a bit noisy due to the water pumps at times but generally fine. Good extras for a long residential, our groups enjoyed an afternoon swim and spa as well as using the walking trails and the gym, and we all enjoyed the solid selection of local wines from the bar.

Every staff member I encountered was friendly, efficient and helpful: room attendants, kitchen staff, bar staff and management

Highly recommend YVCC as a conference or training venue.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask about a room away from the water pumps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madwolf3070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I've stayed twice now at the YVCC and the only regret I've had is that I haven't had my wife or family with me. The accommodation is air conditioned with electric blankets. I haven't needed them yet. Each room has an ensuite. The beds are very comfortable.

Each Cottage has somewhere to make a tea/coffee after hours. The main building houses the bar and common area which has a pool table and a great outdoor deck area. The open fire area is surrounded by leather lounges. The large dining area is also complemented by an outdoor cooking area featuring a wood-fired pizza oven, BBQ and rotisserie.

Simon is the Chef and his meals are to die for considering the quantities he has to produce. A choice of a hot breakfast along with cereal and fruit is followed by freshly baked morning tea, hot lunch choice and salad, another freshly baked afternoon tea and then back again for a two course dinner.

The YVCC is a short trip out of Yarra Glen. The staff are so accommodating and prepared to assist. The owners support a number of worthy charities including an animal refuge onsite elsewhere on the property.

There is no room service that I'm aware of. There is a pool and a gym.

Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Cottage 6 has it's own TV, fire and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrisbaneSenrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Érika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixons Creek
12.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
561 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
338 reviews
18.9 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
150 reviews
13.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Estate

Address: 2164 Melba Hwy, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia (Formerly Yarra Valley Conference Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen > Dixons Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dixons Creek
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a bit unique at the Yarra Valley Estate because as well as hosting conferences, we are popular with family groups coming away for a few days (family reunions, special birthday celebrations, etc), special interest groups (nature lovers, bush walkers, car enthusiasts etc), and host gorgeous weddings (as we are situated on 120 stunning acres of lawns, bush tracks, towering gums and native bush). We're also unique in that we have our own airstrip - so people can fly in to our property in just 10 minutes from Melbourne. Plus we have our own Wildlife Rescue Sanctuary, Babbajin Park, where rescued animals are brought in by the public, to be rehabilitated - and it's only open (by appointment) to guests staying with us. We are family owned and run and husband and wife team John & Louise Ward go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. They are closely connected with three charitable organisations, which they support financially with profits from Yarra Valley Estate. Please call us with any enquiries - and we look forward to welcoming you soon to stay with us here in the Yarra Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Estate Dixons Creek, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing