We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”
Review of Dona Elsie's - CLOSED

Dona Elsie's
Cuisines: Central American
Description: This place is awesome, the owners are from Colombia and they serve Ecuadorian food in the style similar to Colombia or Esmereldas province in Ecuador. Their almuerzo is fabulous, at only $3 - atun (tuna) cooked in coco (coconut) for the secundo, the soup was fantastic for the primo course (dorado with yuca in a coconut cream broth) and the fresh juices are wonderful. We have eaten there twice. The family is sweet, and the pricing is very reasonable, the food fresh. Oh, the aji sauce is homemade and wonderfully spicy! They are on the main street, a few doors down from Carmita's.
Restaurant details
Description: This place is awesome, the owners are from Colombia and they serve Ecuadorian food in the style similar to Colombia or Esmereldas province in Ecuador. Their almuerzo is fabulous, at only $3 - atun (tuna) cooked in coco (coconut) for the secundo, the soup was fantastic for the primo course (dorado with yuca in a coconut cream broth) and the fresh juices are wonderful. We have eaten there twice. The family is sweet, and the pricing is very reasonable, the food fresh. Oh, the aji sauce is homemade and wonderfully spicy! They are on the main street, a few doors down from Carmita's.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Apparently they have now moved because we found Dona Elsie's just off the plaza and around the corner from Patacon Pisa'o. I am so glad we did.

Absolutely fantastic. Great, friendly service and the best food so far in Puerto Lopez. I could have made a meal of just the beans, they were so tasty and so filling. I am not a fish eater and trying to find decent carne is Puerto Lopez has been a futile mission....until I tried the carne apanado at Dona Elsie's. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyinPawPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious! You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

One of the best dinners we've had on the coast. The food was fantastic & worth the journey (it's now located a bit out of Puerto López - see directions bellow). We had Encocado de Camarón & another house speciality (a kind of fish soup) both were very tasty! The waiter, Humberto, was very friendly and his wife Elsie is the chef. The restaurant is hard to find (head to the northern end of Puerto López on Av. Machalilla and turn right on Via El Patal (at the Centro de Salud), follow the road for a kilometre or two and it's in the left hand side. The barrio is called Los dos Rios. Phone numbers are 0995619656 & 0989048559. You won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank JlcECAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent home-made organic food for great price!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm so glad we found this place! Dona Elsie is a family-run restaurant, which offers really nice traditional food from the region of Esmeraldas (northern Ecuador, with a little bit of Caribbean flavour), prepared fresh from organically sourced local ingredients.
Today we had a delicious beef and vegetable soup, fish of the day (fresh, morning catch!) with rice and salad, jug of lemonade and 2 rich hot chocolates for desert - all included in a lunch deal for only $3 each! We left really full and very satisfied :)
This was very refreshing after few disappointing experiences from restaurants at the seafront which often serve frozen or canned fish dishes for minimum $7-8 each!
Dona Elsie is a little out of town, up on the hill, but $1 taxi ride is certainly worth spending; once you get there you can relax in a quiet and tranquil surroundings and enjoy the really tasty food. The owner told us she has plans to put few hummocks in the garden outside for people to rest after their meal and enjoy the peaceful forrest around, I'd be happy to use one :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aniao942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Encocao in Puerto Lopez!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

To find a comparable Encocao, you'd have to travel to the province of Esmeraldas. The food is amazing. The prices are reasonable. And the Service is top notch! Why would you go anywhere else in Puerto Lopez?

  • Visited October 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sac204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really, really good food and friendly folks.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I've eaten here a couple times and both times the food was outstanding.
I had the almuerzo which was fresh juice, soup and fish with rice, beans and veggies.
The staff was really nice and fun to chat with. The woman who runs the laundry next door could not say enough good things about the folks that run Don Elisie's.
It's is packed with locals and a few tourists too.
There is nice outside seating near the sidewalk with a bit of a view of the water. Also, you can sit inside if you like.
A true find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dona Elsie's also viewed

Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing