We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Chapada hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Canto das Aguas
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lencois
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chapada hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here in September and it was a great base from which to explore the region.

The plus points are as follows (recorded in my notebook at the time):
Hotel is next to the river river. Scenic spot by river/waterfall rapids. Very pretty spot. Surrounding gardens are lovely too.
Swimming Pools, extensive grounds with games room, sauna and massage
Comfy clean safe rooms, satellite TV
Mini gym
Close to nice bars and cafes/ town centre
Delicious breakfast
Quiet
Air con
Balcony with hammock
Helpful staff assist with tours, don't forget to ask for additional towels if planning on visiting waterfalls etc!

We had lunch and dinner on the road and in town, plenty of options to try. The drive from Salvador is pretty easy although watch out for crazy truck drivers if you are not used to driving in Brasil!

I would definitely stay in this hotel again, and out of peak season, it was pretty good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    129
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
114
222
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilha Grande, RJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I can't talk much about the hotel itself as we spent most of our time while in the hotel, by the swimming pool which is by the water, having cocktails and relaxing. Beautiful scenery and cozy. Also by the pool is a space for games, we were had lots of fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asalem_Ilha_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A high-end hotel in a historic location, right next to the river with the soothing sound of rushing water. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed, breakfast is excellent and service was very good. We have stayed in this hotel 3 times, though all our visits were in the low season. The restaurant serves an excellent dinner, though pricey, and it is reputed to be the best in the city. The lamb shoulder in particular was a standout. Dining alongside the river with excellent cuisine is worth the premium. Service in the restaurant is variable in efficiency but friendly. The hotel will prepare food to take on a day-long hike upon request.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the river cost much more, but the "mato" (jungle) side is very nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel has a ready infrastructure to provide pleasant moments for the family. Beside the "Rio Serrano", the view is beautiful and relaxing. The staff is well trained and attentive to needs. The breakfast is delicious and the restaurant meals "Blue" are a delight to more. I was there with my husband and my 2 year old son and the only observation is that the cradle offered is small, not suitable for a child over 90 cm.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony have a beautiful view and is one extra space for kids to play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiaLima_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

It’s pretty simple, they are the best in Lencois, they know it and they desperately need some ‎competition, so maybe the staff members will start treating customers a little better. The front desk ‎staff look like they are there on forced labour, two of them, I would fire right away and the other staff ‎are not much better either, a smile would be a rare event anywhere to be had in this hotel. I stayed ‎there for 3 and half weeks so the information I provide here, is not just based on a one day glimpse, ‎it’s pretty consistent.‎

The room pricing, is all open for negotiation and haggling, one staff member will say one price, ‎another, five minutes later a different price, the same staff member will give you later yet a different ‎price, all depends on the mood at that given moment.‎

There is no co-ordination between staff, for example, I told one staff member I am staying until a ‎certain date, there was no record on the computer of anything, and this happened on various ‎occasions, you say or ask for something, but it goes in one ear and goes right out of the other. In ‎general they are pretty lacklustre and disorganized at the front desk. I told the staff my girlfriend is ‎coming from Salvador and they should let her in right away, since she’ll be after a long and gruelling 8 ‎hour bus ride, yet, they kept her waiting and made a whole fuss when she arrived at 4am, they only ‎called me after she was in tears.‎

I had a suite which had a front room and then another room behind it, when you are in the second ‎room, which is most of the time, since it’s the main room, you cannot hear if someone knocks on the ‎entrance door. Nor me or my girlfriend are deaf but it is not possible to hear anyone knocking on the ‎entrance door when the bedroom door is closed. There are no bells or buzzers on the door, yet the ‎staff members would get angry and tell me off for not opening the door, whilst they have not ‎provided any means for anyone to hear that they are at the door!!‎

The internet is lousy, first of all, if you want to download your emails in a program like “Outlook”, which ‎is pretty common, you cannot, you can only view emails online, due to certain security settings on the ‎Hotel’s server. Also, in the close to one month that I was there, not one single day had passed without ‎me having to call the front desk about various problems with the internet. They had to reset it all the ‎time, give you a new passwords every other day, once it’s working its fine, but, it’s a constant hassle.‎

The hotel is all open plan and it’s lovely to have birds flying around, but for god sake, cover up the ‎food, the amount of flies and other insects surrounding the breakfast every morning is so off putting. ‎During our stay there were 3 incidents with 3 different people that had stomach problems, we were in ‎the hospital one night and there was a girl from the hotel who ate something and got a stomach bug ‎and the hospital stuff mentioned that there was another person from the hotel with food poisoning ‎too. I like my food too much, I do not want to share it with birds, mosquitos, flies and insects.‎

Other than the above, the hotel is really good. The location is fabulous, great spot in Lencois, the ‎waterfall, the pools, the whole setting, really and truly awesome. The garden, the common areas, all ‎so wonderfully and tastefully designed. The rooms, the décor, the small detail, everything in the ‎design is simply fantastic. This is really a gem in a town where there is no other top class ‎accommodation, the rooms are a good size, has everything you need, really a pleasure to stay there.‎

The restaurant is really good and is one of the best that Lencois has to offer, I would highly ‎recommend not to miss the Duck dish, what a splendid dish, really top class.‎

To sum it all up, the Hotel is lovely, the staff much less, shame, since, it could have been perfect, they ‎have the facilities, the location, the setting, if only someone would care for the human side of things, it ‎would have been number one in lencois, not merely for the reason that there is no other!!‎

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hidden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located beside of a river which produces a continuous nice sound of waterfalls, and is very close to the historical centre of Lençóis . The rooms are very good and the food is wonderful. The breakfast is the best I have had in the last years and is even better than traditional 5 stars hotels .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunichiroSadoJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice place, rooms very clean an spacy, balcony, wonderful breakfast and park with swimming pool near the 'waterfalls'. Staff friendly and helpful. The small city is also safe and you can walk around without problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lencois hotels
Hotel de Lencois
#1 of 5 in Lencois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Mirante De Lencois
#4 of 5 in Lencois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Portal Lencois Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lencois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Canto No Bosque
#3 of 49 in Lencois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
City Center
Pousada Vila Serrano
Pousada Vila Serrano
#1 of 49 in Lencois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Pouso da Trilha
#2 of 49 in Lencois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canto das Aguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canto das Aguas

Property: Hotel Canto das Aguas
Address: Avenida Senhor dos Passos 01, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Lencois
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lencois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Canto das Aguas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Canto das Aguas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Das Aguas Lencois
Hotel Canto Das Aguas Lencois, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing