We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring food & cutlery!”
Review of De'Vine Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De'Vine Escape
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring food & cutlery!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at De'Vine for a long weekend through a deal advertised on a "daily deals" website. We arrived on the Sunday afternoon at 5pm to be handed our key while the staff were locking up to head home. The room was nicely furnished, with a patio looking out to the courtyard. We realised once we were in the room that there was only tea/coffee facilities - no plates, bowls, knives forks or spoons. The reception was closed, and the only on-site restaurant only opens for dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. We had thankfully brought some cheese and crackers with us, which we had to cut with a teaspoon.

We also had a free wine tasting with the on-site winery included in our deal, and so on the Monday, after checking with the reception staff as to the opening hours, we headed over. we arrived at 3:30 to a climes winery. After calling the reception again we were advised that the staff had shut up early, and it was a 30 minute drive back out to re-open. Basically, bad luck.

While the rooms were nice and the location not bad, the lack of facilities and hospitality really let this place down. Next time we stay in the beautiful Yarra Valley, we'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Our studio-style rooms are classified by AAA Tourism as Motel. We are not listed as having kitchen facilities.
The Winery next door are a separate business to DeVine Escape so our management does not have any control over the closing hours if different from that displayed on Fergusson's cellar door. We are sorry to hear you missed out on your wine tasting there, and will pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    85
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
17
136
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

At over $300 for a room with a bath with spa fittings this place was not good value. The surroundings were idyllic but the cabin style rooms were nothing more than motel rooms with no soul or style. Cheap fittings and furniture were the order of the day. Both my wife and I slipped on dangerously polished bathroom floor tiles whilst exiting the shower. The bed was not a particularly comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
During times of high demand (Rochford concerts and Public Holidays) our prices do have a loading, as do ALL throughout the Valley. We are the only accommodation place that offer one night stays, most, if not all, require guests to book for two nights, which gets pricey. We often offer our guests a heavy discount price on the second night if requested. Public holidays require us to employ staff, clean rooms etc at high (triple-time) penalty rates, so we need to cover our expenses.
We have done our homework on rates and believe that we are still the cheapest rate in the Yarra Valley over these times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a rip off! This accommodation is a motel refurbished (not very well at that). There is no room to move. With no microwave (obviously due to lack of space) I could not heat up a meal or a baby's bottle. Yes, it is in the Yarra Valley which is beautiful. I would not recommend this to anyone. What a disappointment for the wedding guests that had travelled from interstate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP3775, Public Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
As a member of the AAA Tourism our facility is inspected (randomly) on an annual basis. We are classed as 3.5 stars as to what we offer our guests. We do not claim to provide things we don't have. A microwave could have been arranged if requested upon booking the room.
Our price can barely be matched in the Valley, as most places require guests to stay for 2 nights, whereas we offer one night stays.
Our rooms are Studio-style, idealy built to suit couples, (price is based on a two person stay.) Adding extra people and bedding to the room will take up extra space, however we are constantly told how lovely and spaceous the rooms are compared to a hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We found out about this lovely hotel through an online special; and would definitely come back--deal or no deal!

Location: The accommodation is located in the midst of Dixons Creek--within easy distance of many of the vineyards (Ferguson's, Mandela, Immerse, Alinda, Miler). The entire region is picturesque, but each room looks out onto the vineyards and grazing animals. Certainly a beautiful scene to enjoy and drink your day's finds.

Room: We stayed over Queens Weekend and the place was therefore full and we were given a twin room (one with two double beds). The rooms are all adjoined to one another, but you wouldn't know--we never heard anyone else and felt tucked away the entire stay. The room was huge, well-decorated and with all amenities (tv, internet--you need an ethernet connection on your laptop, fridge, kettle, huge walk-in shower and bathroom) and ac/heater.

Service: The main reason we would come back to this place; they were always willing to help and make our stay more comfortable. We were given local recommendations to eat (Healesville bakery, Toolangi Tavern) rather than hitting the larger wineries for average but overpriced food..and when we woke up to TWO flat tires Sunday morning, they were more than willing to help us out of our bind..(ie helping two city folk change a tire...in other words, calling in for extra help and getting down on their stomachs and changing it for us)..

Didn't try the spa or restaurant, so can't comment on them.

We had a great stay. If you're looking for a central location and more than comfortable room, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goniku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The large windows of the rooms look out over vineyards and rolling hills, beautiful.

The accommodation is motel style but with a difference, the rooms are very well designed with no windows overlooking the car park.

Even though the hotel was jam-packed full the rooms are very private and quiet. The room was huge, the bed was comfortable, the room stylishly furnished. The rooms have heating/cooling which was good as autumn weather can be a bit chilly in the Yarra Valley. The bathroom is very serviceable, with a large walk-in shower.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyloadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixons Creek
9.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
528 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
326 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Art at Linden Gate
Art at Linden Gate
#2 of 7 in Yarra Glen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De'Vine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De'Vine Escape

Property: De'Vine Escape
Address: 68 Wills Road | Yarra Valley, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen > Dixons Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dixons Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De'Vine Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVine Escape is unique in the Yarra Valley, as it is set on a 10 acre working Vineyard, right in amongst the vines! With 23 Studio rooms available it is an ideal ,as well as beautiful,place to stay after special occasions & celebrations with family and friends. Our neighbours at Fergusson winery restaurant offer delicious cooked breakfasts, and weekend meals, upon availability and booking with our reception before arrival.All rooms have a spacious ensuite, private verandah and the facilities provided by most 3.5 star rated properties. Our reception is open from 9am till 5pm daily, we carry local information/brochures/maps of places to visit, as well as sell kiosk snack items and soft drinks.All Rooms now have new flat screen digital televisions installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De'Vine Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De'Vine Escape Yarra Valley/Dixons Creek, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing