We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience staying in an artist's home”
Review of Estalagem Alcino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lencois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estalagem Alcino
Ranked #4 of 55 Lencois B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful experience staying in an artist's home”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We couldn't have been luckier to have found Alcino's place in Lencois. All of the pousadas/hotels we stayed at in Bahia were excellent, but Alcino's was exceptionally memorable. Aside to the glorious and adventurous Brazilian breakfasts (that all guests rightly rave about), Alcino himself, the house, gardens and atmosphere makes this place a bonafide hidden gem. When we booked this from the UK i was slightly nervous that it would be a bit dark and dusty, but it was quite the opposite. Alcino makes pottery and tiles and the b&b is scattered with weird and wonderful sculptures. The b&b rooms are all on the ground floor and are traditionally decorated with crisp clean sheets and air cond. The water pressure in the shower is not great (as reported in an earlier review) but this didn't worry us. Alcino is a great character and was interesting to chat to; he organised our bus from Salvador to Lencois and was at the house to welcome us when we arrived, he also personally serves the breakfast in the mornings, but other than that he keeps out of guests way. Other guests ranged from Brazilians to Belgians. If you are heading to Lencois this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanCrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
84
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This pousada was booked as part of or honeymoon that Dehouche arranged for us.

Although it was different to the hotels we had stayed in beforehand - it was so suited to the spirit on Lencois. So relaxed and friendly. Great location also to explore Lencois and the mountains. We also had Rony for a guide around the Chapada - he was brilliant.

And the breakfast! There was so much variety and different everyday. You literally could eat as much as you want and then some!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireyaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We arrived at 5am on the night bus from Salvador and didn't expect we'd be able to check in straight away. The pousada is very close to the bus stop and centre of town so 5 minutes after the bus got into Lencois, we were in a comfortable bed catching up on some sleep. A pleasant surprise.

The breakfast was sensational - a big upgrade on the standard fare you get in most of Brazil. As we only had a couple of days in Lencois, we wanted to sort a guide straight away, which Alcino did for us and by 9.30am we were setting off to explore Chapada Diamantina with Rony - probably our best guide of the whole trip.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank TegeandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We were excited when our travel agent at Dehouche surprised us with this gem. This place was found in all our Brazil travel books and we were excited for our trip to Lencois. Our room was spacious and clean with a private bathroom and shower. Other rooms in the house had shared bathrooms and were very nice as well.

The communal breakfast was above and beyond, dish after dish of wonderful treats appeared on the table each morning. Try everything in moderation or you might not be able to get up from the table.

The service was exceptional. The girls provided excellent juices or coffee upon your return from a long days adventure. Plus there are hammocks all around the grounds where you can curl up and relax.

This place is a must for your visit to Lencois.

  • Liked — Comfort of home away from home.
  • Disliked — The water pressure.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lencois hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Canto das Aguas
Hotel Canto das Aguas
#2 of 5 in Lencois
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Lencois
Hotel de Lencois
#1 of 5 in Lencois
858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirante De Lencois
Mirante De Lencois
#4 of 5 in Lencois
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pousada Canto No Bosque
Pousada Canto No Bosque
#1 of 55 in Lencois
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pouso da Trilha
Pouso da Trilha
#2 of 55 in Lencois
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Luar do Sertao
Pousada Luar do Sertao
#5 of 55 in Lencois
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Alcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Alcino

Property: Estalagem Alcino
Address: Rua Tomba Surrao no 139, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Lencois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Lencois
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Estalagem Alcino Lencois, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing