We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique setting, great value.”
Review of Hosteria Mandala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Mandala
Ranked #1 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique setting, great value.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had a little bit of a tricky time finding the place but once I got there the Hosteria is a nice and unique place. They have covered parking and check-in was quick even without a reservation. English was spoken at the front desk, if you need it. Quite a few large dogs laying on the porch but they are harmless and I didn't hear them barking at night (which is quite common in Ecuador). The bungalow was clean with a very unique wood sink. I didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant but it looked nice. The beach is directly across from the Hosteria and has a few touristy things to view. Sunset was gorgeous. Overall it was a nice, unique place at a good price and I would recommend staying at Hosteria Mandala when in the Puerto Lopez area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    104
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
119
276
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Walking into Hosteria mandala is amazing, from being greeted by there 5 beautiful dogs, to the amazing wood work and then finally being lead to your room through the amazing garden. The owners and staff are very nice and helpful. Very cool place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada_Scott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This isolated garden of Eden could be the perfect place if all bungalows were independent. We happened to have one of the older one with a family with 3 kids as neighbors (I should say bungalowmates as they appeared to be sharing the same room) too bad for the nice quite in a luxurious environment. The restaurant serves great meals for a good value. Overall very nice spot to enjoy the sandy beach and some quiet time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonGuillermoDelSalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Hosteria Mandala. Last time was 18 months ago. Once again the staff was outstanding. The best I have experienced in Ecuador. Friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and helpful scheduling day trips, excursions and travel transfers. There were some handicapped improvements since our last visit, an accessible cabana, restroom in the main lodge, and a ramp that goes from the front of the Hosteria right down to the water’s edge.

The resturant has an outstanding breakfast and a very good selection for evening dinner. The Hosteria Manadala is always a safe bet for a good meal.

Hosteria Mandala is now our favorite vacation destination. The family has already asked me to plan another trip next year during Easter vacation week. PS, the grandkids love the dogs!

On a fun note, I have also added 20 pictures of the flowers and plants right outside our cabana. Check them out to see just how beautiful and special this property is.

Room Tip: For those that like the beach and swimming. January to May is best for warm beach weather. July wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to treat ourselves to a night of luxury. This was the place. It gave my young daughter and a a necessary day of rest. There is so much to do at the hotel. They have many games for the family, toys for my daughter and fun activities. My daughter especially loved playing all the instruments on the second floor at the main building.

They have a wonderful book exchange in various languages.

We enjoyed being able to relax on the grounds while my husband went on an all day scuba diving tour.

The rooms were large and clean. It was definitely a treat!

It is more expensive then the usual places we stay but well worth the splurge. Go ahead and book it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has a nice location on the beach and is handy for a boat trip to Isla de la Plata. The restaurant, exclusive to hotel guests, has excellent food and good service. The rooms are a series of little cabins, we were in the flying fish cabin. The rooms were a tad too rustic for my taste, a few too many spiders and what looked like palmetto bugs. If you like this type of hotel, try the Huasquilla Amazon Eco-Lodge near Tena. Somewhat similar but more comfy. No beach, but a beautiful pool. Mandala's owners were nice enough, but my family was not happy that they gave our guide and driver a lousy room. ours was a private tour and we dearly love these two guys. One would think that they would be catered to since they could bring more business, but apparently that is not important. I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Check it out before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Really happy with our stay here. We stayed for 3 nights in our own little cabin called Fragata, really nice, clean and quiet. We then decided to stay an extra night and were moved to another apartment, this was bigger but nowhere near as nice as the cabin we had been staying in. It was called Colibri and was quite noisy as there were two apartments above and you could hear everything, like no kidding, a pin drop! The hotel grounds were lovely, great gardens. the staff were very quiet, not the happiest of people. Unlike the Puerto Lopez locals. Lovely helpful people. Really nice town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caprice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#2 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mandala

Property: Hosteria Mandala
Address: Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Mandala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Mandala Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing