We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
181
40
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
40
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal communitiesdry seasonhowler monkeysflooded foresteco tourismpousada uacarifishthe riverpink dolphinsthe entire staffrainy seasonsolar powerenglish speakingamazon basinlocal staffwonderful experienceprivate guide
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 229 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is a very simple lodge built on a floating structure in the Mamirauá Reserve. It has a restaurant and the guides take you to walks in the forest. You cannot swim because the river is infested with pirañas and black caiman, but the guides take you up river in boats to look at the pink river dolphins. This is a hotel with very basic commodities, energy is powered by solar pannels and the water collected during the rain season, however each room has two beds and a small bathroom. It lays 2.30h sailing from the nearest city (Tefé) and it has a resident caiman which waits for kitchen left overs and some distracted tourists to get into the water. There is nothing else around but forest and the wilderness. Good for those who like adventure. The lodge is owned by the community and provides them with some income in the spirit of sustainability and balance with nature.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
3  Thank Scasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Room are wooden floored and suspended over the water with balconies with hammocks.
Food is fine and there are good boat excursions ( land too in the dry season)are included in the package and caimans hang around in the water around the lodge. It is more expensive than your average Amazon package but numbers are restricted, the reserve is quiet and more 'special'. Pink dolphins abound.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Uakari is in the real Amazon. Unlike the camps near Manaus, the wildlife here is abundant and easily seen.

First, the camp was in good physical shape. There was even hot water. The rooms were larger than I expected. The local guides were sound. The food was okay except that the fish was catfish almost all of the time, which was a drag. The English speaking guide was a college intern, nowhere near as good as the professional English speaking guides most places have, but hey, this is the Amazon and that is quite minor in the grand scheme of things.

However, the wildlife was incredible!! A chronology of what we saw will give you the idea. At all times there were also abundant birds and dolphins, as well, to not repeat myself.

Day 1. We arrived late (plane was late) so only had an afternoon hike. We saw a few huge black caiman, a sloth, about 40 squirrel monkeys and a howler monkey. this was the introductory hike!

Day 2: This is the rainy season so we only had a morning hike as the afternoon was shot due to rain. however, in that hike we saw a family of coati along with "mom" staying put on a very viewable tree branch, about 15 squirrel monkeys, 1 capuchin monkey, some huge caiman, a nest of large bats, some lizards of size, and , to top it off, a group of 5 of the rare pure white uakari monkeys!

Day 3: In the morning we saw about 15 squirrel monkeys, another howler monkey, another sloth, 2 Amazon red squirrels and assorted lizards and birds. In the afternoon we rode a boat to Mamiraua Lake, which had the most varied and abundant birdlife I've ever seen anywhere. we also saw about 30 large black caiman. I thought that was a lot, until we came home in the dark, where the caiman had come out in large numbers. we easily saw more than 500 caiman on that ride, and it may have been a thousand. the guide told us that she had never seen so many before at one time. i don't doubt it!

Day 4: We saw many more squirrel monkeys, a group of capuchin monkeys, a very good close look at a toucan and another squirrel.

Day 5: On day 5 we only had time for a short canoe trip as we were scheduled to leave for civilization at 9:30. Even so, we saw many capuchin monkeys fairly close, a nest of baby caiman, as well as the usual dolphins, birds and grown caiman.

In contrast, i spent 2 days at a camp nearer to Manaus, and apart from the dolphins and birds, I saw 2 caiman and 1 iguana there.

all in all, it was an amazing and unforgettable experience!! The uakari monkeys are not to be missed. I am told that the wildlife is even better once the waters have risen.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
5  Thank NJ-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This is a wonderful place on earth! I had 5 wonderful days, with good guides (local and english-seaking), saw a lot of animals (slohs, dolphins, monkeys,birds etc.). The people were very friendly and helpful. The food was nice, a lot of fruits, fish, chicken. The transport to and from the place wat quick and professional.
In august there was a lot of water and we only could visit things by canoe and motorboats. No moquitos! Very relaxing, beautiful weather. I also visited a little school in one of the communities. Was very moving to see how these children get education. The organisation gave a lot of information about het Reserve and the things they do.
Fantastic! I will go back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillyTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We were looking for an authentic Amazon experience, but didn't want to be as rugged or primitive as the environment could have been. The Uakari Lodge fit the bill perfectly. By no means luxurious, it was certainly comfortable. I can see it may not be everyone's ideal vacation, but the wildlife and exposure to the culture was superb for us. To make the most of our time in Brazil (also visiting Rio and Iguazu) we flew from Manaus to Tefe, then took the fast boat. That convenience is costly, though. Even in November, the humidity was tremendous. We never really felt dry, for 4 days - damp clothes and hair. Also, be sure to take your strongest bug spray! Overall though, a wonderful experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews