We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of De'Vine Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De'Vine Escape
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We needed to Tay overnight for a wedding nearby in the Yarra Valley this past Saturday night. It was difficult to get accommodation as it must be related to wedding season in Victoria. The price seemed really high but we had no choice so took it. We arrived at 5 to drop our gear off before going to the wedding. The room was modest and fine but for $300 we expected the minuscule TV to work let alone the heater, which both did not and it is pretty cold there. As we were meeting mum for a birthday lunch nearby for her birthday lunch the following day at 12 pm we asked the day before for possible late check out ie 1100 instead of 1000 so we did not need hang around for 2 hours in Yarra valley but no, too difficult. Seriously was each room to be filled between 1000and 1100 on a Sunday. Poor service. Just represents what Australians often accept despite high service prices. They couldn't even suggest other things to do in that free 2 hours that did not involve wine tasting. Poor service.
E

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Owner at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank-you for providing feedback on your recent stay, we take all reviews seriously and have shared with our staff and management team.
As our website and online booking channels clearly state Check in times are from 2pm and Check out is 10am.
We do our best to allow flexibility on these times, however it ultimately depends on occupancy, new arrivals and our housekeepers scheduled shift times.
Your original request for a 12.30pm checkout was not possible, however our office lady did arrange an 11am checkout, as noted on our housekeepers running sheet.
She was unable to allow your further request to ‘stop in later to use our facilities to shower’.

Our staff are on duty 7 days a week from 9am till 5pm to answer any questions, provide travel information or attend to any housekeeping issues. An after hours number is provided to onsite guests for any further assistance.
Our reception is well equipt with travel brochures of local attractions and activities, maps, as well as our Welcome board updated weekly listing all local markets, live music, horseracing, and festivals in our area.

Regarding the new digital television in your room not working, as well as the split system heater. Our rooms are powered by the key tag device – it appears that you did not push the tag fully into the key slot, as maintenance have checked your room and found no problem. We have had new arrival guests also use the same room without problems.

Your feedback will be taken on board by our staff, making us ever more diligent to provide the best service possible for our guests over our most high demand fully booked weekends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 210 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay here at De'vine via a deal voucher. I must say that it was worth it for the price that we pay.
Ross at the reception was accomodating and explained the perks that came with our voucher. He suggested a few restaurants where we can have dinner at and evem offered to make a reservation on our behalf.
There were about 23 air conditioned rooms. Each has a private back area with a table and chairs where one can relax and enjoy the scenery. Bed is comfy with of plenty of pillows. There is a good sized tv,dvd, mini bar fridge, coffee and tea kettle (and a complimentary bottle of water). Bathroom/shower is clean- there is hot/cold water, shampoo/shower gel dispenser and mini hair dryer.
It is situated at the back of a couple of vineyards which gives a relaxing atmosphere.
Overall, I am happy with our stay and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cri-t-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Wow five out of five, thanks for sharing your review! Our deals vouchers over the Winter months are fantastic value and a great way to take a break from city life. We have met so many new faces over the year with these offers and hope to welcome them all back. We really appreciate you sharing your experience, as it helps us to see that we are doing our job well. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

For the price you pay, you get pretty good value considering everything else in the valley cost a lot more. It's a neat place to come back and relax/sleep after a full day out of activities & wine tasting. Very central to everything, very helpful front desk. Not really a place for romantic holidays but good enough for a cosy weekend trip to the wine country.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneHoSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank-you for your review of DeVine Escape, we are always happy to get great scores from well seasoned travellers like yourself. Thanks for mentioning what great value our guests receive - we understand that the Yarra Valley is an expensive place to stay - and often the demand is higher than the supply - we try hard to keep our prices honest and offer the best service to help guests have a pleasant stay. With so many places to visit in our area, we hope to welcome you back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at De'Vine escape to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, the room, service and the beautiful surrounds of the winery made it very memorable stay. Would very much like to go back and stay longer. The room was very clean and spacious, the only negative thing is the room needed a security fly screen door as I felt the room felt a bit clostrafobic for sleeping as there was no window to open.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VACATIONS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at De'Vine for my 50th Birthday celebrations and had a great time, the rooms were big and clean, there was a little patio out the back so you can sit with a glass of wine, it had everything you needed. For 3 and 1/2 star hotel this one is a winner.

Room Tip: If you are wine tasting in the area this is a great spot to sleep overnight, Dixon Creek Cafe and Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at DeVine Escape. It is great to hear that you all had a good time during your celebrations - and 50 - really? - no way!
We hope to welcome you back again, perhaps for a nice restful break next time. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went to the Yarra Valley for the weekend of the Grape Grazing Festival and we chose this place because it looked good from the pictures, received good reviews and we were able to redeem frequent flyer points towards the room fee.

We stayed in room 2. The room was nice and modern with air-conditioning and new furniture, small flat screen television and DVD player, bar fridge, tea and coffee. It is a largish standard room with an outdoor area, which you can sit at the table and chairs and enjoy a drink looking over the vineyards. The bed was comfortable, although pillows were very thin and the bed was really two single beds joined, which I find is always a little bit uncomfortable if you find yourself sleeping on the join. We also received some complimentary chocolates (about 4 or 5) and, if we went to Fergusson’s Winery, a free wine tasting.

The room provided cabled Internet however it was not working when we were there, so not sure if this was just our room or the entire place. Fortunately mobile phone reception was sufficient enough that we could look up where we were going, etc.

The rooms are not serviced as part of the accommodation price, it’s an extra charge, which I don’t recall seeing advertised before I booked, which I thought a bit cheeky. Given we were only staying two nights, it didn’t matter, but if you were staying longer you would need to consider this.

The shower is not on mains/town water and may be bore water because the odour from the water smelt like a boys’ college room dormitory the day after curry night. Fortunately the wall mounted dispenser shower gel smelt nice and if you used enough of it, it would mask the smell a little bit. The shower water pressure and temperature consistency was also not very good or reliable, also most likely due to the water supply. If this is an issue for you, you may want to consider this. Not sure if you’ll find too many places in the area which offer town water, but you might need to research this.

Overall, since we didn’t pay much for the room it was okay. We might stay here again, unless we could find somewhere better value with a less smelly shower and better water pressure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccranny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank-you for reviewing our property. Lucky you for securing a two night stay at a great price during our most high demand weekend of the year – Grape Grazing and a Rochford concert, an awesome time to visit when the vibe in the Valley is so much fun!

DeVine management always want our guests to have a great experience , the chocolates you mention were surprise gifts to all our Valentines Day arrivals.
You also scored one of our newly installed King Beds – as recommended for ultimate guest comfort by Sleepmaker Australia, and now used in most 5 star hotels.

We were disappointed to read your review on our water as we were not aware of any problems, nothing was mentioned to our front office and we have room maintenance cards that can also be used to report any issues to be addressed. We would have gladly checked your ensuite, or relocated you to another room had we have known there was a problem.
Being in Rural Yarra Valley nobody is on ‘town water’, Devine’s guest water is stored tank/rainwater – not bore water. We have a complex regularly serviced treatment plant for grey water, annually approved by a local laws Health inspector. The smell you refer to was not the water but rather with record 40 + temperatures the entire week prior to your stay and Room 2 not in use the P-trap evaporated, causing the odour. This was easily fixed by pouring a bucket of water down the shower and adding deodorizing agents.

Regarding your comments on the servicing of Rooms our Website T’s & C’s clearly state that for longer stays our rooms are serviced every three days, this is also stated in our room compendiums, as well as a standard through most Valley accommodation.
We encourage travelers to investigate other accommodation in our area, as you will fast learn that our value is hard to beat.
We hope you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Yarra Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at De'Vine Escape for 3 nights in February ($670 in total - so $223 a night). Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. The room was basic, spacious and very clean. Some of the furniture looked a bit tired - for example, the desk had a lot of scratches and was looking a bit worse for wear. The hotel is in a nice setting with views onto the vineyard. It is well located to the Yarra Valley vineyards and seemed to be a more affordable option compared to other places.

It was incredibly hot during our stay. Luckily the air conditioning worked really well and we stayed nice and cool in our room. Lots of towels were supplied in the room and there were nice touches such as candles as well as a bottle of wine. The staff were very friendly and were happy to provide restaurant suggestions etc.

This is a nice place to stay but don't expect a high level of service. The rooms are not serviced. If you want your room serviced, you have to pay an additional charge. We were there for 3 nights so it would have been nice to have our rubbish collected at least on one of those days. When we needed to restock the toilet paper, tissues and milk/tea, we had to go and see the staff at the front desk. Not a big deal but at over $200 a night, I think it would have been good to have had some attention in this respect - especially considering the hotel was pretty much empty during our stay with only a few other guests around.

We attempted to go to Fergusons for breakfast one morning but after walking over there, we found it to be completely deserted so that was disappointing. We decided to drive to another restaurant nearby. Perhaps in low season they have limited opening hours. For this reason, it would have been good to have a toaster in the room as you are reliant on Fergusons being open if you want to have breakfast without having to get in the car. We ended up at Yarra Wood Winery for breakfast instead (5 minute drive away) - we had a delicious, generous breakfast there - highly recommended!

This is a basic, 'no frills' option but is clean and well located to all the major attractions of the area. It had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank-you for your honest review. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable long weekend stay in one of our Spa studios, despite the 40+ degree heat outside.
We appreciate you doing your homework on pricing and considering us as a more affordable option for the Yarra Valley.
Regarding room service, our T’s &C’s and room compendiums do state that we offer housekeeping if 4 or more nights are booked, our staff policy at DeVine is – rooms are only entered with verbal or written permission by the occupying guest. Each compendium has a room maintenance card that can be filled out and left at reception for any requests or housekeeping matters.
Our housekeepers stock each room with enough consumables to last a 2 night stay – we apologise if your 3 night stay was overlooked on their running sheet.
Larger rubbish bins are located at the end of each studio block, and BBQ area, to dispose of excess rubbish in rooms.
Fergusson’s are open daily for breakfast, but Closed Tuesdays only.
Continental Breakfast supplies are available from reception, with a generous supply and variety of choices along with toaster, crockery and cutlery at very reasonable prices.
Glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast with our friends at Yarrawood Winery – it’s our favourite and most recommended coffee spot!
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixons Creek
9.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
564 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
152 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De'Vine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De'Vine Escape

Address: 68 Wills Road | Yarra Valley, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen > Dixons Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dixons Creek
Price Range: $115 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De'Vine Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVine Escape is unique in the Yarra Valley, as it is set on a 10 acre working Vineyard, right in amongst the vines! With 23 Studio rooms available it is an ideal ,as well as beautiful,place to stay after special occasions & celebrations with family and friends. Our neighbours at Fergusson winery restaurant offer delicious cooked breakfasts, and weekend meals, upon availability and booking with our reception before arrival.All rooms have a spacious ensuite, private verandah and the facilities provided by most 3.5 star rated properties. Our reception is open from 9am till 5pm daily, we carry local information/brochures/maps of places to visit, as well as sell kiosk snack items and soft drinks.All Rooms now have new flat screen digital televisions installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your De'Vine Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De'Vine Escape Yarra Valley/Dixons Creek, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing