We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only for the rich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hosteria Mandala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Mandala
Ranked #1 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“only for the rich”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

absolutely gorgeous hostel right on the beach! beautiful view and a little secluded which is nice. we felt very safe here which was very important. the only negative: only people with money stay here, so expect the staff and most of the other residents to be very snobby. all in all it was a very nice, safe place.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tenpurrrcent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    102
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
116
269
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here for 6 days. Couldn't have been better. Excellent value, beautiful grounds, exceptional service. Loved the beachfront hammocks. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
489 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

This place is a must. Two nights minimum and really 4 would be best. Great food on the veranda and a lovely beach that is firm and good for running.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This place is absolutely beautiful. I only rated average because the service was very snotty and rude to us. No smiles, and it always seemed like we were inconveniencing them. The owner Maja was cool-but that's about it. It is surrounded by beautiful botanical gardens, and is right on the beach!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sakryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed here for 5 days and we wish we had more time! Mandala is the nicest places we have stayed in Ecuador, and it was one of the most reasonable. Everything abuot this hosteria is wonderful, from the great staff (Jill), the interesting owners, the whale skeleton, all the art, the board games and the beachfront Cabanas. Oh yeah and the food was great too. We highly reccomend Mandala and we will surely be back in the future!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
847 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

A simple resort on the coast of Ecuador, this is a nice place with comfortable rooms in private cabins, each with its own bathroom. There is also a restaurant on site. The hotel is at the edge of the town of Puerto Lopez, which one can easily walk to from the hotel. Guests can check-out a hammock and hang it in one of the shelters on the beach steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I travelled to Ecuador with my wife, mother in law and three children aged 5, 3 and 9 months. My wife and mother in law are Ecuadorian and we stayed in Quito, but we decided to travel to the coast for four days, three nights. We stayed at Hosteria Mandala and were very pleased. The room (Butterfly suite) was very clean and roomy for all of us. The view from the balcony was wonderful. The hotel is a little away from the main town, however, we did not mind. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach, right across the street was very nice and my kids loved chasing crabs along the beach. We ate once at the hotel which was good, a bit more expensive than in town, but none the less very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinced1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal los Islotes
Hostal los Islotes
#3 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maremonti B&B
Maremonti B&B
#5 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mandala

Property: Hosteria Mandala
Address: Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Mandala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Mandala Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing