We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations, surpassed!”
Review of Hosteria Mandala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Mandala
Ranked #1 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High expectations, surpassed!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have just left the Mandala for Quito, I miss it already! We booked this place based on the recommendation in the Lonely Planet guide and the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We stayed 5 nights in which we had planned to spend some time relaxing and some time exploring the surrounding area.

We stayed in the Butterfly Suite, it was huge with a great balcony, including hammocks. Plenty of hot water. The atmosphere here was so relaxed and there are plenty of games and puzzles lying around to keep the mind occupied! Staff and owners were really helpful and friendly but not overbearing. I was a bit worried about the dogs after reading the previous reviews (not a big fan of dogs) but they are no problem and don't bother the guests at all..even the toddlers we saw climbing all over them!

It's less than a 10 minute stroll along the beach front to the dusty village of Puerto Lopez. It's full of character with lots of little shops to explore. We arranged a boat trip and tour of Isla de la Plata for $30 each. We were told that only 11 tourist boats are certified to take trips to the Island (as it's protected) so prices will probably rocket during high season - whale watching from June to Sept.

We paid $20 for a motor taxi to take us to Los frailes beach and Agua Blanca village - definitely worth a visit.

We would definitely come back here, preferably during the whale watching season.

Great food, great location, beautiful beach with hammocks provided, excellent value...just book it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brummers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    104
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
117
275
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for four nights in the butterfly cabin. It was spacious and clean with a large balcony. Ate all meals at Mandala and all were excellent. The owners are very nice, the staff as well.
Visited Agua Blanca which was very interesting, swam in the sulfur pond. Also went to Isla la plata and saw many blue footed boobies. The beach was very nice. I like dogs so it did not bother me. The garden setting is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlygirlcurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hosteria Mandala is a wonderful setting. The cabins are all set up in the beautiful gardens with a very short walk to a beautiful beach. Our room was very clean, with a great shower, comfortable bed and mosquito net, and a great deck. All of the decks have chairs and hammocks. I would recommend a second story cabin, less insects, although the insects were not a huge problem. The beach has cabana's and hammocks. Our stay was four days. We had all of our meals in the restaurant, each meal was delicious and very filling. We had to be careful not to over eat. Our most favorite selections where the shrimp cerviche, the Italian chicken with tomato and cheese and the shrimp in garlic sauce. All where delicious! Internet access is only available in the dining area, not in the rooms. This is not an issue as the surroundings are so beautiful.
The only negative to our stay where the dogs. There are five of them, very large dogs For the most part, they leave guests alone during meals. However, one of the females was in heat and there was lots of "activity" going on in the dining area. In fairness, the owner moved them once he noticed. The owners have a private home on site, perhaps should consider keeping the dogs there.
Puerto Lopez was a great place to visit. I would recommend it, as an aside visit Agua Blanca.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level, the Orca cabin was bright, and comfortable and closest to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Wow, what a beautiful place! We stayed in a little cabin in the most beautiful garden. We love dogs so having 4 great danes to play with was heaven :) The Italian owners were really lovely and seemed to work 24 hrs a day. We ended up eating in the restaurant every night as there was nothing in the little town for veggies - the 2 places that did veggie meals were shut for holidays. It is not a cheap place to stay or to eat but you pay for the quality and the beauty of the surroundings. Wonderful, idyllic stay, very hard to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hosteria Mandala for 2 nights and had a pretty good time. If you appreciate art and unique wood work, you will find this a fun place. The food here was excellent! The rooms were nice. The reason I didn't give it an "excellent" rating, is there isn't internet access in the rooms-- just the eating and lounge area. This was a little inconvenient for us. Another thing that bothered us, but may not bother you is they have 3-4 large dogs that hang around the dining area. They told me before we stayed that they had dogs but were not allowed in the dining areas. Well, they were there ALL the time, roaming around. Other than those two things, this was a very unique place to stay. Try their ice-creams! They are to die for!

Room Tip: We stayed in Orca which was on an upper floor. Was very good. I believe you would be happy with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungiefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

By all honest Puerto Lopez isn't what you would call a beautiful city. Even more we were so glad we chosed Mandala for our 6 nights stay.
From all hostals we've seen in the city this was the one with the nicest surrounding. A bit off the main street (1$ with mototaxi from the bus station) or a 10min walk its located directly at the beach where you're on your own.
The cabins were located in a beautiful garden. We had the cabin "concha". Big, hot water, private hammock, clean, mosquitonet... everything perfect.
The food is good and they have a great community house where you can have breakfast or dinner, use internet or the book exchange library, can watch TV, relax or borrow a hammock for the beach or some games (beach soccer, monopoly, scrabble and many more).
And yeah, there are 5 huge dogs. But they are very relaxed, didn't bark a lot, never woke us up and were absolutely lovely.
Jill, the manager (not the owner), was absolutely helpful. She organized everything we needed. The rest of the staff was very nice and attentive as well.

Overall I just can recommend here to stay if you're in Puerto Lopez. Really worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerrit_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hosteria Mandala is a rare treat to visit. Every cabin is unique and beautifully sculpted from local wood in its natural state and completed with authentic thatched roofs. Each is set in it's own private jungle setting, with many varieties of beautiful flowers and trees. Abounding with tropical birds and its own population of beautiful wild iguanas.
The manager (Jill) and her staff are attentive and friendly.The food is terrific, the coffee is incredible.
And all this with the beautiful beach and ocean only a few yards away.
And the prices were incredibly low. $31-80/ night for two!!!

Room Tip: Take a walk through the jungle and select your favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckbaumgarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Berlin International Puerto Lopez
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantaraya Lodge
Mantaraya Lodge
#7 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mandala

Property: Hosteria Mandala
Address: Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Mandala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Mandala Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing