We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella My Oh My...”
Review of Paella Mar - CLOSED

Paella Mar
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spanish restaurant and wine bar with specialty in Lobster Paella
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Paella My Oh My...”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been visiting Puerto Lopez each July for the last four years. Paella Mar was originally located far north of the malecon, but had a wonderful seaside location. Alas, we did not go there because my wife does not eat shellfish, and the menu at the time was limited for her.

Fast forward a year. We are now vegetarians, and to our delight, Paella Mar now serves a very tasty vegetarian paella that is satisfying, delicious and healthy. They also ha a couple appetizers for vegetarians and carnivores alike.

The also have relocated to a quaint older 2 story building on the Malecon, but far enough from the noisy part of the malecon. There is a small balcony with 2 tables for dining a fresco. The charming couple who run this gem, she from Italy (hostess) and he from Spain (chef) work hard to ensure a pleasant dining experience. The prices are a tad higher than most of the Puerto Lopez restaurants, but the cuisine is extraordinary, the atmosphere charming and you won't leave hungry. Bonus points for great music and taking Paypal for payment. You can even get a little cash back if you choose.

Finally, take the very spiteful (in my opinion) recent review with a big grain of salt. Most of the reviews of this great eatery are very good. If it walks like a duck, and talks like a duck...well...try it for yourself!!! We ate there 3 times this trip, and will return next year...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zootenval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paella_Mar, Owner at Paella Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi, thanks for your comment, we are so glad you liked it!
We are improving for your next visit, so will even better!
Enjoy your trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    6
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner with a View”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Puerto Lopez is filled with delicious restaurants, many of which offer the same general selections of freshly caught fish, rice, and fried plantains. But if you are looking for something a little more special, just a five minute walk north of the busiest section of the malecon you will find Paella Mar. Paella Mar is a Spanish restaurant serving beautifully presented table-side paella and other excellent dishes. As vegetarians we ordered the vegetable paella for two, a to-die for combination of carrots, peas, green beans, broccoli, onions, green and red peppers with rice. It was so good we visited this restaurant three times during the course of our two-week stay.

On another occasion we tried the Spanish omelet as an appetizer. The caramelized onions are cooked to such perfection you’d swear they were made with cream. And on our last night we splurged on the crème brulee: truly a grown-up s’more!

Prices are a little more than the Puerto Lopez average but still reasonable by US standards and are served with quality and service to match. And if you take advantage of their 5-7pm Happy Hour they are really a bargain. Be sure to get there early or make a reservation for the balcony. The view overlooking the sea is delightful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jet126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paella_Mar, Owner at Paella Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for the pics and the comment!
Was so nice meeting you, hope to see you around again, we are improving for it!
Prices are a bit over Puerto Lopez average in part because of the products, olive oil and some Spanish seasonings are a bit overpriced in Ecuador... we try to make it better!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good meal reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had the paella, it came in a big skillet and fed 3 of us. very tasty and filling. Wine choice was limited but what they had was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PDter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paella_Mar, Manager at Paella Mar, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are happy you like it, hope to see you around soon!!

You may be interested, the 'big skillet' is a 'Paella' that's the name of the pan,
actually the food was once call 'rice on the paella', but for simplicity's sake and
the passing years everybody refers to the dish just as Paella!

Enjoy your trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great sunset - mediocre paella”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We followed the other reviews and went here. Sorry but the paella was so mediocre. The one thing they have here in puerto Lopez is fresh fish. Not to be found in the seafood paella, just small shrimp an other not so fresh seA food.
Avoid

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paella_Mar, Owner at Paella Mar, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Mhh!! there is half pound of fish per person per paella , that's weighted...(plus octopus, squid, shrimps...) and if its fresh or not, i can only say we throw fish to the rubbish everyday and get it delivered by a fisherman in the morning, every morning....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
“A night in Puerto Lopez”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Start with the sangria and a sunset…then wait for the aromatic paella to marinate and waft into the air to awaken your taste buds. It was THE BEST dinning experience in Puerto Lopez. The lively coloured restaurant decor, friendly wait staff and upper deck with ocean view enhanced the evening for a magical experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineKono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paella_Mar, Owner at Paella Mar, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are so glad you liked it! Hope to see you again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paella Mar also viewed

Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing