We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De'Vine Escape
Nearby Hotels
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa(Yarra Glen)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Healesville Motor Inn(Healesville)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yarra Valley Lodge(Chirnside Park)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
73
87
33
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
87
33
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra valleyfergusson wineryon arrivalcomplimentary bottle of wineattending a weddingshort drivebed was comfortablean overnight staynext morningspa roomenjoyable stayvinesvoucherwineriesaccommodationscooponproximity
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 215 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had actually booked the accomodation for the next weekend. An important event had popped up out of the blue and I needed to re-schedule. Jo Hussey from the accomodation was extremely helpful and re-scheduled my stay according to my convenience despite being completely booked out until mid January 2013. That itself gave me a great 1st impression

On arrival I and my husband were completely in awe. The enviroment that the accomodation was set in was absolutely gorgeous. The small modest accomodation was within the vineyard with a little water reservoir in front. It was definitely the place to be when you juist needed some time off to relax.

Jo was had made arrangements for a late check-in for us as well which was extremely convenient

The room was very neat and elegant. Everything within the room was well organized. The wineries, cafe and cheese factory were at convenient distance from the accomodation. Sitting at the foot of the bed with the serene view of the vineyard through the window was indeed a great getaway from the bustling and hectic routine life

The staff were extremely helpful. They recommended some great activities and cafes which were absolutely great

We would definitely love to visit again. I and my husband absolutely loved the stay and would like to wish the management all the best. And hope to see some new advances when we visit again. We would definitely recommend De'Vine Escape to friends

Angeline and Harin

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A beautiful view of the surrounding vines made for a very relaxing time. We got the rooms with a discount deal 2 nights price which was worth it . The large room was comfortable with a pleasant view of the vines and a comfortable paved area outside. Nice decor in the room with tea and coffee facilities and bar fridge. Good size bathroom. Flat screen TV.Fergussions Winery was next door easy walking to for breakfast. Lunch and Dinner available there too. No meals available at De'Vine, chips and snacks available for purchase. Yarra Glen a 5 minute drive for resaurants and takeaways and a supermarket. There are other surrounding wineries that offer meals. It was a very pleasant stay to use as a base to visit the surrounding towns and valley. I would stay again for a weekend at a good room rate special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

With great excitement we drove up to the Yarra Valley for our great weekend escape. Rolling hills and valleys met us within an hour of leaving our southern suburbs home, which must be one of the best features of this rural destination? But no! The Yarra Valley is filled with interesting things to see ... fascinating vineyards and dairies, quaint towns and hamlets, and of course great quality restaurants and cafes.

Unfortunately our accommodation was less than expected. Being spoilt by our regular visits to Daylesford, we have become used to luxury lodgings. However, De'Vine was relatively basic. The view was the feature - overlooking the vines of Fergusson's winery, and the location was excellent with many other wineries and top eateries nearby.
The room rates overstate the quality of this place, and i suspect that this is typical of the value you get in the Yarra Valley, being so close to Melbourne. But once you get over the initial disappointment, I'm sure you will find it adequately comfortable and a great location to launch your Yarra Valley adventure from.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank-you for your review. It seems you ‘grape expectations’ far exceeded the 3.5 star rating we have with AAA Tourism. For luxury lodgings in the Valley you pay around $400+ per night, and for weekend bookings most would expect you book a minimum of 2 nights.

Regarding your score on Value we note that you did not book direct with our office but rather bought your stay through an on-line voucher offer, paying only $239 for both a premium Friday AND Saturday night stay. If you were to do homework on the Valley you would not be able to find accommodation on a Saturday night alone for that price. We also note that you took up an exclusive voucher deal we had run with Global ballooning to get a heavily reduced price on your balloon flight, so how you rate us 2 out of 5 for Value is beyond us.
It is disappointing when guests can’t look beyond the pricepoint rather than the experience we can help to provide visitors in the Valley.

The Feature view you mention is actually DeVine Escape’s property, we maintain 10 acres of our own vineyard and grounds, and being so far off the main highway it makes a perfect, peaceful resting place. The DeVine Escape dream was to build modern accommodation suited for both groups or couples, whilst still maintaining privacy and the feel of having a vineyard farm stay.
We are unique to the valley and have helped immensely with the supply and demand problem the region encounters on weekends and special event days.
We are very popular with groups due to our reasonable roomrates and convenience of one night stays.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our surrounds, we love all that the Valley has to offer – it really is an adventure and our staff (on location 7 days a week from 9-5pm) are only too happy to provide a map and recommend places to visit.

DeVine Escape Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently stayed at De'Vine Escape in the Yarra Valley. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond in helping my wife and I. They were always suggesting sight seeing places or places of interest. The were extremely helpful everytime we called reception, with questions or seeking information on attractions or events in the imediate location. As for the last few comment on trip advisor I cannot agree with there petty negative feed back. De'Vine Escape is a lovely location within the Valley and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I ticked the lowest box in the rating section as there is no pool or fitness centre at De'Vine this definetely is not a negative.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First the positives. Position is lovely in the middle of the Yarra Valley, quiet country location. Rooms are clean and beds are OK, but at $220 a night, breakfast extra too much! We stayed for 2 nights and to be fair it was comfortable and the position is lovely with views over vineyards, etc but let me get to the negatives.
• TV is something out of last century - don't hospitality suppliers realize that customers are used to digital widescreen TV! Especially at this price and come on no digital channels or foxtel......
• To get one small towel each which are not changed each day.....
• Once again if your in the middle of the country chances are you'll be back in your room early so how about a couch or even better comfortable chairs.
• If you aren't going to offer breakfast how about a toaster and not at a rental of $10 per night - that's just bloody greedy!!
• At this price you would/should expect to get your room made up each day - not here and make sure you take your own garbage out!
It really is no wonder that Australians are traveling to Asia more often, you would pay about $30 - $50 for this level of accommodation and get breakfast plus have reception open longer than 9ish - 5.
No pool or any other amenities to speak of - sorry apparently they do have a BBQ but if I'm spending this much a night I don't want to cook for myself, especially when I didn't see any cutlery or crockery, but then again at this price it doesn't leave you much budget to spend on food!
Sorry De'Vine nice motel, not a resort or escape, and too expensive.

Room Tip: If you're going to the Yarra Valley make sure you visit Healsville Zoo 12 o'clock bird show is just amazing, 1 pm for the Koalas. Also make De Bortoli's top of your list for lunch or diner, or maybe both - it's that good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MahoutMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank-you for your feedback, sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations, but we do need to get some facts straight about DeVine Escape.

- Firstly, we do not claim to be a 'resort' - our website and visitors centre brochures are quite clear of what we offer - right down to what to expect in your room.

Annually rated by AAA tourism we maintain a 3.5 star rating. We have never claimed to have a pool nor do we intend to get one and has never been a consideration - particularly in the colder months on a vineyard farm!

3.5 star rated accommodation are not required to have 24 hour reception. As stated on all our correspondance, websites and phone message, our office hours are from 9am to 5 pm - 7 days a week.

For guests on site we have an after hours number available if the need ever arises to call.

- Regarding price - please do your homework - we are one of the best value accommodation options in the Yarra Valley, and most Valley places will not offer room service for a 2 night stay unless it is booked and paid for. (It's all in our T's & C's as well as our guest compendiums)

There are many costs associated with running a unique facility like DeVine - ground maintainance of 10 acres, maintaining, regular testing and treating our private water storage, hired skip for guest rubbish removal (on account of our remote location), the high price of power, gas , website commissions & marketing, merchant rental & fees, outsourced linen service etc

- DeVine Escape is not a big corporate operation - we are a young family with a new business - as our cash flow allows we are slowly replacing/upgrading our televisions for all 23 rooms.

- Just one last thing - we have checked our records and not found anybody that has recently stayed with us for 2 nights that paid $220 each night? And for the record we do not charge $10 per night to hire a toaster.

We are proud to employ 'Locals' and pay them according to Australian standards - perhaps if you want cheap holidays that don't support these standards you are best to travel to Asia - as you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews