We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot with outstanding staff”
Review of Mantaraya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantaraya Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was the nicest place we stayed while exploring the Ruta del Sol. The hotel is very picturesque and surrounded by lush green vegetation. The rooms are spacious with nice patios or balconies where one sit and see all sorts of interesting birds. We ate at the restaurant several times during our stay and everything was delicious. The staff are outstanding and very helpful. They arranged day tours for us to visit Isla de la Plata and the beautiful beach at Los Frailes. The lodge is a 5 minute drive to Puerto Lopez. It's easy to get to and from town via moto-taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear PicMorDaisies, thanks for you wonderful comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Mantaraya Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

Good location outside of town. Town is too far to walk and is downhill going there but uphill on the way back! This is not a problem as they can call a taxi for you (motorbike taxi). They have a restaurant that serves good food although limited choice. Pool is nice but unheated so depending when you go there it can be cold!
The hotel is on top of a hill and very quiet in general. Do not stay in the lower room (I forget the number but it is lowest down the hill) as you will probably be woken up at 4.30 by the trucks changing gear as they go by on the road!
The owner speaks good English and can arrange any trips that you might want plus guides. This hotel is a better option than staying in town which looks as though it can be very noisy at night.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Benzi, thanks for your comments, our staff works very hard on satisfying the client’s needs; we work with high quality local staff that is difficult to find. The uphill from the beach can be a problem but the local taxi is the perfect solution. We are working on the noise in the room. Thanks again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed here in September. The weather was changeable and we would recommend anyone staying her to consider what time of year you visit. We thought summer and low rain fall would be the best time but it was quite cloudy, so that is something to consider if you just want the beach, however it is great for walking and the range of forests to see in the area is good. We went to the Isla de Plata, which in itself was ok (dreadful toilets!!) but the whale watching and wildlife made up for this.
The staff at the hacienda were great and arranged for us to change rooms to one with a balcony without any problems. To be honest we would not want to stay here without the benefit of a balcony. The shower was great although it was a bit off-putting not to have hot water in the washbasin. Both rooms we saw were spacious, although the first smelt a little damp. The second was lovely, clean, roomy and had great views.
The food was fresh, plentiful and good and the staff could not do enough for you. The sun beds were limited around the pool, which if the hotel was full could cause problems, however it was good to be able to relax and have a swim at the end of the day. This was just as well as we were advised not to walk down to the beach unaccompanied as there had previously been robberies on the small path. However, this shouldn’t put you off staying at the hacienda, it is one of the nicest places to stay that we saw in this area and the guide we had escorted us to the beach and even stayed around (at a discrete distance) to make sure we were safe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Toffeepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Toffeepops, glad you had a good experience here; in fact climate on September (June-November) is the cloudy season but we have a very big plus on this season that is Whales. Sunny season stars in December through May. We will communicate this in our website. We are working on the hot water in the whole bathroom and we added a few long chairs and hammocks along the pool. Hope to see you again sometime in Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Was there last June and again this June. I was disappointed this trip. They need to spend some time and money in maitainance. Service and food still very good. The price is excellent. Would have been a better experience without the bat visiting us in the room each night.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rainbow75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear rainbow75, thanks for coming back to our hotel, please contact me at marketing@advantagetravel.com the next time you are willing to visit so we can arrange a courtesy. The maintenance in the hotel is very difficult because of the climate and the soil the hotel is standing in. When there is a lot of heat and then you add up the humidity the walls expand and collapse creating the cracks. We work very hard to prevent this but when it’s July/August and we are in the peak of the humid season it is very difficult to make this maintenance. Also because of the location of hotel (Machalilla National Park) there could be insects and maybe what you saw it was not a bat, there are a lot of Golondrinas going around and playing at the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

The decor is bright and cheery and they have unspoiled views of the water. Try to stay on the second level for the views and to avoid the foot traffic of other visitors. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and fairly clean. The shower was only okay; very little pressure and the water temperature was fussy. Be careful, it can get quite hot with a slight turn of the knob.

The staff were absolutely super! Very friendly and attentive. They greeted us with hot chocolate and food after our day at Isla de la plata. Just what we needed.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Ovenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Ovenbird, thanks for your comments as you say, 2nd floor has excellent views. The shower can be a bit tricky, we are working with our hotel manager to instruct clients well on how these showers work. Hope to see you soon again in Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This is very much a hotel that has seen better days. The room was damp and smelled quite badly, with some mould growth. The paint was flaking badly on the balcony ceiling and had covered the furniture each morning. No hot water at the washbasin.

The staff were friendly and helpful but that did not make up for the fact they ran out of wine, beer & prawns. Furthermore, in a 5 day stay the pool was only working on one day. Cannot recommend and will never return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Petra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Petra32, sorry for the inconvenience at the hotel, we have fixed the problems and we are renovated. Please consider visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

My husband (an ecuadorian) and I (American) first visited Mantaraya Lodge in January, 2001. What a beautiful place! We were treated like family here especiallly by Luis, the manager, and had a wonderful time. Great rooms, reasonable rates, service, food and the view is spectacular. It's convenient to Los Frailles beach, my favorite beach. We have returned to the lodge every time we visited Ecuador. It's my favorite place in the country. I would highly recommend Mantaraya Lodge if you want to have a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shuapelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear shuapelo, thank you very much for your comments, if you plan to go again sometime soon contact me at marketing@advantageecuador.com so we can arrange some special deal for you and your husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Berlin International Puerto Lopez
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantaraya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantaraya Lodge

Address: 2 Km from Puerto Lopez on the way to Salango, Puerto Lopez 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range: $85 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantaraya Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Machalilla National Park is one of Ecuador's many natural treasures, a destination so unique and inspiring you will want to make it home. Some of the wildest, most spectacular beaches in the entire Pacific coastline, long-lost islands where iconic seabirds nest in their natural conditions, the beauty and mystery of both equatorial tropical rainforests and tropical dry forests, as well as transcendental archaeological findings, some of the oldest in all of the Americas, are only some of the reasons that make it so special. For over 10 years we have made it our primary goal to offer the highest quality services in an ecological gem like Machalilla and the Ecuadorian Pacific Coast. We have combined exciting excursions that bring you closer to nature and local communities, with peaceful accommodations, awe-inspiring views, ample rooms, and excellent food. Our idea is to offer the ideal springboard for discovering the many attractions the area possesses. We inevitably work to create environmental awareness through the celebration of nature, wildlife and ecological diversity. We understand the impact that any venture leaves at its wake, and thus offer a sustainable operation without compromising our quality service. Our venture is certified by Smart Voyager, as well as Rainforest Alliance, guaranteeing our green and responsible practices. And we do it because we love what we do. Once again, welcome to Machalilla, the Ecuadorian Pacific Coast, the fascinating province of Manabi... Please let us know how to best accommodate your needs, we're here to help you discover this special corner of the world in all its glory. We're looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mantaraya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantaraya Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing