We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise tree hostel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monte Libano Hostal
Ranked #3 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We were in Puerto López for a day already and stayed in another cheap hostel we found but walking past the tree house at Monte Líbano we loved to stay in it. Very adventurous and right of the beach. A heavenly night were the sound of the waves put us to sleep.
Also Maria and her husband are really nice and their hostel/house is so welcoming! She even helped my out with my request of going diving and it turned out to be an amazing dive with just me and the local dive master Luis! Had a super time here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Monte Libano Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great location for this small B&B/hostal in Puerto Lopez. It's a bit further on the beach from the main busy center but easy to access and very peaceful. The rooms are very basic but the view from the terrasse is great. The staff is extra nice and will do anything to help you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieNCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Maria and Pedro are such gracious hosts. Though the tree house that we were hoping to occupy wasn't yet ready, we still chose to stay here because of the great location and the friendliness of Maria and Pedro. We had a private room/bathroom that was very spacious and met all of our needs. Guests are welcome to cook in the kitchen, though you may want to enjoy at least one of Maria's breakfasts. (We had trouble finding many restaurants open early in the morning for breakfast.) The hostel was filled with mainly young, European travelers who would gather on the front porch at night to chat and lounge in the hammocks. The atmosphere of the hostel is relaxed at all times. Even the pets at the hostel (dogs and cats) are friendly. Though the hostel is at the "end" of the malecon, Puerto Lopez is so small that everything is still just a few minutes away. (travel tips: Don't miss Los Frailes! The horseback riding tour in Agua Blanca up San Sebastián was beautiful! Be warned: saddles are carved wood. You can rent kayaks in Salango or Puerto Lopez and enjoy a paddle out to Isla Salango.)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CHOtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Even though at the end of Puerto Lopez Malecon, it is worth the walk to this excellent hostel. Maria and Pedro are great hosts, and will really pay attention to your needs, so that you feel at home right away. Rooms are big, all equipped with mosquito nets. They are well maintained and the showers are very good. There are lots of hammocks and opportunities to relax in the front courtyard while contemplating the beach. You can use their (small) kitchen, without problem (hmm... to cook fresh fish from the beach market!). Every once in while, you might end up with having a piece of cake or a tortilla, on the house, which was lovely. All in all, it is very chilled out and made my stay in Puerto Lopez very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really welcoming and right on the beach, this hostal has a lot of charm and is far enough so you won't hear the noises of cars and music. Staff is adorable and there's a really nice terrace with hammocks up in the trees :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaggieSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while whale watching in Puerto Lopez and loved staying at Monte Libano. The family were very friendly, and between our travellers spanish and their little english, they were super helpful and amazing friendly. Breakfast was cheap, really good and they make the best pancakes!! They looked after my girlfriend when she has sick, made her chicken soup and special tea and was invited to lunch with the family - super nice! would recoomend - away from the bar end of the beach but only 10 mins walk (safe walk) - far enough to be away from the bass.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hamish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Maria and Pedro really make a genuine effort to make sure you find a suitable room and have all you need. There's a variety of room options at Monte Libano, and the hostal is conveniently at one end of town, just past the fishing port. The larger rooms at the back are equipped with a comfortable bed and mosquito nets that could do with a refreshment but are otherwise effective. Occasionally there is noise from adjoining rooms however it's rarely imposing. Given the location you might expect to find the odd spider or bug here and there. The two family dogs are wonderful regular companions for walks into town. WiFi is accessible from most areas, bar the rear most rooms. Showers are electric but dependable and functional. Maria and Pedro offered us dinner and gave us great advice on how to reach Los Frailes beach and even provided us with fruit for the journey, free of charge. Though there's not a lot of English spoken, Maria and Pedro are particularly accommodating for those with limited Spanish.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Islotes Beach Front Hostel
Los Islotes Beach Front Hostel
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berlin International Puerto Lopez
0.6 mi away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#2 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Libano Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Libano Hostal

Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta | Manabí, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range: $28 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Libano hostal was born from a Manabita family which gives it a very welcoming atmosphere, specific to our culture kind and hospital and that will make you feel like a guest. You’ll be a new member of this big family “Monte libano” that we are proud of. Welcome in this family house where you can chill in front of the sea in hammocks and enjoy wonders of Puerto Lopez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monte Libano Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing