We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving at Isla de la Plata”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Isla de la Plata

Isla de la Plata
Book In Advance
More Info
$264.50*
and up
Day Trip to Puerto Lopez and Isla de la Plata from Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located only 17 miles off the coast of Ecuador, this island is encircled by many reefs that make it a popular destination for scuba divers and snorkelers.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Diving at Isla de la Plata”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I went to the Island to go diving, on the way there we stopped to watch the plentiful humpbacked whales leaping out of the water. At the island we saw the blue footed boobies, the frigate birds, pelicans and pale hawks, and more. There was also a turtle swimming right near shore at the park office. During the 2 dives I was able to swim with 3 turtles, and we saw several moray eels and a spotted snake eel. Lots of nice fish too. There was also a herd/pod of dolphins that went by while we were having our snack, between dives.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieScarlet137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    88
    21
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great little day trip - almost like the Galapagos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was a great day trip and the only reason we visited Puerto Lopez, like most people. Paid $35 for a half day tour to the island. It was about a hour boat ride each way and we saw humpback whales along the way - amazing!!

Once on the island, we went on a hour hike and saw the "blue footed boobies" right on the trail. You could literally get within feet of them. Also saw the red frigate birds.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Island for a day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We only went there because it was on route of whale watching. Nice snoorkling.
Dont be foolied by thinking this is another Galapagos but if you are into birds and like a mini deserted island in the middle of nowhere then this is a good trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gallinazorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great half a day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

swimming with turtles, walking next to Blue-footed boobies is something you will never forget!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank matteotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good inexpensive alternative to the Galapagos.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We departed from Puerto Lopez and the long boat ride to and from Isla de la Plata was one of the best parts. If you're lucky you'll see a whale or two. When you finally arrive at the island you're in for long walk uphill from the beach to various vantage points at the very top. Make sure you've got good walking shoes, a hat, and sunscreen. There is nowhere to buy refreshments or snacks on the island, but there is a restroom. The island itself is inhabited by lots of Blue-footed Boobies who let you get very close to them for photos. Upon leaving the island, our tour boats found a spot and stopped to show us huge turtles surrounding the boat. The crew fed us sandwiches, drinks, and watermelon. We were encouraged to throw parts of the watermelon overboard and the turtles snatched it up with pleasure. At another location our boat anchored and let tourists snorkel among some beautifully colored fish in crystal-clear water. It was a great inexpensive tour... and it was on Christmas Day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank bencart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla de la Plata also viewed

Machalilla National Park, Manabi Province
Machalilla National Park, Manabi Province
 
Montanita, Santa Elena Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 

Been to Isla de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing