We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly different type of five star. ”
Review of Hacienda Zuleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Zuleta
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazingly different type of five star. ”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I won't repeat what has been said about this great place. It's all true. Quite simply if you come to Ecuador then you must visit. A chance to live in a luxury family home/farm. Food is great and plentiful. Even the big family dog escorts you on treks. After some early starts in the Galapagos and the amazon this is just what we needed. Three nights was a perfect amount of time for us. Just go; you won't regret it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! I love how you describe us, ... "a luxury family home/farm"... this is the essence of Hacienda Zuleta, a home and a working farm, we love that you had the time to relax after the busy Galapagos and the Amazon, and specially that you liked our food. For us food is one of the most important of all the sensations we can give our guests!

Thank you again and hoep you recommend us to your family and friends! Please talk about this beautiful county.

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
106
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

it's hard not to be impressed by the Zuleta experience; progressive approach to archeology, bio-diversity, sustainability and activities. all set on this magnificent estate with great history. can't say enough good things about Zuleta.

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the interior courtyards, which are beautiful, but a can't miss if you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you Steve for your generous review! We where honored to have guests like you! Indeed the inner courtyard rooms are very special, my favorite!, they are the original rooms of the house , most of them where added by my Grandfather in 1948. The original house plan was 5 rooms and 3 bathrooms, when in 1998 we decided to receive sleeping guests in our house we added bathrooms and adapted living rooms into sleeping rooms, today we have 8 rooms with 8 bathrooms in this area, all with their own fireplaces.

Thank you again and again!!

All of us at Hacienda Zuleta send you the best of energies!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton1
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We can’t stop raving about our brief stay at Hacienda Zuleta. This beautiful old hacienda is nestled in a stunning valley above Ibarra. It was owned at one time by Gallo Plaza Lasso, a former president of Ecuador, and has been flawlessly maintained. The service was impeccable, the food top-notch, and thought had clearly been paid to every detail. Common areas are stunning with comfy furniture, a fire, and an endless supply of snacks including local meats and cheeses. The room was gorgeous with a great views and ours had its own private fireplace that the staff started every evening as well as a gorgeous old clawfoot bathtub and shower. There were a ton of activities to do, including hiking with a number of trails, horseback riding, lots of animals and wildlife (we saw a condor and some falcons as well), and a lot going on around the hacienda including a factory that makes great cheese. We highly recommend heading up to the páramo to check out the crazy vegetation and views above the tree line. We’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
And we will be waiting for you!
I love how you did so many activities and even had the time to go to the Paramo, indeed a Magical place!! My favorite, not only for the views , but because of the importance of this ecosystem to the water supply of Ecuador.

I send you ONLY good energy from Zuleta, hopping you arrive home safely and that you recommend us to your friends and family!

Come back!

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights of our honeymoon at Hacienda Zuleta. It is hard to describe how special it is. The service, rooms, food, grounds, and atmosphere are top notch. It is what dreams are made of. The food is some of the best we ate in Ecuador. You start the day with a decadent breakfast and three course gourmet meals for lunch and dinner. We did two horse back rides with Jose who was very professional and the kindest of souls. We thought we would go to Otavalo for embroidery but there is no need because you get amazing embroidery on the grounds or in town which is a five minute walk. We also special ordered a bunch of embroidery and they mailed it us. I am a bird enthusiast and I was very happy to see six wild Andean Condors, one up close. They also have a rehabilitation program so you are guaranteed to see them if you don't get the chance to see them in the wild. You can also easily see Black-tailed Trainbearers and Sparkling Violetears. I actually didn't spend much time birding but if you ask they will be able to set trips up. Like I said it is hard to describe how wonderful it is but I highly recommend going. Hopefully we can get back sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We at Hacienda Zuleta feel privileged that you chose us as part of your Honeymoon trip, and we are very happy you had such a good time here. We love newlyweds , to a point that we are building three very special rooms that will be specially for Honeymooners!!
We will be waiting for you, and your family and friends!!

The best for you in your life!! Patience and love is all you need!

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hacienda Zuleta is a property that is amazing! If you are able to fit this stay into your budget, you will be delightful and not disappointed. You can do a much as you wish or just simple relax on the grounds of the hacienda. We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights. Sylvia helped us organize our days to get the most of our stay. We did an indpendent walk to see the Condor rehabilation program and were lucky enough to see Condor soaring in the wild. We hiked, rode mountain bikes and horses, milked a cow and fed calves. We thoroughlly enjoyed visiting with the women in the community and purchased their beautiful hand-work embroidery. We had a nice trunk ride to the Paramo where we saw Alphaca and stunning views of the valley below!
The selection of our meals (3 a day) were amazing. They were served with such hospitality and every meal was delcious. The staff were so welcoming and truly wanted us to feel as though we were at home. We also enjoyed the tour of the gardens and the cheese factory! Very impressive. The cheese was delicious and we brought some home successfully for gifts.
We would be so blessed and fortunate if we were able to go to Zuleta again in our life time!!!

Room Tip: We think that any room you are in would be great and you would not be disappointed. However, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paspinwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review!! We will love to have you again at Zuleta, return guests get an extra discount, and are treated like family, with love and dedication!!

Come back! and be part of the Family of Hacienda Zuleta!!

Til we see you again!

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hacienda Zuleta was amazing! The staff bent over backwards to accomodate my gluten allergy. The lovely chef even developed a gluten free birthday cake to serve me for my birthday! It did not stop there. Every meal, the chef made sure to offer gluten free food for me. When we returned from a beautiful horse ride, we came to our room (named Mamita Osaya) to find "happy birthday" written in rose petals on our beautifully made bed.
We also really enjoyed the hotel dog "Fito" who accompanied us on morning walks. Everyone at Hacienda Zuleta is professional, friendly, and determined to make sure your stay is a 10 out of a 10. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNbusinessmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
10 out of 10 ... a great review!! thank you! we will aspire to reach 120% !! We love to attend our guests , we think that we should feel proud that our guests have chosen Zuleta, so we do our very best to make your stay with us memorable and unique!

Thank you for your review!!


Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was wowed by Zuleta. The property is stunning, inside and out. My room was small but quite cozy. It overlooked the stables and had a view to mountains. The common rooms are inviting and service is excellent. All meals were delicious, enhanced by Zuleta-made cheeses, yoghurt, and other treats. Best of all were my excursions. With the hacienda dogs in the lead, I thoroughly enjoyed the natural beauty along the hike to the Condor rehab facility. Encounters with llamas added to my pleasure. I also took the horse carriage tour of the area, stopping to buy exquisite Zuleta embroidery. The tour allowed for fabulous views of farms, valleys and mountains. My only concern is the noise from doors opening and closing. Fortunately the other guests were quiet and considerate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your generous review. We love how you enjoyed Hacienda Zuleta! We are inspired with guests like you! We will solve the noise problem in some rooms, and I will personally check this.

Thank you again.

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imbabura Province hotels
13.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
220 reviews
14.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 28 in Otavalo
524 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Zuleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zuleta

Property: Hacienda Zuleta
Address: Angochagua, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Imbabura Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two hours north of Quito, Hacienda Zuleta is a family owned, 2,000 hectare real estate with colonial buildings dating back to 1691. Situated within a tranquil and fertile valley between Cayambe and Ibarra, you will have the impression that you have traveled back in time. The expansive Hacienda Zuleta grounds include a working dairy farm, cheese factory, trout farm, horse stables and an beautiful organic vegetable garden where most of our food comes from. We also manage an Andean Condor Rescue Center and the Hacienda is surrounded by three beautiful Andean communities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Zuleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zuleta Hotel Imbabura Province
Hacienda Zuleta Ecuador/Imbabura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing