We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Ecaudor”
Review of Hacienda Zuleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Zuleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hacienda Zuleta is a real gem, 2 hours form Quito, in the Andes. From spectacular scenery, to top service, organic food, plentiful of wonderful activities and a real homely atmosphere. The minute we arrived we felt at home in this16th century hacienda which is still a working farm, privately owned and managed by Fernando, the grand son of the late Ecuadorian president Galo Palza Lasso. He and his staff are dedicated, helpful and attentive to the smallest details and wishes of guests are not only met, but often anticipated. From hot water bottle in bed, to incredible bouquet of roses in rooms, wonderful food, explanations of Ecuador history, wildlife and culture. The guides are also excellent. We went horseback riding, hiking, visited the Condor project, the organic garden, the cheese factory and took a cooking class. We only wished we had stayed longer than the three nights we had planned.
We also liked the support the owners give to the indigenous community including employment, schooling, medical assistance and scholarships.
Thank you for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Zuleta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 223 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was our first stop in Ecuador and absolutely the best possible place to acclimatise to altitude. If you want to go riding or hiking, that's easily arranged with excellent guides, but if you just want to catch your breath, there are quiet gardens and courtyard corners to bask in the sunshine, or if the weather isn't so bright, there's a library gallery where you can spend a morning browsing or writing, and log fires with comfortable sofas to relax. The food is wonderful, with lots of cheese, cream and yogurt from the dairy of the hacienda, fresh juices, exotic fruits, all served by delightful staff. Meals are eaten at a communal dining table, so it's a great way to exchange travel stories and recommendations - if conversation flags, you can look out the window at the hummingbirds flitting around the courtyard. At night, the wood stove in your room is lit and a couple of hotwater bottles tucked into your bed. Oh, and there's an embroidery tradition in the nearby village, encouraged by the family who run the hacienda, so you can buy very pretty hand-embroidered cotton clothes and table linens at reasonable prices, knowing that the money goes straight to the craftswomen who make them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Hacienda Zuleta in the highlands of Ecuador, and were certainly pleasantly surprised when we were met and then treated like royalty by the staff. Everyone of the employees, from the owner to the manager to the servers gave us excellent and personalized care. As an example: my husband was not feeling well one day and the kitchen staff went out of their way to prepare a meal that would be gentle on his stomach. The servers were very attentive and concerned that he feel better and the manager went to great lengths to find some medicine for him.

The food was top notch as was the service, as I said, and again each meal was made to our personal taste. Most of the produce we ate was organically grown on the property and the fish came from their own streams, fed with surplus from the garden.

We were given tours of the property by the owner and he explained the wonderful 'green' farming methods he was using for the milking herd and the cheese making and gardening. The owner's family has also undertaken to provide jobs for the indigenous people who live in the community both in his establishment and by setting up a program for the local women (and men) to earn some income by selling embroidered items they have learned to make.

The property was unbelievably beautiful with spectacular views of the mountains and we were particularly impressed with the programs the hacienda runs for endangered spectacled bear and the Andean (white) condor.

We were not able to take advantage of the many outdoor activities offered, but there were many and looked very interesting. The hacienda was large and lovely with historical furnishings and family photos.

I would very highly recommend this hacienda for anyone who wants to relax in comfort in their rooms, eat well and have numerous outdoor activities to undertake.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KVANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We chose to end our Ecuadorian adventure, which included Quito and Sacha Lodge, at this Hacienda and had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect and at most there were 8 guests staying so we really did feel as though we were in a beauitful, very comfortable family home.

The history of the house and family is fascinating and we were fortunate enough to meet and chat with one of the owners. The atmosphere is very relaxed and all staff members go out of their way to help in any way they can. All staff members were lovely and very forthcoming with information and tips on how to get the most out of ones' visit. We did various walks without a guide and enjoyed the spectacular scenery enormously. On our final morning we were lucky enough to see the wild Condors flying above us when we visited the sanctuary for rescued Condors.

Each evening we would sink into the big sofas in front of a roaring fire and drink wonderful South American wine. The food was outstanding and the staff always ask about the days menu and if you have any preferences. Guests sit around a communal table which meant we met lovely, interesting people and everyone could share their experiences at the end of the day.

The family who own the Hacienda are extremely proactive in employing local people, supporting scholarships for local children etc etc which we also liked.

I would advise anyone travelling in this part of the world to try and visit this Hacienda as it is a very special place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyrumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We loved our stay in Hacienda Zuleta. On the day we arrived we were the only guests and yet there was an abundance of roses in every corner of every room and all the fireplaces were lit. We were told "Welcome home" when we arrived, and we did feel very much as if we were welcome and free to explore. The dogs adopted us as walking companions so that if we wanted to go out without them we had to sneak out a back way! But mostly we were priveleged to have their happy company as we explored. Staff are always happy to help and available to make arrangements for whatever you like - horse rides can usually be arranged at the last minute and it is an easy walk to the condor reserve (they keep injured birds in captivity) - where you can also see wild Andean condors and even spectacled bears if you are lucky. Mostly we walked independently and enjoyed the fresh air and scenery. It is surprisingly green there considering the altitude (2500m so take it easy to adapt to the altitude). They lit the stove in our room every day about 5pm and put hot water bottles in our beds during dinner (even though it wasn't really very cold!). Meals are traditional and plentiful with lunch being the main meal. Usually meals are communal so we met many interesting other guests, but there are other places to eat including outside if you want to be more secluded. The embroidery offered by the ladies in the community is excellent, don't do what we did which was to buy some and wait to go to the market in Otavalo to compare - buy in Zuleta. We felt four nights (3 days) was about right, we had done most of the independent walking trails by then, gone horse riding twice, visited the condors twice and been shopping in the community.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place is a dream --very luxurious. Our group actually arrived to the hacienda on foot, it was the destination at the end of our day hike in the Andes. The rooms are all different, each with beautiful decor and individual heating stoves to keep the rooms as toasty as you'd like them. Bathrooms aren't anything special, at least not in our room, but spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Our rooms all had 2 twin beds each, but I assume if you're traveling as a couple, these can be converted into king beds. Some rooms have private terraces. From the hacienda we took several hikes and they also offer horseback rides. They also have a world famous cheese factory on site that we visited. It was a fabulous experience. The meals were family style, everyone together around a huge table. The staff serves everyone. Lunches and dinners always began with "sopa" (soups) all of which were traditional recipes. Main courses were always different and always local fare. Loved, loved everything about this place. It was nice to sit in the main living room in the evening drinking a glass of Chilean wine and chatting with the others in our group. I wish we could have stayed longer! The staff is very friendly and accommodating! We asked and were invited into the kitchen for a lesson on how to make the spicy dipping sauce they serve with every meal in Ecuador. That was a real winner for me, as I love to cook and learn new recipes!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This trip could not have been better. We traveled to Hacienda Zuleta to experience its Zuleteño horse which is a unique mixture of Spanish-Andalusian, English and Quarter horse, a robust Andean horse with a good disposition for riding. During our stay, we had numerous opportunities to explore the Andean countryside along high altitude trails (between 9.000 and 13.000 feet) that wound through grasslands and cloud forest, along cobblestone trails and through local villages. Hacienda Zuleta is heaven on earth. The guides were excellent and the horses are unsurpassed. The riding was excellent and varied. The food was outstanding and the rooms were beautiful and spotless. The support staff was available but never intrusive. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to work here. We absolutely loved this place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EARuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imbabura Province hotels
14.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
20.8 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
11.6 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Zuleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zuleta

Address: Angochagua, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Imbabura Province
Price Range: $550 - $890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two hours north of Quito, Hacienda Zuleta is a family owned, 2,000 hectare real estate with colonial buildings dating back to 1691. Situated within a tranquil and fertile valley between Cayambe and Ibarra, you will have the impression that you have traveled back in time. The expansive Hacienda Zuleta grounds include a working dairy farm, cheese factory, trout farm, horse stables and an beautiful organic vegetable garden where most of our food comes from. We also manage an Andean Condor Rescue Center and the Hacienda is surrounded by three beautiful Andean communities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Zuleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zuleta Hotel Imbabura Province
Hacienda Zuleta Ecuador/Imbabura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing