We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Hosteria Mandala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Mandala
Ranked #1 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
272 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Property is very tranquil, and away from the "crowd" without being far from the
"pueblo" which really isn't that big. Cabins are interspersed through a
wonderful "forrest" of plants -- though somehow you still feel and hear your
neighbors when they pass.

In the cabins, a ceiling fan and standing fan, which I appreciated and
especially the mosquito net. Basic rooms, which is not meant to be a negative,
but to manage expectations. There is hot water, good towels a desk, closet and
the fans. In front of the rooms are a hammock and swing chair. NO wifi in
rooms, but in the main house. There is hot water. Overall rooms quite nice,
basic in that you don't get the "extras" as you would in a large city: clock,
wifi, safe, etc...but very well appointed for a pueblo.

Main house are your beach towels and hammocks -- the stretch of beach in front
of the hotel is reserved for the hosteria guests -- a VERY nice perk, beach is
very clean, can hang your hammock and enjoy, especially the wonderful sunsets.
Also board games and such in the main room

Meals were very good and surprisingly very reasonable --- the prices of meals in
the "town" were the same while here at the hosteria, the food was better and
more plentiful!!!

Meal service staff were very pleasant, sadly I felt as if the others I had
bothered to much -- didn't ant to hear from me!

Yes there are 5-6 huge dogs that's hang around the eating area. I am terrified
of dogs, and these were huge, but somehow since all they did was lay around, it
didn't bother me.

Overall amenities, the semi-private and quiet beach were wonderful! Nice get
away to relax but and easy walk into town if you wanted more activity.

Did think this was a little expensive (and not to include breakfast) but did enjoy the
stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    103
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
116
273
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here in October. The manager was very attentive and nice. The rooms were large. The cabins are surrounded by well manicured gardens. The restaurant has a good menu and wine selection. The food was good. After working all day mapping the area, the food and hotel were just what we needed. The restaurant faces the ocean. There is a large room above the restaurant that contains various musical instruments that you can play.
Here are some pictures - http://kaartdata.blogspot.com/2013/01/hosteria-mandala-ecuador.html
and more pictures of the surrounding area - http://kaartdata.blogspot.com/2013/01/ecuador-puerto-lopez-map-gis.html

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michalpburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a little slice of paradise. My wife and I spent 4 nights in early December which was one more than we had planned to stay. We aren't "hotel types" and our vacations are usually about the things we do, not the places we stay. Hosteria Mandala though is so unique that we found ourselves spending most of our time there. The grounds are a regular botantical garden and filled with birds, butterflies, and even iguanas. The cabanas are very cool. Great beds! The beach is only steps away and we did a fair amount of hammock time. Unfortunately, we didn't see much sun but it was still warm and relaxing. The staff and service are absolutely wonderful! Unlike some reviewers, we found the food average but with high marks for the deserts and especially the coffee (some of the best ever!) Bella Italia in town is a nice option if you want to eat somewhere other than the Mandala. Puerto Lopez is definitely a funky little place. We can now say we have been fishing with Winston Churchill. But...back to the Mandala....if you are in Puerto Lopez, just stay here. If you are somewhere close by...it is worth going out of your way for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just left the Mandala for Quito, I miss it already! We booked this place based on the recommendation in the Lonely Planet guide and the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We stayed 5 nights in which we had planned to spend some time relaxing and some time exploring the surrounding area.

We stayed in the Butterfly Suite, it was huge with a great balcony, including hammocks. Plenty of hot water. The atmosphere here was so relaxed and there are plenty of games and puzzles lying around to keep the mind occupied! Staff and owners were really helpful and friendly but not overbearing. I was a bit worried about the dogs after reading the previous reviews (not a big fan of dogs) but they are no problem and don't bother the guests at all..even the toddlers we saw climbing all over them!

It's less than a 10 minute stroll along the beach front to the dusty village of Puerto Lopez. It's full of character with lots of little shops to explore. We arranged a boat trip and tour of Isla de la Plata for $30 each. We were told that only 11 tourist boats are certified to take trips to the Island (as it's protected) so prices will probably rocket during high season - whale watching from June to Sept.

We paid $20 for a motor taxi to take us to Los frailes beach and Agua Blanca village - definitely worth a visit.

We would definitely come back here, preferably during the whale watching season.

Great food, great location, beautiful beach with hammocks provided, excellent value...just book it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brummers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for four nights in the butterfly cabin. It was spacious and clean with a large balcony. Ate all meals at Mandala and all were excellent. The owners are very nice, the staff as well.
Visited Agua Blanca which was very interesting, swam in the sulfur pond. Also went to Isla la plata and saw many blue footed boobies. The beach was very nice. I like dogs so it did not bother me. The garden setting is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlygirlcurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hosteria Mandala is a wonderful setting. The cabins are all set up in the beautiful gardens with a very short walk to a beautiful beach. Our room was very clean, with a great shower, comfortable bed and mosquito net, and a great deck. All of the decks have chairs and hammocks. I would recommend a second story cabin, less insects, although the insects were not a huge problem. The beach has cabana's and hammocks. Our stay was four days. We had all of our meals in the restaurant, each meal was delicious and very filling. We had to be careful not to over eat. Our most favorite selections where the shrimp cerviche, the Italian chicken with tomato and cheese and the shrimp in garlic sauce. All where delicious! Internet access is only available in the dining area, not in the rooms. This is not an issue as the surroundings are so beautiful.
The only negative to our stay where the dogs. There are five of them, very large dogs For the most part, they leave guests alone during meals. However, one of the females was in heat and there was lots of "activity" going on in the dining area. In fairness, the owner moved them once he noticed. The owners have a private home on site, perhaps should consider keeping the dogs there.
Puerto Lopez was a great place to visit. I would recommend it, as an aside visit Agua Blanca.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level, the Orca cabin was bright, and comfortable and closest to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Wow, what a beautiful place! We stayed in a little cabin in the most beautiful garden. We love dogs so having 4 great danes to play with was heaven :) The Italian owners were really lovely and seemed to work 24 hrs a day. We ended up eating in the restaurant every night as there was nothing in the little town for veggies - the 2 places that did veggie meals were shut for holidays. It is not a cheap place to stay or to eat but you pay for the quality and the beauty of the surroundings. Wonderful, idyllic stay, very hard to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Lopez
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal los Islotes
Hostal los Islotes
#3 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mandala

Property: Hosteria Mandala
Address: Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Mandala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Mandala Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing