We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Machalilla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lopez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Machalilla
seoul, S.Korea
2 reviews
“Good location, very nice staff”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Neat room, with bunk. But the room was little dark.
Kitchen was crowded so you should get up early to make a meal in time!
Steff was very kind, can speak english. He answered our question very properly and directly.
I recomend this hostel. In puerto ropez, there are no better hostel.
Whith kitchen, fast wifi.

-Siwan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sook69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After one night across the street at a hostal with comfy mattresses but that gave me the creeps, my travel mates and I moved to Hostal Machalilla and our stay in Puerto Lopez improved quickly. We stayed in a room for three on the upper level with a view of the sea from the rooftop outsode our room. The room and sheets were clean. Nice bathroom, decent shower, screened windows, working fan, fully equipped shared kitchen (tiny ants that overrun most of the town notably absent here), and a handful of tables and chairs scattered about the rooftop for all the guests' sunset-watching/breeze-catching needs. Best of all was Bryan, the owner's son (I think), who was friendly and thoughtful, helping us plan each aspect of our stay. When we told him we had a night bus back to Quito the day we checked out, he offered to guard our luggage, let us hand around the hostel (hammocks in the courtyard), and even lend us a bathroom for showering after the beach - all without our even asking. Bryan is a real gem! It's not fancy, but it's pleasant and a great value - worth every penny of the $8/night (and then some...lots more).

Room Tip: upper level! breeze and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I traveled through Ecuador for a month and this was by far the worst hostel in the whole country. We arrived at noon and were very pleased with how everything looked. The older woman (owner?) asked us to return to the front desk to pay before we left for the day. We both took showers and then returned to pay. She was chatting with a few other women and there were kids running around. So we pay her and go on our way. When we return that night at around 10 PM, she accuses us of not paying. She didn't even remember talking to us and her daughter even confirmed that she did talk to us again but didn't see money exchange hands. We argue with her for about 20 minutes and tell her that if we have to pay again we would rather pack up and leave and pay more money somewhere else. And that is exactly what we did. If you do stay here, get a receipt! Or take a picture of money exchanging hands! Stay across the street at the Sol Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Lopez hotels

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

So my girlfriend and I arrived in PL in the afternoon so we had time to check out a lot of hostels in the area...this is by far the best collection of ammentities- at Hostel Machalilla they have clean rooms, hot water, a kitchen to cook the fresh fish you just bought from the boats in the morning, and many comfortable places to relax and enjoy the wonderful weather in PL. Eating lunch on the rooftop balcony was the best! The owner´s son was very helpful in setting us up with a place to rent surf boards, a guide that spoke English for our tour of Isla de la Plata, and giving us information about the area- he speaks English and is learning German. Overall, the total family you will find that runs the place is very helpful with any information you need or to make your stay better. I wish I could have found Puerto Lopez sooner, instead we spent time bouncing around Canoa and Manta before landing in Paradise. So visiting this little town will make any trip to Ecuador better...and staying at Hostel Machalilla is a must!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and stays cool all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal los Islotes
Hostal los Islotes
#3 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#3 of 22 in Puerto Lopez
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yemaya Hostal
Yemaya Hostal
#11 of 22 in Puerto Lopez
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Machalilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Machalilla

Property: Hostal Machalilla
Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta y Alejo Lascano, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing