We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little hidden paradise”
Review of Sol Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lopez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Inn
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little hidden paradise”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Away from the dusty (or muddy depending on the time of year!) roads of Puerto Lopez is the Sol Inn. With cute little cabins made of bamboo, super cool artwork from previous travellers and beautiful plants through out, this place is really nice to hang out. There is a pool table and hammocks to use as well as a basic kitchen. Clean rooms and bathrooms, good basic accommodation and certainly worth the price. You will no doubt get to meet Darwin the owner when you stay who makes sure you have a great time while you are there and will help out with anything you need. The beach is only a couple of streets away and everything you need is close by. I had such a fantastic time here and in Puerto Lopez, defiantly worth checking out!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
22
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I ended up staying here for about a week due to some volunteer work I was doing in the area. Not bad for the cheap rates, but it certainly isn't luxurious. The beds are pretty terrible... I was with 2 other friends and they put us in a dorm with 3 beds total- one queen and a bunk bed. So two of my friends had to share a bed which was kind of strange. You can definitely feel the bed boards through the "mattress" and there was a night side table blocking the ladder up to my bed so it was quite an ordeal to get up there. Kitchen is pretty disgusting, not sure it ever gets cleaned. Probably biggest complaint is the little bugs (not sure what they were, but the dogs and cats were completely infested with them as well) that were literally everywhere- in the beds, in my bag, in the kitchen, on the tables. They looked like little mites, and although I don't think they bit, it was still kind of off-putting to have creepy crawlers everywhere. On the positive side, the hostel has a very open, cool layout with plenty of common space. You get what you pay for I guess.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

PROS: Great location, only two blocks from the beach and town center. There is a very large common area with pool table, hammocks, fully equipped kitchen and dining areas.

CONS: LOUD! It is right between some loud bars that play music until 2-3 am. There are tons of dogs and cats that are filthy and covered in fleas. I got so many bites when I was there! The entire place stinks and is covered in filth. There was no kitchen dish soap or hand soap the whole time i was there, which means things were even nastier than I could see!

The staff is very rude and unhelpful. I had major problems with the internet, and they offered me pot as consolation. When I asked for more dish soap they said they would work on it an didnt. The manager is constantly missing so you have to ring the doorbell 10 times, or hear others do that, while dogs bark the whole time!

It is a good price, but the area has MUCH better for the same price

If it was the cheapest in the area I would say, stay at your own risk. But you really can pay the same price and experience a much better atmosphere.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay in levels, the louder it is because of the noise of the surrounding areas. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaitlinAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived without a reservation, but had no problem getting a double room with private bathroom for $10/night per person. The bed was one of the more comfy ones on this trip (and one of the biggest, which can be a problem in South America) and also had a big mosquito net. The room was very big and reasonable clean, although a bit damp. The common areas are nice for hanging out and meeting people, but one night the music went on until about 1:30am... Since staff tends to disappear at one point of the evening, they aren't really in a position to do anything about it. The staff generally wasn't my favorite part of this stay, because while the guy usually was helpful, he couldn't have looked more disinterested if he tried.

All in all a decent option for a stay in Puerto Lopez, as long as you don't expect top-notch service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizen428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I went to Puerto Lopez in December with my sister. We decided to lodge here because we looked for something with a reasonable price. The hotel is located one square from the beach and you can find all facilities like restaurants and shops nearby. The dorms are clean and the staff friendly. It is a good hotel for backpackers it offers a kitchen, a small garden to relax and WIFI.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katha2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I'd got the overnight bus from Quito. I hadn't reserved a room but figured that arriving at 5am I'd probably find one.

I arrived with a group of people from my bus at 5am and explained I didn't have a reservation. They said a dorm room would be available by 10 and we had to wait.

The others' private room was ready at about 10:30. I waited some more and chatted to some locals.

By 12, there was still no room so I asked one of the women. She laughed in my face when I told her I'd been waiting since 5 and showed me to a dorm bed in a 4-person dorm.

A few minutes later, 4 other people arrived and explained that they had a reservation. The woman looked at me blankly as if I could somehow solve this problem. Then she suggested I pay $24 for a private room instead of the $8 for the dorm. I said this was too expensive. She looked at me blankly.

There was no apology and no suggestion that, since they'd messed up, I could stay in another room for less money.

Eventually, after a wasted 7.5 hours, I said I would look for another hostel and repacked my bags.

She laughed to herself again as I walked away.

I've never experienced such rude and unhelpful behaviour from staff in any hostel, campsite or hotel I've ever stayed in and I hope that this review will discourage others from staying there. They don't deserve anyone's money.

If you come to Puerto Lopez, book in advance to be on the safe side, but under no circumstances choose Sol Inn.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arianwen_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a double room for 2 nights but found that $10 per person per night was pretty steep for the area. The hosts couldn't care less if we stayed or went, weren't particularly helpful if we asked any questions with our limited Spanish, and flat out refused to give us the wifi password until the second day. The location is good for the beach, bars and restaurant but it is pretty noisy. Atmosphere is social and the facilities are good but for the price, there's more choice available further up the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal los Islotes
Hostal los Islotes
#3 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#3 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yemaya Hostal
Yemaya Hostal
#10 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Inn

Property: Sol Inn
Address: Juan Montalvo y Eloy Alfaro | 100 Meters From the Beach, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing