We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early arrival, late departure”
Review of Hosteria Itapoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Itapoa
Saskatoon, SK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Early arrival, late departure”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived at 5:15 in the morning, waking the owner up. She let us hang out in the reception area until some others checked out. This place is right on the beach, which was a major plus for us. The kitchen is not good at all...but if you are not planning on cooking thats fine. The breakfast that is included is nothing fancy, but you did eat it looking at the ocean. The internet connection was really bad when we were there - but perhaps this is just Ecuador. The lady that owns the place is really nice, and in general we enjoyed our stay there... its not a good place for meeting other travelers, as no one really tended to hang out. We also stayed one night at Sol Inn, which has a more younger backpacker feel to it. This place is great if you are looking for some quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
54
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Spent three nights there in one of the cabins. The cabins were rustic and looking a little rough around the edges. The rooms above the common area in the main house looked nicer. The owners are so nice and the breakfast is quite nice considering it is included in the price. No wifi is a negative as almost all hostels have it available now. The water is hot untill someone else takes a shower too and then there is no water at all. I found this the most annoying. The grounds are very well kept and attractive and it's location south of the main beach strip is a bonus. It is alright for a hostel and was certainly busy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in one of Itapoa's private ensuite rooms, rather than the cabaña, but it was still a great stay. Located at the north end of the malecon, right opposite the beach, a peaceful location but still in walking distance of everything. A great shower (probably one of the best we saw in South America actually, ironic considering water shortages in Puerto Lopez) and a great comfy bed. The breakfasts looking out over the sea in the morning were lovely.

Itapoa had a briliant range of eco tours run by the hostel, these would've been fantastic to go on had we had a bit more time. Only problems with the hostel were no computer for internet or wi-fi when we there, just an ethernet cable to plug into laptop, and the prices had been put up considerably since those quoted on the hostel trail website which was disappointing

We took the tour organised by the hotel to see the whales, but actually despite seeing some great whale action, using other travellers' and LP recommendations would've been better - you really want to be on one of the first boats out (they leave when full) and we were still hanging aorund 45 minutes after the first boat left.

We would really recommend the Whale Cafe at the south end of the malecon - it was abosutely lovely, their juices and seafood dishes were so good. Also an Italian restaurant called Bellitalia (again different to the one recommended by the hotel) did absolutely outstanding dishes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights in July 2011. I found this hostel through a lot of internet searching an am glad we stayed here. Hosteria Itapoa is located on the north end of the malecon in Puerto Lopez, a short walk from the restaurants, bars and shops, but far enough away to avoid the noise. It is not fancy, but Maria and her staff bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable. Maria is an excellent concierge, and can arrange just about anything you want, from taxis to tours to where to go to buy a bottle of wine.

The rooms and cabanas are simple but very tidy. No A/C or ceiling fans, but we were there in winter (July) and the temperatures rarely exceed 80 F daytime and 70 F evenings. The bathrooms are adequate, the showers hot with good water pressure. The beds are a tad soft. Remember, though, the cost is only $13 per night per person including a nice breakfast, served in a quaint bamboo cafe on stilts, which has a beautiful ocean view. They serve excellent organic coffee, a rarity in Ecuador, the land of Nescafe. There are nicer places to stay, such as Mandalara or Mantaraya, and both are reviewed on TA. However, expect to pay five times the price. Our total cost for 9 nights was $234 plus $5 tip to the wonderful maid.

There is no wireless, but there is a single ethernet connection which is quite fast. We only had a couple of occasions where we had to wait to use it. There are massage services available for ridiculously low fees as well.

If you are looking for reasonable, safe and clean accomodations in Ecuador, Itapoa is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zootenval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The location of the cabanas is excellent - a bit at the end of the main drag, so it's quiet there. You are away from the discotheques and crazy music, but close enough to everything.
The room is nothing speacial - a table, couple of chairs, a warn out bed and a hard pillow. The bed has a mosquito net over it which is a must in this climate.
Shower: an electric shower that did not work properly so I did not have any hot water. However, considering that it's always hot and humid there the cold water (that was actually cool) was rather welcoming.
There is a hammock at the patio of the cabana.
I paid only $10 for a cabana (single traveller).
The breakfast was included into the price of the room, however, I never had a chance to taste it, because I would always leave my room at the crack of the dawn.
The owner, Raul speaks perfect English and has tons of useful information.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The hostal Itapoa looks quite nice, some small cabañas with private bath and nice balconies with hammocks. Our room was rather humid and the light was not working. The staff was friendly, except the owner! We requested twice to fix the broken lightbulp in our room, but it never happend! We also were offered by her an earlier breakfast in the morning of our departure, but she didn't inform the staff, so we didn't get it!
In the morning, the noisy nighbours woke us up at 6am with loud music, complaints from other guests at the owner didn't help! The hostal is cheap, but it is still not worth the money!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosesfumamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed at the Itapoa Lodge. Lovely clean rooms, good showers. Very helpful staff. From there we organised an excellent jungle trip, as the owner, botanist Raul Nieto also has a very basic lodge deep in the lowland rainforest which you can get to from about 3 hours from Quito. Inexpensive (140 dollars) program, off-the-beaten-track and free of tourism, we went on a 3 hour bumpy truck ride followed by a 6 hour trek where you set up camp. Did all sorts of stuff - swam in waterfalls, saw loads of amazing birds and butterflies (it's one of the ten most bio diverse regions in the world), got wee-ed on by a group of brown-headed spider monkeys (!)... You can see pumas and jaguars if you're lucky...we only saw their footprints. Be prepared for lots of mud and being kept awake a night by all the sounds of the jungle including the howler monkeys! The last day of the trip we went back to Raul's lodge in Puerto Quito and learned how to make chocolate from cacao seeds (that come from a small community in the rainforest) and palm-nut rings. LOTS of fun and worthwhile too - the money goes to help fund research and conservation work in the area. Raul is a great guy - passionate in his fight to stop the destruction of the rainforest and extremely knowledgeable: he can tell you everything about the jungle, its past, present and future. It's completely no-frills, food is basic (but fine. lots of chocolate and fresh coffee!) and bring yourself a pack of cards for the evenings...but if you want an authentic jungle adventure and want to see and learn loads, get in touch with Raul - [--]. It's 4hrs from Quito, 3 hrs from Esmeraldas.You need to give him about a weeks notice so he can plan the trip (to prepare the horses etc).

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maremonti B&B
Maremonti B&B
#6 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
#3 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Playa Sur
Hosteria Playa Sur
#7 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Itapoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Itapoa

Property: Hosteria Itapoa
Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta y Abdon Calderon, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Itapoa in Puerto Lopez, Ecuador is in the center of Machalilla National Park, and only lies 20 meters (65 feet) from the beach. The hostel set in a charming area surrounded by lush grounds. Our hotel is family run and much of the proceeds fund the Itapoa Reserve Rainforest Project, paying for conservation efforts and programs to protect the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Itapoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing