We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding experience in one of Ecuador's Spectacular settings!!”
Review of Hacienda Zuleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Zuleta
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Outstanding experience in one of Ecuador's Spectacular settings!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We just spent a magical weekend in Hacienda Zuleta, and I feel compelled to share this magical experience. My husband and I arrived with our 4 little girls expecting an above average holiday experience and were positively bowled over by Zuleta.
We drove into an amazing colonial stone courtyard where we were greeted by colorfully dressed local women who cheerfully directed us to our suites. The rooms were cozy with a roaring fires in the chimney. Local embroidery, and old family photos decorated the walls, and made me feel like a very special guest in this once-home of the Ecuadorian President.
We snuggled in front of a roaring fire in one of the charmingly decorated sitting rooms and served ourselves a cocktail from the honor bar as we snacked on the local specialty- delicious, mouth-watering Zuleta Cheese!

Dinner was home-cooked and delicious accompanied by lovely South American wines.
The next two days were filled with one adventure more fabulous than the last.
We took a horseback ride thru lush gardens and paramo to the hacienda's condor project. We had the fantastic luck not only to watch the condor's in their cages doing their mating dance with the charming owner, Fernando, explaining every subtle nuance, but to actually see several others of this amazing and endangered bird circling just over our heads as we sipped lemonade. We were treated to a tour of the cheese factory- complete with lab coats and hair-nets of course. The children spent one entire afternoon playing in the straw bales and having the time of their life. We spotted the incredibly rare and endangered Spectacled Bear snacking in some local bushes. The numerous community and enviromental projects undertaken by the Carolina and the Polanco-Plaza family are too many to mention, but each deserves admiration and careful attention.

I can't say enough about this wonderful place. I only wish we had planned for a few more days to explore the myriad other options available to us: carriage rides, outdoor massages by the brook, working in the organic garden, embroidery classes, orchid gazing, etc...
Zuleta is an EXPERIENCE, not just a hotel. Here you can feel what Ecuadorian hospitality is really all about. You can see a family at work to give back to it's community and to the amazing ecosystem that embraces it. You can't go wrong with a visit to Zuleta!
Worth every penny, and then some!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
106
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

If you travel to Ecuador, do not miss to visit Hacienda Zuleta for a few days. It will be your highlight.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjprivat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Hacienda Zuleta has definitely been a highlight of our trip to Ecuador. Situated in a spectacular valley with mountains all around (which mostly belong to the hacienda), the hacienda itself is a stately home which nonetheless succeeds in retaining a very relaxed and personal style. We stayed in the "Escritorio" which is a very nice and spacious yet cozy room which has its own access to the lavish gardens. As usual, the fireplace is lighted every day around 5 pm so that the room is nicely warm when you return from your excellent dinner (including the hacienda's self-made varieties of cheese).

There are lots of activities around, including several miles of hiking trails and horse-back riding. The hacienda has more that 100 horses, and even we as complete beginners felt comfortable having a three hour ride to the condor rescue station. We were lucky enough to meet many members of the family who were all very nice and welcoming. All in all, a great experience we can highly recommend!

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankfurtExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Every detail was taken care of, the manager is like a personal host without being overbearing, the food was excellent and service flawless. We went horseback riding, and they were the finest horses I have ridden (I'm not a rider, but have ridden at maybe 10 haciendas in South America, and these were incredible animals). We were there with our two young children, and while their primary market is not kids, everyone was very gracious about our tots. Would be an amazing place for people seeking a real get-away, such as honeymooners or folks just looking to relax. Expensive, but worth it if you can afford it. Since food and drink and all activities are included, it's not that much more expensive than other nice haciendas in Ecuador.

  • Liked — Everything was great - setting, food, staff!
  • Disliked — really nothing I didn't like. Expensive for me to go more than once, but worth having gone!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank American_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We visited Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands in August. The whole trip was fabulous and we spent the last three days at Hacienda Zuleta. We arrived at night and really couldn't see much outside other than millions of stars. We were greeted by the manager and a big friendly puppy who followed my son around for the next 3 days( Much to his delight and my son is 16 and not delighted by much these days). The Hacienda's living room has a huge fireplace and is really beautiful with iron grill work and beautiful details. I kept expecting Zoro to come out from behind the fireplace. There was cheese (made at Zuleta) crackers olives and other little snacks along with wine fresh juice and water waiting for us when we arrived. (and every afternoon) We arrived late but they told us what the Chef suggested for dinner and if that was all right (same routine for every meal) Every room has a fireplace and our room also had a patio with a little cafe set for eating breakfast or just enjoying the scenery. The morning after we arrived I went outside and was stunned by the scenery. We were at 9,000 feet and everything around the Hacienda was higher,complete with a snow capped volcano. If you love horses then this is the place to go . About 100 fabulous horses and every imaginable kind of ride. They have their own breed"Zulentanos" which is a Quarter horse /Andalusian/ Thoroughbred cross. My son and I did a 8 hour ride ...4 hours to a lake and forest where there was no one but us and the Hacienda staff drove in (4-wheel drive) and set up tents and prepared a hot lunch and then we rode back. We also did a two short easy rides with my husband (who doesn't ride). We were treated as if we were guests in someone's home which in fact you are as the family still lives there on and off. I could go on forever but the food was fabulous, the people lovely , the horses amazing and they even arranged to have a masseuse from the nearest town come to the Hacienda as we were a little sore after riding for so long. I highly recommend the Hacienda if you love being outdoors, peace and quiet (no tv or video games) and if you are a Horse person this is Horse heaven.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — it was a little expensive but really worth it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunsrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imbabura Province hotels
13.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
14.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
20.8 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 29 in Otavalo
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Zuleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zuleta

Property: Hacienda Zuleta
Address: Angochagua, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Imbabura Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two hours north of Quito, Hacienda Zuleta is a family owned, 2,000 hectare real estate with colonial buildings dating back to 1691. Situated within a tranquil and fertile valley between Cayambe and Ibarra, you will have the impression that you have traveled back in time. The expansive Hacienda Zuleta grounds include a working dairy farm, cheese factory, trout farm, horse stables and an beautiful organic vegetable garden where most of our food comes from. We also manage an Andean Condor Rescue Center and the Hacienda is surrounded by three beautiful Andean communities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Zuleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zuleta Hotel Imbabura Province
Hacienda Zuleta Ecuador/Imbabura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing