We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Victor Hugo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victor Hugo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Despite that the Victor Hugo hotel was largely underconstruction, the rooms were large, clean, simple and the beds were comfortable and firm. Breakfast was good and you can even choose to eat on the patio overlooking the ocean. Great location, walkable to town in under 5 min, but just far enough away to not hear the clubs and beach side bars. Also, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, communication with staff in English was an option. They helped us book whale watching tours, transportation and gave us tips on P. Lopez hot spots. Overall, great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAVDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
50
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Although still under construction, the atmosphere and facilities were pristine. Staff and management were friendly, courteous and helpful in making our stay comfortable and memorable. We would not stay anywhere else in P.L. The beds were great and the room clean. Breakfast was very good and we can't wait to see the Spa finished.
Manager Steve Nivelo, who is fluent in English, is always open to any ideas and suggestions for any improvements, even if it is only to have more hooks for wet clothes from the beach.
The Victor Hugo is raising the bar for the Malecon.

Room Tip: There are several rooms facing the ocean and a bathtub is available. Walkways are not crowded due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The quality and craftsmanship of the Victor Hugo Hotel are far away better than any of the other hotels in Puerto Lopez. As I sit here listening to the waves crash on the beach from my ocean view room, I can honestly say that they have set the bar for all other establishments in town. The staff is friendly and sincerely wants to make everyone's stay a great one. When I return in the future, there is only one place I will rest my head and that is the Victor Hugo Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mengeman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay. Victor Hugo will end up challenging others to step up the amenities and service along this malecon! Their Staff / Family is overly concerned with guest comfort & convenience. I was travelling solo...was invited to join their family dinners on the deck facing the ocean. The neighborhood is a few blocks down from the bumping party atmosphere of town, yet just a dollar mototaxi ride down the malecon to all the restaraunts / bars, etc. The beach is pristine and a walk of solitude to the North, and a short walk south to town center. They are under construction: all rooms are complete and a class act bar / restaraunt is in the near future, July '13. They have 'hang out' areas with hammocks, upcoming game room on upper deck with music and pool table, etc., planning for an inground pool with swim up bar. WOW! All this for competitve rates! Thanks Victor, Steve & Carina...see ya next year. Peyton

Room Tip: Several rooms face the sunset / oceanfront. The other rooms are nice, but will view the pool instea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peyton w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Part of hotel still under construction. Staff and manager very friendly. Grounds are also unfinished at this time but still a great place to stay. The craftsmanship of the building is excellent. Several rooms face the ocean with great views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drleolabertew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.5 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Islotes Beach Front Hostel
Los Islotes Beach Front Hostel
#4 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Berlin International Puerto Lopez
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantaraya Lodge
Mantaraya Lodge
#7 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victor Hugo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor Hugo Hotel

Property: Victor Hugo Hotel
Address: De Mayo y Malecon 24, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victor Hugo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing