We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grape expectations that fell from De'Vine to the ground”
Review of De'Vine Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De'Vine Escape
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

With great excitement we drove up to the Yarra Valley for our great weekend escape. Rolling hills and valleys met us within an hour of leaving our southern suburbs home, which must be one of the best features of this rural destination? But no! The Yarra Valley is filled with interesting things to see ... fascinating vineyards and dairies, quaint towns and hamlets, and of course great quality restaurants and cafes.

Unfortunately our accommodation was less than expected. Being spoilt by our regular visits to Daylesford, we have become used to luxury lodgings. However, De'Vine was relatively basic. The view was the feature - overlooking the vines of Fergusson's winery, and the location was excellent with many other wineries and top eateries nearby.
The room rates overstate the quality of this place, and i suspect that this is typical of the value you get in the Yarra Valley, being so close to Melbourne. But once you get over the initial disappointment, I'm sure you will find it adequately comfortable and a great location to launch your Yarra Valley adventure from.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank-you for your review. It seems you ‘grape expectations’ far exceeded the 3.5 star rating we have with AAA Tourism. For luxury lodgings in the Valley you pay around $400+ per night, and for weekend bookings most would expect you book a minimum of 2 nights.

Regarding your score on Value we note that you did not book direct with our office but rather bought your stay through an on-line voucher offer, paying only $239 for both a premium Friday AND Saturday night stay. If you were to do homework on the Valley you would not be able to find accommodation on a Saturday night alone for that price. We also note that you took up an exclusive voucher deal we had run with Global ballooning to get a heavily reduced price on your balloon flight, so how you rate us 2 out of 5 for Value is beyond us.
It is disappointing when guests can’t look beyond the pricepoint rather than the experience we can help to provide visitors in the Valley.

The Feature view you mention is actually DeVine Escape’s property, we maintain 10 acres of our own vineyard and grounds, and being so far off the main highway it makes a perfect, peaceful resting place. The DeVine Escape dream was to build modern accommodation suited for both groups or couples, whilst still maintaining privacy and the feel of having a vineyard farm stay.
We are unique to the valley and have helped immensely with the supply and demand problem the region encounters on weekends and special event days.
We are very popular with groups due to our reasonable roomrates and convenience of one night stays.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our surrounds, we love all that the Valley has to offer – it really is an adventure and our staff (on location 7 days a week from 9-5pm) are only too happy to provide a map and recommend places to visit.

DeVine Escape Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently stayed at De'Vine Escape in the Yarra Valley. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond in helping my wife and I. They were always suggesting sight seeing places or places of interest. The were extremely helpful everytime we called reception, with questions or seeking information on attractions or events in the imediate location. As for the last few comment on trip advisor I cannot agree with there petty negative feed back. De'Vine Escape is a lovely location within the Valley and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I ticked the lowest box in the rating section as there is no pool or fitness centre at De'Vine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First the positives. Position is lovely in the middle of the Yarra Valley, quiet country location. Rooms are clean and beds are OK, but at $220 a night, breakfast extra too much! We stayed for 2 nights and to be fair it was comfortable and the position is lovely with views over vineyards, etc but let me get to the negatives.
• TV is something out of last century - don't hospitality suppliers realize that customers are used to digital widescreen TV! Especially at this price and come on no digital channels or foxtel......
• To get one small towel each which are not changed each day.....
• Once again if your in the middle of the country chances are you'll be back in your room early so how about a couch or even better comfortable chairs.
• If you aren't going to offer breakfast how about a toaster and not at a rental of $10 per night - that's just bloody greedy!!
• At this price you would/should expect to get your room made up each day - not here and make sure you take your own garbage out!
It really is no wonder that Australians are traveling to Asia more often, you would pay about $30 - $50 for this level of accommodation and get breakfast plus have reception open longer than 9ish - 5.
No pool or any other amenities to speak of - sorry apparently they do have a BBQ but if I'm spending this much a night I don't want to cook for myself, especially when I didn't see any cutlery or crockery, but then again at this price it doesn't leave you much budget to spend on food!
Sorry De'Vine nice motel, not a resort or escape, and too expensive.

Room Tip: If you're going to the Yarra Valley make sure you visit Healsville Zoo 12 o'clock bird show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MahoutMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank-you for your feedback, sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations, but we do need to get some facts straight about DeVine Escape.

- Firstly, we do not claim to be a 'resort' - our website and visitors centre brochures are quite clear of what we offer - right down to what to expect in your room.

Annually rated by AAA tourism we maintain a 3.5 star rating. We have never claimed to have a pool nor do we intend to get one and has never been a consideration - particularly in the colder months on a vineyard farm!

3.5 star rated accommodation are not required to have 24 hour reception. As stated on all our correspondance, websites and phone message, our office hours are from 9am to 5 pm - 7 days a week.

For guests on site we have an after hours number available if the need ever arises to call.

- Regarding price - please do your homework - we are one of the best value accommodation options in the Yarra Valley, and most Valley places will not offer room service for a 2 night stay unless it is booked and paid for. (It's all in our T's & C's as well as our guest compendiums)

There are many costs associated with running a unique facility like DeVine - ground maintainance of 10 acres, maintaining, regular testing and treating our private water storage, hired skip for guest rubbish removal (on account of our remote location), the high price of power, gas , website commissions & marketing, merchant rental & fees, outsourced linen service etc

- DeVine Escape is not a big corporate operation - we are a young family with a new business - as our cash flow allows we are slowly replacing/upgrading our televisions for all 23 rooms.

- Just one last thing - we have checked our records and not found anybody that has recently stayed with us for 2 nights that paid $220 each night? And for the record we do not charge $10 per night to hire a toaster.

We are proud to employ 'Locals' and pay them according to Australian standards - perhaps if you want cheap holidays that don't support these standards you are best to travel to Asia - as you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were lovely, spotless and comfortable. The meals at Fergussons were average and slightly expensive. The rooms could use a microwave, but apart from that-highly recommended! Yarrawood winery make a delicious breakfast and are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SezEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I just had to pay a $50 cancellation fee, despite cancelling 43 days before my planned arrival, giving them ample time to rebook the room. It was all done online so I don't understand why there was such a steep fee charged.

This $50 cancellation fee is tucked away in their Terms and Conditions that are found in a link at the base of the web page.

Just a heads up. This experience did not engender any goodwill with me.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank montygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Checking our records it appears your cancellation was requested within the month of your booking. Our Terms and Conditions clearly state that there are no refunds within 30 days notice of cancellation, in fact it also states "No refunds on all confirmed paid bookings".
For every online booking we incur fees - merchant fees as well as online providers commissions - whether the guests stay with us or not. We also have to cover the costs of refunding money, staff time involved, as well as allowing time to rebook the rooms that have again become available online.
Holding rooms as sold can actually jeopardise other possible group bookings.
The goodwill extended to you was that we did refund your money for the 2 rooms that you had booked and paid for online then cancelled at the later date, less the $50 cancellation fee - which covers the incidental costs as mentioned above.
Had we strictly followed our Terms and Conditions you would not have received any refund. Any online travel website console would not be so understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent a couple of days at De'Vine Escape, beautiful surroundings and soooo quiet!, made good use of bbq, as the restaurant was not open (seperate business) updated to spa room, room itself was comfortable and very clean, bed very comfortable too. I enjoyed sitting in private courtyard looking out at the vineyards while having breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

De'Vine Escape is a lovely place to stay in the Yarra Valley, set in a small winery, your room is literally amongst the vines! The management are friendly and very accommodating, and the room was clean, modern, fresh and had everything you need. There are some lovely wineries nearby, even walking distance, and some beautiful places to wine and dine too. The manager's office has extra snacks or other incidential items you might need, and we found it to be a great place to have a relaxing break from the city. It was great value, and if we were to plan another visit to the Yarra Valley we would definately return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TintininOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixons Creek
9.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
564 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
152 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De'Vine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De'Vine Escape

Address: 68 Wills Road | Yarra Valley, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen > Dixons Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dixons Creek
Price Range: $114 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De'Vine Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVine Escape is unique in the Yarra Valley, as it is set on a 10 acre working Vineyard, right in amongst the vines! With 23 Studio rooms available it is an ideal ,as well as beautiful,place to stay after special occasions & celebrations with family and friends. Our neighbours at Fergusson winery restaurant offer delicious cooked breakfasts, and weekend meals, upon availability and booking with our reception before arrival.All rooms have a spacious ensuite, private verandah and the facilities provided by most 3.5 star rated properties. Our reception is open from 9am till 5pm daily, we carry local information/brochures/maps of places to visit, as well as sell kiosk snack items and soft drinks.All Rooms now have new flat screen digital televisions installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your De'Vine Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De'Vine Escape Yarra Valley/Dixons Creek, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing