We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Puerto Lopez!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maxima

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lopez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Maxima
Ranked #13 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Canoa, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Puerto Lopez!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hostal Maxima is a well-run backpacker's hostal with a nice courtyard, balconies, lounge area and kitchen. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful and make a real effort at keeping the busy place clean and well-organized. It is a good place to meet other travelers, as there are usually people in the kitchen or other common areas, and the atmosphere is relaxed and inviting.

They also arranged our tour to view the whales and go to Isla de La Plata, which turned out to be a great trip at a very good price.

Not a luxury accommodation, but very adequate and at a good price. Puerto Lopez can be noisy at night, so don't expect absolute quiet at night! (The band that marched through the town streets at 6am on a Sunday morning was quite good.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
14
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hostel is quiet but still a good place for meeting people in the communal area. The showers are warm and rooms clean. There is a well equipped and clean kitchen. We had room 37, which is right at the top, it felt like heaving are own penthouse with sea view! You do hear the streetnoise in the morning. We booked a tour via the reception to Isla de la plata for a very good price. There are some building works next door at the moment but I can't remember it ever bothered me. Just around the corner is the supermarket and a bit further on the meat and veg market. In our eyes a very good choice and you get a lot for what you pay!

Room Tip: 37 is right at the top with seaview. You are at the street side though if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voetontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Lake, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I had a great experience here. The owners are very friendly and helpful with planning for the trip to Isla de la plata. We were planning only a couple days stay, but ended up staying for a week. Sometimes the owner has some projects underway, and when we came they could use some assistance, so we worked out a trade where I worked and got the room for free. That is a special circumstance, but it was a good deal for both of us.

The garden, animals and friendly staff make this place really nice. Other highlights include the outdoor kitchen, hammocks, and rooftop access for drying clothes, and enjoying the stars or sun.

Thanks Maxima and Armando!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamelbachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Maxima has a mix of rooms, while we were there it was being rennovated and extended so some were a work in progress. However the completed rooms are clean and well looked after. Mosquito nets are a little old and not so effective so you may want to use your own. Having said that I wasn't bitten. The communal space is great; lovely hammocks, good kitchen (you do rely on the grace of other travellers to keep it clean!) Location is superb!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

this place was awesome! Affordable, comfortable, clean, nice garden & great location near to the beach & main road. Plus spermarket super close! I loved all the pets, Especially spike...The owners are great & helped us with who to go to for booking some tours. Plus was good internet & we made use of the common kitchen a couple of times.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunchasersphotograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We really liked this place. It was very comfortable and it's clean. we loved all the pets, especially spike and calico (the cat who would visit our room). It has a really nice garden, good outdoor kitchen, lots of hammocks and good wifi. It's also a good place to meet other travelers. It's just a short walk to the beach and to the mercado. If loud noise doesn't let you sleep, we would recommend you move to a room towards the back of the house. Maxima and Armando are amazing. They are very helpful and friendly. We went for a week and ended up staying for 17 days! We would definitely go back here and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandAandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Staying here is definately a good deal if you are tight on budget. The room was good, the mattresses were worn outt, but ok for a couple of days. The common bathrooms were kept clean, but could do with a make over. The kitchen was not so great, could do with more utensils and a good deal of cleaning. But we liked the location (very close to the beach and the main road) and the nice garden. And: Maxima is the best. She helps you with anything she can. We really enjoyed her hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburgunterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Monte Libano
Hostal Monte Libano
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#3 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victor Hugo Hotel
Victor Hugo Hotel
#5 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxima

Property: Hotel Maxima
Address: Calle Gonzales Suarez Y Av. Machalilla, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 1 1/2 blocks from the beach. All of our rooms have screened in windows and balconies looking out onto our gardens and fruit trees. There is free use of our open air kitchen facility and 2 TV lounges. Free WIFI. We have a book exchange. We can arrange whale watching tours and Isla de la Plata tours, Guests get a discount for tours. Enjoy a relaxing stay resting in our hammocks, amongst our gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing